We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great time :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last night, the room was awesome, loved the bath, very tastefully decorated, the room was very warm and comfortable, close to all amenities, we would definitely visit again, the only down side was our breakfast order was wrong :( . However great night we had in Edinburgh, thank you No. 11 x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2878cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving No 11 such positive feedback. We were disappointed to read that your breakfast order was not correct and hope that you will be back so that we can get it right next time. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    289
    82
    24
    11
See reviews for
116
581
54
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This excellent boutique hotel provides first class accommodation and a very high standard of dining in a location that is only a few minutes walk from Princes Street and the city centre. The rooms are well furnished and spacious and the friendly staff provide a service that is second to none.

There are regular bus services and routes around the city with bus stops only a couple of minutes from the hotel and The Edinburgh Playhouse is just a stones throw away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lscotland_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving No 11 such positive feedback. It really is very much appreciated by all who work here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great location just a few blocks away from the main City centre, but an easy walk. Without exception the staff were all very helpful and professional. The rooms were a good size. At first we were a bit hesitant when they started walking us downstairs to our room - but were pleasantly surprised. Comfortable, great double shower and a small courtyard just behind our room - made you feel like it was your private garden. The breakfast was very good and not over crowded. I spoke to the owner briefly after driving in circles coming back from a trip to St Andrews - and when we came up that evening heading out to dinner - he had printed the step by step driving directions for us to our next destination w/ out us even asking. Really a great experience, would return again.

Room Tip: We loved the downstairs - especially given we didn't have to haul our luggage up those steps! Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for all your positive comments. I am glad the directions were of help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

After a shaky start due to lack of communication somewhere in the ether we were nicely accommodated in a lovely wee room at the top of the stairs in this former Black Watch Club which had a slight echo of skirling and imbibing although generally quiet and modest in atmosphere. Good food helpful staff. Thank you Number 11!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for being so positive about No 11. Really glad that it all worked out in the end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Bad bits - On arrival facade / reception area dingy and unwelcoming.
Smell from kitchen area lingers in the stairwell leading to rooms.
Accepted suggested dining time in restaraunt at 19.45 and had to request to be seated at 20.30.
Despite asking for water it didn't materialise nor did the ice bucket for the luke warm Sauvignon blanc.
Good bits -staff very accommodating and friendly at breakfast time.
Room was nice although adding a sofa to my mind didn't make it a mini suite.
I booked this hotel following a favourable review in the Sunday Times, I don't honk I'd go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed that your experience at No 11 did not meet with your expectation. All feed back good or bad is raised at our quality meetings so that we can continue to strive to please and improve.

I hope that, should you decide to come again, that you will notice the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Fantastic dining experience for the 8 of us (all adults). We had a special online deal as a gift and we can not fault it. The menu is great. There were supplements to pay for steak and specials but they were waived as the pork was not available. A great wine choice. Staff were engaging, polite, attentive and the food was simply amazing. I was even treated to information about the source of the cheese board content - its the little things that make it great - service with a smile. My wife asked for a well done steak and part of it wasn't well done, but the staff took care of this immediately without any fuss. An overall great dining experience in a lovely atmosphere. The blackened walls and decor does seem dark initially, but you are soon feeling amazingly comfortable. We had a great time! Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving No 11 such positive feedback, it really is appreciated by all who work here, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the hotel. The location was excellent the room clean and modern. The breakfast was also very good. Most of all I would like to thank the staff they were extremely helpful during our stay.
Chris and Bernice graham

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for being so positive about No 11. All the staff at No 11 really appreciate your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Property: No. 11 Brunswick Street
Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing