We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merith House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$149
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$141
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$159
$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$276
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$508
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
31
43
57
47
105
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
43
57
47
105
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 283 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Clean and comfortable room and bathroom, friendly staff, decent breakfast. Good location overlooking Leith Links and on the 12 and 25 bus routes from the City Centre, a 10 minute trip (or a 30 minute walk). Good value,.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The owner is rude
-charge of 10 pounds when paying with the card
-very small room and toilet with hangers instead of a cupboard
-paid for 4 nights /left the keys at the reception ( nobody was there) the last day and later we have returned and the owner said the room is not available anymore because we left the keys at the reception and there were no luggage left in the room -after a long whole day trip we had to find something else where to stay in the middle of the night
positive- good heating

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manuela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

In response to this review, Firstly i would like to thank you for leaving a review weather it be good or bad.
But on this occassion i have to reply.
The couple who wrote this review checked out One Day Early to go tour the north of scotland, all the luggage was removed from the room and the Key left at Reception, as Breakfast was going on.
At no point during Breakfast did this couple advise us they were going away for the day then comming back.
The couple in question stayed with us Two Nights previous and on both occassions when they departed the Hotel they took their keys with them so they can gain entry back into the building.
On The day in question they departed the hotel to go touring and as stated they emptied their room of all belongings,upon arrival back at the hotel at 11:40pm they stated to me that they couldnt find alternative accomodation where they were so decided to return to the Merith, i explained that they had departed the hotel in the morning and the room they previouslt occupied was not available anymore, the Gentleman of the Party understood and admitted they checked out but the lady was rude and obnoxious to which point i told her i would get the police involved if she kept making a disturbance.
Eventually they left threatening to post bad comments about the hotel.
As for paying an extra £10...They didnt.....we charge 5% for paying by credit/debit card with the option to pay by cash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The place was very well maintained and very clean. Modern TV on the wall - which disturbed the neighbour even though it wasn't too loud!
The proprietors were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Continental breakfast was excellent with lots of choice.
The bedroom was comfortable and warm but rather small and we had to maneuver around each other.
The buses appear frequently outside the door.
We were given an outside door key which allowed us to return late at night.
We didn't notice a residents' lounge but there was a small restaurant area with a radio.

Room Tip: We only saw our room which was rather small but served the purpose. A front bedroom has a good view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is located in a good and accessible area of Edinburgh. Rooms seems small but it should not be that important if coming for leisure. The hotel seems very clean and offers great breakfast. I found difficult to contact staff members if needed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

1. Inhospitable staff with limited availability
2. Smelly bathroom
3. Loud at night
4. Only one sheet on the beds (no fitted sheet)
5. Poor security
6. Nonfunctional heater

Other than a great little restaurant up the street, there's no reason why anyone should choose to subject themselves to this place when there are countless other places with better service and that are comparable in price. I was hardly able to sleep because of all the noise, and the staff are available only until 9 pm, and so we were left with screaming and banging from drunk people who had come in around 3 am. And, to add insult to injury, we had to sit there through the noise in the cold, thanks to the useless heater.

Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews