We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bits bad bits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #30 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Bad bits - On arrival facade / reception area dingy and unwelcoming.
Smell from kitchen area lingers in the stairwell leading to rooms.
Accepted suggested dining time in restaraunt at 19.45 and had to request to be seated at 20.30.
Despite asking for water it didn't materialise nor did the ice bucket for the luke warm Sauvignon blanc.
Good bits -staff very accommodating and friendly at breakfast time.
Room was nice although adding a sofa to my mind didn't make it a mini suite.
I booked this hotel following a favourable review in the Sunday Times, I don't honk I'd go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed that your experience at No 11 did not meet with your expectation. All feed back good or bad is raised at our quality meetings so that we can continue to strive to please and improve.

I hope that, should you decide to come again, that you will notice the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

823 - 829 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Fantastic dining experience for the 8 of us (all adults). We had a special online deal as a gift and we can not fault it. The menu is great. There were supplements to pay for steak and specials but they were waived as the pork was not available. A great wine choice. Staff were engaging, polite, attentive and the food was simply amazing. I was even treated to information about the source of the cheese board content - its the little things that make it great - service with a smile. My wife asked for a well done steak and part of it wasn't well done, but the staff took care of this immediately without any fuss. An overall great dining experience in a lovely atmosphere. The blackened walls and decor does seem dark initially, but you are soon feeling amazingly comfortable. We had a great time! Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving No 11 such positive feedback, it really is appreciated by all who work here, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I really enjoyed the hotel. The location was excellent the room clean and modern. The breakfast was also very good. Most of all I would like to thank the staff they were extremely helpful during our stay.
Chris and Bernice graham

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for being so positive about No 11. All the staff at No 11 really appreciate your kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our 4-night visit was a delight! The room was exceptional - especially the bathroom. The stand-alone tub was a masterpiece. They did a magnificient job with the restoration and modernization of this Beatiful Georgian building. The only unfortunate part was the black paint on the walls of the restaurant. We understand the purpose was to provide a neutral background for the rotating art exhibits, but the mis-matched patching and repainting of nail holes from past exhibits did detract from the look of the room. The food was uniformly outstanding, although the menu was limited. Lastly, the Staff were simply wonderful (courteous, respectfull, helpful, attentive, and most important - nice), especially Mary, who went way above and beyond expectations to surprise my wife with the recipe and cooking instructions for the restaurant's out-of-this-world Sticky Toffee Pudding. My wife will treasure that piece of paper and the unexpected, delightful surprise it represents. Our sincere thanks to the staff for the much appreciated efforts to ensure our brief visit to Edinburgh was memorable

/s/ Terry & Jeannette Seiberlich
Danville, California, USA

Room Tip: The bathroom in Suite #2 is not to be believed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving us such fantastic feedback. Mary was delighted to be mentioned and we will always be delighted to share recipes with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I dined here last Friday (27 September) on a voucher given to us by my daughter, consisting of four courses including coffee. The restaurant had two or three couples already seated when we arrived which was early evening, but was almost full when we left two hours later! We ordered a bottle of wine which was poured directly into our glasses without the option to taste first, by a young waitress who seemed new to the job. The wine wasn't chilled which was another black mark, although she did bring an ice bucket later. We ordered two different soups off the short menu which, in truth, were pretty tasteless, this after a wait of nearly 30 minutes (a sign of things to come), by which time the restaurant was getting busier. After a wait of another 30 minutes the main course arrived. We had selected hake fillet which was excellent, but could have been hotter. The empty plates lay on the table for around 20-30 minutes before they were taken away, and it was obviously the kitchen and waiters (2) couldn't cope. We noticed some dishes being taken back which were obviously wrong orders, and there seemed to be one or two diners unhappy with the wait for their food. We ordered our desserts and coffee and after a short wait the coffee arrived, but no dessert, which appeared about 15 minutes later, by which time the coffee had been drunk, and my wife, who had ordered the cheese board, complained about the wait. The waiter was most apologetic and gave her another coffee. He also apologised about the length of waiting time between courses.

The restaurant seemed very popular, but our experience wasn't that great especially as it was our anniversary, perhaps we picked a bad night, but if you are promoting your restaurant through these offers I presume you want people to come back, in this case perhaps another one or two staff would have made all the difference.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Len_Angus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I was delighted to read that you had "empty plates" and that you had therefore clearly enjoyed your food. However I was disappointed to read that you felt your service was slow. The items that you have raised are invaluable with regard to helping us improve our service, I will make a point of raising them at our next weekly quality meeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, excellent location, (near Playhouse Theatre ) but in a quiet street . Excellent breakfast and dinner. Our room was beautiful and the staff were very attentive and friendly .Would certainly go back .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaznsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Everyone at No 11 really appreciates your positive feedback, it really helps us to know that we are doing the right thing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We took advantage of an ITISON voucher to dine here recently.
Having read about the hotel being in a Georgian building, I had images of grandeur, luxury & opulence. To my surprise, we arrived to an unpretentious, understated building (we almost missed it!), with very simple interior decor. The dining room is small & painted black. I was totally taken by surprise by this, but after a short while, it felt surprisingly intimate & cozy.
We were served by lovely staff & the food was mouth-wateringly delicious. The portions are small, but full of flavour, using Scottish produce. Alcohol is expensive, as with all hotels. My husband was delighted & very impressed to see they had a 16 year old Lagavulin whisky which was served in a proper nosing glass.
The only slight criticisms I have is that it does seem to take a long time for your food to arrive, & that without the voucher, the meal would've been expensive, especially considering the small portion sizes.
We had a lovely chat with what seemed to be the owner of the hotel before leaving to commend her on the lovely evening we'd had. It became obvious that this hotel is a fairly new venture for them & they deserve every success. A totally unique place that feels like 'home'.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank womenabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

I remember you well and enjoyed meeting you both. I really appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review and for being so positive. I also need to thank your husband for enlightening me about the correct whisky glasses - of which we now have more on order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,012 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $92 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing