We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #36 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at No. 11 Brunswick Street for two nights last week. Upon our arrival we were greeted by one of the owners who was lovely (as were all the staff) and felt very comfortable straight away.

We stayed in Room 1, which I was slightly apprehensive about having read some other reviews before we arrived at the hotel, however we loved our room. The room was decorated beautifully, was very quiet and private and had a beautiful bathroom. The bed was really comfy and Our room was absolutely spotlessly clean.

The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and let us leave our bag with them after we checked out so we could enjoy our last day in Edinburgh.

The location of the hotel is perfect, on a quiet street (so we slept perfectly!) but only a few minutes walk away from Princes Street. I have visited Edinburgh a few times and had always stayed in the larger hotels in the very centre of town, however I much preferred the location of No. 11 and would definitely return.

Breakfast was also excellent and we loved sitting in the brasserie looking at the artwork in the morning. My only regret is that we didn't eat dinner in the brasserie.
(We personally could not smell any cooking smells/oil in any of the building)

I am at a loss to understand how this hotel could be rated anything other than excellent.
Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: We loved Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
I just wanted to personally thank you for writing such a positive review. We are delighted that you had such a good experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back to No 11 another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    287
    81
    24
    11
See reviews for
115
576
54
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at No 11 Boutique Hotel in Edinburgh. My sister, mum and I shared a "Junior Suite". Lovely room, spacious with lovely décor, seemed to have everything we required, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, tv, coffee making facilities, and had a lovely outlook to the back of the hotel overlooking the garden. Very central, about a 5 minute walk from John Lewis. We didn't actually have a meal at the Hotel but the food does look good and the other diners in the cosy dining room looked like they were enjoying the food. The breakfast was lovely. We had the champagne afternoon tea as it was my mum's birthday, very enjoyable. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I would like to return to sample the menu. The only negative is the cooking smell from the kitchen a really strong aroma of grease/cooking oil, very unpleasant, apart from that, everything was really good, wouldn't hesitate recommending this little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHGLASGOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The Chimney at No 11 has now been re-lined so cooking smells are a thing of the past.

We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We're just back home from a two night stay at No 11 Brunswick Street and overall we had a very mixed experience.

We were initially shown to a small room in the attic (with no view) and because the wi-fi wouldn't work, we were shown a much better room on the floor below, complete with four poster bed and huge and very well-equipped bathroom. The wi-fi still didn't work but the room was so much better that we decided to pay extra and move.

The young man on the desk worked tirelessly to sort out the wi-fi and eventually worked out that the password was wrong - it should have been lower case when it was listed as upper case - and with the correct password it finally worked. Like every other member of staff we encountered he could not have been more helpful and each and every one of them is to be congratulated on providing such friendly, enthusiastic and helpful service.

We ate three times in the brasserie - twice for breakfast and once for dinner. One aspect of the breakfast is outstanding - everything (and I mean everything including fruit juice and cereal) is served, such a welcome change from the kind of self-service that you encounter in almost all hotels these days. That said, on the first morning not all the cooked breakfast was cooked fresh - both the sausages and the bacon were clearly re-heated.

This was a much bigger problem for dinner, however, where almost all the ingredients of the main courses (gnocchi and pork) had clearly been cooked earlier in the day/week and were again far from fresh, in marked contrast to what other diners have said. My wife's gnocchi was so unpleasant that she was unable to eat it.

All of that pales into insignificance, however, in comparison to the show-stopping problem of the smell of food from the kitchen which permeates the whole building. Waking up to the smell of breakfast cooking might be to some people's taste, but encountering a mixture of cooking smells (including the unpleasant smell of oil that has been fried) throughout the rest of the day is really unpleasant. The staff are very well aware of how big a problem this is, and our advice would be not to visit the hotel until they can give you an absolute assurance that this problem has been solved.

So in summary, this hotel has huge potential: beautiful Georgian house in an excellent location, very good accommodation - except on the top floor; and outstanding staff. But the quality of cooking and, above all else the way in which cooking smells permeates the whole building needs urgent attention.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicholasA96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted to read that the staff bent over backwards to accommodate you. Unfortunately being an old Georgian buildings cooking smells can permeate through the chimney into the building. However thanks to your review, we have had the chimney fully relined and cooking smells are now more controlled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here a few nights to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. The location of this hotel is fab, a 5-10 min walk (if that) from Princes Street. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.
We arrived before the check in time, the staff were very helpful and let us leave our bag with them so we could go off. Our double room was very small which was a little frustrating with the suitcase open on the floor (also difficult to get things in and our of the wardrobe)
The bed was very comfy, we both slept very well! The bathroom was good, I loved the bath and shower.
Some of the details I felt let the hotel down were that the previous guest's rubbish had not been emptied in the bathroom bin, there was very little space to put bathroom bits (toothbrush, washbag) and we were only given one teaspoon for our 2 cups in the bedroom. Although not hugely important things, details matter.

The breakfast was really lovely and obviously freshly cooked each morning. The staff were all lovely and very polite throughout.
The only thing that put a dampener on our stay was nothing was said or done to acknowledge our anniversary. We had put it in the further info box on booking and it wouldn't have taken much from the hotel to acknowledge this, but we still very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffyPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for providing so much detail for future readers. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay but disappointed that some things were not up to standard. Your review will be used at our next quality meeting to ensure standards do not slip in the future.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Anniversary. Should you choose to return to No 11, I would like to offer you an upgrade on your room, subject to availability, as a small gift from No 11.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is housed in a town house in the Newtown part of the city ( the building is Georgian ) very convenient for the theatre , shopping and sightseeing. The older part is really a bus or taxi ride away. The hotel has been sensitively converted with a small number of rooms , ours were at the top ( 3 flights , no lift but good for walking off the hotels fantastic afternoon tea which features home-made cakes , scones and sandwiches highly recommended ). The staff are friendly and helpful.
One evening we ate in their restaurant , the menu was small but everything that we had was well prepared , presented and enjoyed.
There is one thing which is a minor blemish - the gin and tonics are awful , if one is asked which gin one prefers don't then serve it drowned in flat tonic presumably from a plastic bottle , serve it separately from a small can or glass bottle so that the customer can help themselves.
There is one slightly larger downside which is that the hotel is in great need of a decent extraction system for the kitchen , whatever is happening in there wafts up the staircase and the smell takes ages to dissipate; having said that this is a super place to stay for a short break in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Our double room was excellent spacious , good lighting and very quiet but my daughters single room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for being so positive about No 11.

The extractor fan at No 11 is being worked on as I write so hopefully the air will be clearer on a return visit.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last night, the room was awesome, loved the bath, very tastefully decorated, the room was very warm and comfortable, close to all amenities, we would definitely visit again, the only down side was our breakfast order was wrong :( . However great night we had in Edinburgh, thank you No. 11 x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2878cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving No 11 such positive feedback. We were disappointed to read that your breakfast order was not correct and hope that you will be back so that we can get it right next time. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This excellent boutique hotel provides first class accommodation and a very high standard of dining in a location that is only a few minutes walk from Princes Street and the city centre. The rooms are well furnished and spacious and the friendly staff provide a service that is second to none.

There are regular bus services and routes around the city with bus stops only a couple of minutes from the hotel and The Edinburgh Playhouse is just a stones throw away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lscotland_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving No 11 such positive feedback. It really is very much appreciated by all who work here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Property: No. 11 Brunswick Street
Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing