We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #35 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We returned for our fourth time and once again had an excellent time.
They even honoured an out of date groupon deal.
A relaxed atmosphere in a quiet street. A Lithuanian waitress with a lovely manner was
The icing on the cake.
Much appreciated Stewart. Many thanks
We will be back and soon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We aim to provide quality produce in a warm friendly ambiance - your kind review lets us know we are achieving our aim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    306
    86
    27
    11
See reviews for
120
622
55
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a fantastic meal in the restaurant last night with a friend. We both had the smoked trout with herb pancakes, pickled vegetables and crème fraiche as a starter which was light and very delicious, followed by the Aberdeen Angus rib eye steak which was the best steak we have had in a very long while - meltingly good. My friend finished off with the summer fruit and prosecco jelly dessert which she loved and I elected to have the cheese selection and the taste, quality and flavour of the cheese from the Banchory Devenik Dairy Farm was to die for! I've never had such a good brie. There was also a small but excellent choice of wine by the glass - Pinot Grigio and the Merlot were both enjoyed. All finished off with a good coffee and a brownie. A lovely restaurant in a nice setting - not far from the city centre with attentive but relaxed service and a very pleasant ambience with some lovely artwork on the walls. All in all, a very enjoyable experience and a little gem of a find in the city which I will be recommending to all my friends.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for being so positive about the food and service at No 11.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was our second time visiting the No 11 Brunswick Street for a meal. Both times we had a dinner. Last time everything was much better, we would say perfect! Portions were good sized, courses tasty and presentation was wonderful. They normally do not serve Rose wine by glass, but Stewart (manager) did an exception for us. We were very pleased. Overall left happy, meal was wonderful, we saw great improvement. Our compliments to the chef and manager Stewart.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMcCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review. All the staff get a real boost from such a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Recently stayed at No11. Excellent in every way. I stayed in room 7 which is a small single, but they tell you that on the web site and it's not as small as some I have stayed in. When leaving I got a peek in some of the bigger rooms as doors were open for housekeeping and the rooms are a plush as they look in the pictures. Anyway, may small single had everything you need, comfortable bed, great shower and a demisting mirror....girls for those of us who have to shave it's a must. Service was welcoming, and the breakfast spectacular....I did not need to buy lunch. I had dinner in and that was very tasty. Service was friendly, accurate and food came in a timely way. The staff asked me to do a separate food review and I will.

The building is fab, real Georgina period, all high ceilings and cornices. It is also in a quiet street but still close to the center of the town. I tested the 12 minutes to Waverley station claim. It's true but only for those who walk quickly (i did it in 10). I would allow 15 minutes for a relaxed walk.

Things that could have been better: A bit of a smell in the main hall from kitchen food. Apparently there is a ventilation problem. Hope they fix that soon.

Room Tip: There is no lift and there are no ground floor rooms. If you lack mobility, the stairs to the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving No 11 such positive feedback. We also really appreciate that you took the time to write a seperate review for the Brasserie, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Just had a great lunch experience. Enjoyable food, good service, even though we were eating here on a voucher. The potions were not large but perfectly sized for lunchtime, the wine by the glass reasonable (especially for the large size) and overall it was a splendid lunch. We'll definitely be back to try the Scottish tapas menu.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to no 11, we frequent Edinburgh regularly and this was an amazing find. The staff were helpful and we were given a room on the top floor, despite no air conditioning, we could easily open a window. The room was nicely decorated, with most amenities. In terms of location, one of the best, a short walk to the bars, restaurants and the cinema complex. Breakfast was superb! This is one boutique hotel we would definately visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights during our honeymoon and from the pictures on the website it looked quite luxurious. When we arrived we were a little underwhelmed by the room (a mini suite). We also had to carry all of our cases up three flights of stairs ourselves.
There was a large stain on the carpet in the bedroom and the grey decor of the room gave it a cold, austere feel. The bathroom was very small with no bath, but there were 2 showers.
Breakfast was very nice and the dining room doubled as a gallery. We purchased one of the pieces, but the staff had no bag or paper to wrap it in, so we had to transport it home in stapled grease proof paper!

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother paying extra for a mini suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V-Cam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 149 in Edinburgh
315 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#16 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,653 reviews
Channings Hotel
#39 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,168 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Property: No. 11 Brunswick Street
Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing