We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #34 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the hotel. The location was excellent the room clean and modern. The breakfast was also very good. Most of all I would like to thank the staff they were extremely helpful during our stay.
Chris and Bernice graham

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for being so positive about No 11. All the staff at No 11 really appreciate your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    307
    86
    27
    11
See reviews for
124
628
55
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our 4-night visit was a delight! The room was exceptional - especially the bathroom. The stand-alone tub was a masterpiece. They did a magnificient job with the restoration and modernization of this Beatiful Georgian building. The only unfortunate part was the black paint on the walls of the restaurant. We understand the purpose was to provide a neutral background for the rotating art exhibits, but the mis-matched patching and repainting of nail holes from past exhibits did detract from the look of the room. The food was uniformly outstanding, although the menu was limited. Lastly, the Staff were simply wonderful (courteous, respectfull, helpful, attentive, and most important - nice), especially Mary, who went way above and beyond expectations to surprise my wife with the recipe and cooking instructions for the restaurant's out-of-this-world Sticky Toffee Pudding. My wife will treasure that piece of paper and the unexpected, delightful surprise it represents. Our sincere thanks to the staff for the much appreciated efforts to ensure our brief visit to Edinburgh was memorable

/s/ Terry & Jeannette Seiberlich
Danville, California, USA

Room Tip: The bathroom in Suite #2 is not to be believed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving us such fantastic feedback. Mary was delighted to be mentioned and we will always be delighted to share recipes with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I dined here last Friday (27 September) on a voucher given to us by my daughter, consisting of four courses including coffee. The restaurant had two or three couples already seated when we arrived which was early evening, but was almost full when we left two hours later! We ordered a bottle of wine which was poured directly into our glasses without the option to taste first, by a young waitress who seemed new to the job. The wine wasn't chilled which was another black mark, although she did bring an ice bucket later. We ordered two different soups off the short menu which, in truth, were pretty tasteless, this after a wait of nearly 30 minutes (a sign of things to come), by which time the restaurant was getting busier. After a wait of another 30 minutes the main course arrived. We had selected hake fillet which was excellent, but could have been hotter. The empty plates lay on the table for around 20-30 minutes before they were taken away, and it was obviously the kitchen and waiters (2) couldn't cope. We noticed some dishes being taken back which were obviously wrong orders, and there seemed to be one or two diners unhappy with the wait for their food. We ordered our desserts and coffee and after a short wait the coffee arrived, but no dessert, which appeared about 15 minutes later, by which time the coffee had been drunk, and my wife, who had ordered the cheese board, complained about the wait. The waiter was most apologetic and gave her another coffee. He also apologised about the length of waiting time between courses.

The restaurant seemed very popular, but our experience wasn't that great especially as it was our anniversary, perhaps we picked a bad night, but if you are promoting your restaurant through these offers I presume you want people to come back, in this case perhaps another one or two staff would have made all the difference.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Len_Angus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I was delighted to read that you had "empty plates" and that you had therefore clearly enjoyed your food. However I was disappointed to read that you felt your service was slow. The items that you have raised are invaluable with regard to helping us improve our service, I will make a point of raising them at our next weekly quality meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, excellent location, (near Playhouse Theatre ) but in a quiet street . Excellent breakfast and dinner. Our room was beautiful and the staff were very attentive and friendly .Would certainly go back .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaznsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Everyone at No 11 really appreciates your positive feedback, it really helps us to know that we are doing the right thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We took advantage of an ITISON voucher to dine here recently.
Having read about the hotel being in a Georgian building, I had images of grandeur, luxury & opulence. To my surprise, we arrived to an unpretentious, understated building (we almost missed it!), with very simple interior decor. The dining room is small & painted black. I was totally taken by surprise by this, but after a short while, it felt surprisingly intimate & cozy.
We were served by lovely staff & the food was mouth-wateringly delicious. The portions are small, but full of flavour, using Scottish produce. Alcohol is expensive, as with all hotels. My husband was delighted & very impressed to see they had a 16 year old Lagavulin whisky which was served in a proper nosing glass.
The only slight criticisms I have is that it does seem to take a long time for your food to arrive, & that without the voucher, the meal would've been expensive, especially considering the small portion sizes.
We had a lovely chat with what seemed to be the owner of the hotel before leaving to commend her on the lovely evening we'd had. It became obvious that this hotel is a fairly new venture for them & they deserve every success. A totally unique place that feels like 'home'.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womenabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
I remember you well and enjoyed meeting you both. I really appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review and for being so positive. I also need to thank your husband for enlightening me about the correct whisky glasses - of which we now have more on order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife, my young son and I stayed here for three nights arriving very late on Friday night and leaving very early on Monday morning. The staff were all very welcoming and constantly offered assistance - including a breakfast at 4 a.m. on departure. The food was excellent - when we could we ate in the hotel through preference as it was excellent. The room was very comfortable and we enjoyed the ambience of the hotel. It is very conveniently sited for the city centre, yet also quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RB992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your experience at No 11 is exactly what we would like all our guests to experience. Your feedback is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at No 11 Brunswick Street for a 1 night stay in Edinburgh. We stayed in room 1, and were rather concerned when we realised that every room had the same key (as it was the same key for the front door), so I did not feel particularly safe or secure all night. Our room backed onto a courtyard where staff were banging the door to a bottle shed and dumping boxes on the patio tables outside our window so we had to have our curtains closed the whole time. The room was small but comfortable and the bathroom was lovely, but we did feel disappointed by the staff and the lack of security. Would not rush to stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather7191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are so sorry that you have had a disappointing time at No 11.

It is very important that we make you and other readers of this review aware that the door keys are unique to every room and that your security was NOT compromised in any way or form. This should have been explained to you on arrival and we are very sorry that it was not.

With regard to the delivery of fruit and vegetables in the morning. We have contacted our fresh fruit supplier and asked them to be more considerate during early morning deliveries. We have also raised the door slamming with our staff.

Overall we are very grateful for you taking the time to give us feedback. Without which we could not improve or ensure that high standards are maintained, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,184 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 149 in Edinburgh
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,146 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,262 reviews
Channings Hotel
#40 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Property: No. 11 Brunswick Street
Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing