We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Before the floods”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #29 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Although we struggled to get home on the train it did not detract from a wonderful few days in this extremely facinating city. The hotel was very warm and comfortable and staff friendly and helpful.
Scottish breakfast and porage an excellent start to the day.

Room Tip: people with walking difficulties should choose a room on the first floor as stairs are long with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

we were there on August, and it was a fantastic stay. A warm hotel with a lot of fashion. If you'll like have a delightful and charming hotel in Edimburgh you could choose n.11!!! A silent place in a Residential Edimburgh district, nearby the City center.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pier massimo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent our first wedding annivesary in this amazing hotel and our room was outstanding! We didn't want to leave! The staff were lovely and the service was the best we've ever had. I would recommend this hotel for anyone lookiing for a romantic stay in the city centre and a fantastic Scottish breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

we booked this Hotel by luck , and feel like we won the lottery . Recently refurbished 10 rooms only , 10 minute walk to city center , parking easy , fantastic friendly staff and a HEARTY Scottish Breakfast set us up for the day . forget the big hotels , this is a hidden gem ( i nearly didnt want to share ) .

Room Tip: if you struggle with stairs , ask for a room on 1st floor - no lift !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent 3 nights at N°11 in August and were very happy with this place. It is very easy to go to the centre, though it is in a quiet street. The staff was quite nice and welcoming and the breakfast was unforgettable. Our kids loved it ! Rooms were large and comfortable, It has been recently decorated and everything is new and works well. We really recommend the place ! Laurence and Stéphane Janin (France)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending one night here - I wish it could have been longer. In fact, I loved the room so much I was wondering how soon I could sneak off from my evening engagement to get back and enjoy the novelty of such a beautiful room all to myself!
This boutique hotel is set just off London Road. It took me 20 minutes at a leisurely pace, trailing my wheelie case, to walk from Waverley Station. However, if you are driving, it looked like there were plenty of car parking spaces to be had on the street, virtually at the door. Coming in the front door, I was greeted by a very friendly member of staff who took me up to my room and explained where everything was. My room was on the top (3rd) floor (there is no lift) and in keeping with the theme of understated elegance that runs throughout the hotel, it was beautifully furnished in a subtle, muted palette. A lovely big bed was very comfortable with gorgeous crisp white bed linen and thoughtful little touches like an ipod player, a fluffy white bathrobe and a good hairdryer made this just that extra bit special. A big bonus for a country dweller like myself, Brunswick Street is quiet and this meant a good night's sleep with no traffic noise.
The dining room was home to an interesting exhibition of contemporary art which makes a welcome change from what is usually to be found on hotel walls. For breakfast I had a creamy bowl of porridge with fresh berries and honey, followed by very good bacon, eggs and mushrooms. My only grumble about the breakfast was that the bread was bog standard brown sliced and the jam could have been a lot better. I am also a coffee monster in the morning and while the cafetiere was adequate, there was an espresso machine in the dining room and it would have made me very happy to have been offered a cappuccino as standard on the breakfast menu.
Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would love to come back. No 11 is the perfect antidote to bland corporate hotels and is now top of my list of where to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sloedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

The staff at the no. 11 have literally saved our trip! After being frauded by a nearby "lodge" we came here hoping for a last minute room! They gladly and happiy accomodated us and made sure we had drinks to relax! We went out for dinner and when we got back at 11pm the reception lady was so welcoming and again offered us drinks and snacks and anything we needed to be comfortable.
Rooms are gorgeous, place is spotless, and the morning breakfast was filling and delicious! I will recommend to anyone travelling Scotland!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisazip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish G, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you so much and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,027 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
368 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $88 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing