We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #35 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My partner and l stayed at this hotel 31st december and 1st jan. we booked a double room and were upgraded to the georgian room (free of charge) on the 2nd night. The double room was lovely but georgian room was amazing! Gorgeous hotel and nice staff, especially David (thank you for finding the sweater) wouldnt hesitate to return here. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: room 6 was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen100Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    304
    85
    26
    11
See reviews for
118
613
55
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked this Hotel after seeing the great reviews on Trip Advisor and we love places that have that oldy worldy feel with lots of charactor. We were not disapointed!

The owners of this place obviously have a great eye and know what they are doing. I am on the understanding that it has just recently been refurbished and I must say what a great job they have done.

I do feel I need to make it clear to people though, this hotel does have a guest house feel to it, I wouldnt class it as a hotel but more of a high class end b&b with the option of lunch and dinner if you require it and added extras that a standard b&b would not offer. This is not by any means a negative to the hotel, its just if people are going there expecting a hotel you will see when you arrive its not quite set like that, although that did not mean that the service was not as good, it really was.

My only fault would be this and I'll get this out of the way, its only very minor and this is not directed at potential customers in a bid to put them off, think this was just a one off and we did catch them off guard arriving early, but just to be taken as a bit of constructive honest feedback for the owners and management.

We arrived a little earlier (12.15pm) and were greeted by a young guy in reception, he was friendly enough but still looked and sounded half asleep, he explained that check in was not until 2pm but that we could leave our luggage. It was a very laid back, almost strained welcome, he pointed out the kitchen which he said in his words, 'Was full of crap', and pointed out the sitting area and breakfast area before we left. This is no disrespect to him as we did get talking to him on our last night and hes a lovely guy and we are a young couple so he probably just felt comfortable with his laid back attitude and lack of enthusiasm with us but I did feel the welcome could of been a bit more professional if i am honest and if you are open to constructive critisism which I am assuming you are as we all need to know where improvements can be made that would be my only fault. We were early so may be he wasnt prepared and there was also a broken camp bed sat in reception too which looked a bit off putting but that is my only gripe, a bit more of an enthusiastic welcome, minus the swearing as we did not take that personally at all but I am sure some people would. First impressions really do count for us and we left feeling a bit worried at what it was going to be like based on his welcome. However we were not to be worried at all, it was onwards and upwards from there.

We arrived back at 4pm and were shown to our room, number 9 a mini suite. I have to say the rooms are beautiful and immaculate, would not of changed a thing, gorgeous with lots of special touches like the heated flooring, toiletries, fresh crisp towels, face flannels, tea and coffee facilities etc. Be aware though, this is a georgian house so no lifts and I am 5 months pregnant so was huffing and puffing a bit by the time i got to the top but I did not mind that at all, just make sure if you do struggle physically that you let the staff know before booking to prevent any problems or disapointment on arrival so they can put you on the lower floor which I am sure will not be a problem as they are very accomodating.

The service was great at breakfast, you did not need to ask for anything, they had it all covered and the breakfasts were brilliant!! One thing I cannot stand its greasy fry ups but they know how to cook them here, fresh produce, plenty of it and not dripping in grease! Perfect!!

My husband decided to try his luck and even though room service is not an option at this place he called down to reception to request a cheese board one night (bit cheeky of him) the staff were very accomodating to this request and sent one up for him which I thought was very good of them as it was not a service that they usually offer.

10 minute max walk into the city centre, location is spot on.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat, we had a fab weekend and the hotel played a massive part in this. Everything was faultess with only one minor improvement which was the welcome we received but please do not let that put you off!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 299sky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. A very well sized, clean room on the top floor - the only down side was the size of the window but I understand with the age of the building this is how it is. We were originally offered a basement room but I requested a room above if there was one available, and there was.
The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was amazing.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the city centre attractions that we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shorty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of November to celebrate our wedding anniversary. What a lovely place. We travel alot and have stayed in many hotels including a few in Edinburgh, and I must say this wonderful boutique hotel will be at the top end of our list of places to return to.
The staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We arrived on an early morning flight and left on an evening flight and very kindly, with no exra charge, were able to leave our luggage at the hotel whilst we saw the sights.
We stayed in The Georgian suite (No.6) which was beautifully decorated and comfortable with a lovely touch of half bottles of red and white wine awaiting us on arrival. The bathroom was superb with fluffy gowns and towels and underfloor heating.
Breakfast was good with a very extensive menu and all prepared to order, nothing was too much trouble.
Location good to as only 10 - 15 min walk to main shopping areas and regular buses at top of road for further afield or for those who prefer to use transport.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who appreciates the elegance of the Georgian era. If you want modern, minamilistic freshness, then this is not the place for you.
Thank you to all the staff who made our stay a pleasurable one.
Karen and Lee, A

Room Tip: No 6 a Georgian Suite over looking the back garden is the one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kla66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you Karen and Lee,
We always aim to do best to our guest, so they can enjoy the moment and never regret picking us and our lovely hotel. You pointed before it was your anniversary therefore I did what only we could, wish we could do even more...
All the best and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Thank you! We had a great stay, just one night, but it was a great one, lovely, clean and huge room with a stylish en-suite shower room with double shower cubicle and underfloor heating, a very convenient, yet quiet location, friendly staff and a wonderful breakfast - perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladycull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your nice comment, would love to see you again.

All the best in New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

So much was different from its reviews on here. Our flight was delayed 30 min due to wing deicing, so we got in at 10pm. The shuttle from the hotel turned out to be a taxi and we had to call to find out about it. No one at the airport, good thing one of our phones was international. Got to the hotel (22.00) shown the room which looked nice by David the night man who was very nice. We missed not having a clock in the room till after supper when we got back, so a call to the front for a wake up call. They called on the dot both days as when they put in the ipod hookup with clock we didn't know how to program the alarm, and there was no instructions.

The bath looked great but the water kept changing temperature while taking your shower, so lots of exercise to be had as you jumped in and out of the scalding to freezing water. The under floor heating was a true blessing and the large fluffy towels were really nice.

Not a 15 minute walk to the Royal Mile unless you are power walking just headed over to the base of it, more like 30 but the bus system was right there and if you get the day pass for 3.50 you have a bargain. We use it to go to the Royal Yacht Britannia and bay area. Then headed up to the Royal Mile the next day where we checked out the rest of the 'Mile' and the Princes St area as there was a Christmas Market on there and lots of fun to be had.

Breakfast was plentiful and yummy both days even when we hit it up at the last 10 minutes we still got the full on offerings. You got a choice of full Continental with a cheese and ham plate, yogurt, fruit bowl, cereals, and juices. Or you could opt for the cooked choices of up to a full Scottish. All people were covered American, Continental, Vegetarian and special diets as I found being Gluten Intolerant.

Room Tip: Do not take the kingsize bedroom down stairs (#2)as it is under the dining room and you hear everyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weilok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Really upset reading this, mainly because you were kind of disappointed. However I feel like it's a bit unfair judgement...
Firstly it's not our fault the taxi company failed- we did what was necessary and on the night after calling to taxi driver guided you. Mind the flight was at 21.05 and you ended at the hotel at 22.00- the hotel is easily 30 mins away from the airport.
Secondly, after pointing about clock missing we replenish immediately once you left for sightseeing. It wouldn't cost a penny to ask any member of staff about instructions or manual.
Finally, the hotel is the old with history building, there's no electric showers so you need to leave water running for a while to get desired temperature...And if you heard any noise from upstairs we can only apologise, but it can only be noisy during the breakfast time especially
when wearing heels.
Shame you'd never mentioned about any of these problems while staying with us as we could have fixed them all straight away and your visit could have been more enjoyable.

Wishing you all the best in New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night in early December when we were attending a 30th birthday party. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the Waverley station, up past John Lewis. We stopped for lunch on our way at one of the number of cafes/restaurants we passed near the Playhoues.

The hotel itself was lovely and the staff were eager to help. We were shown to our room, a standard double, which was on the second floor, overlooking the garden. As it says on the website, the room wasn't large but was perfectly comfortable for the two of us for the night. It looked like it had recently been refurbished, was nicely decorated and the bathroom was luxurious with its underfloor heating. The room was warm - a blessing in December! I was also particularly grateful for the aero hot chocolate when we got back from our night out!

The hotel was in a quiet street, away from the crowds and did not have the influx of hen/stag parties which the budget chains appeared to have.

Breakfast was lovely - a full scottish breakfast cooked to order.

I would recommend this hotel to friends/family looking to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAM_Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for such nice comment!
Wish to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 148 in Edinburgh
303 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#17 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,624 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,319 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 148 in Edinburgh
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Property: No. 11 Brunswick Street
Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing