We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small bedroom but caring proprietors”
Review of Merith House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merith House Hotel
Ranked #145 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Small bedroom but caring proprietors”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The place was very well maintained and very clean. Modern TV on the wall - which disturbed the neighbour even though it wasn't too loud!
The proprietors were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Continental breakfast was excellent with lots of choice.
The bedroom was comfortable and warm but rather small and we had to maneuver around each other.
The buses appear frequently outside the door.
We were given an outside door key which allowed us to return late at night.
We didn't notice a residents' lounge but there was a small restaurant area with a radio.

Room Tip: We only saw our room which was rather small but served the purpose. A front bedroom has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    42
    53
    42
    93
See reviews for
33
97
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is located in a good and accessible area of Edinburgh. Rooms seems small but it should not be that important if coming for leisure. The hotel seems very clean and offers great breakfast. I found difficult to contact staff members if needed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

1. Inhospitable staff with limited availability
2. Smelly bathroom
3. Loud at night
4. Only one sheet on the beds (no fitted sheet)
5. Poor security
6. Nonfunctional heater

Other than a great little restaurant up the street, there's no reason why anyone should choose to subject themselves to this place when there are countless other places with better service and that are comparable in price. I was hardly able to sleep because of all the noise, and the staff are available only until 9 pm, and so we were left with screaming and banging from drunk people who had come in around 3 am. And, to add insult to injury, we had to sit there through the noise in the cold, thanks to the useless heater.

Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent value and great location from the city centre continental breakfast for a a small charge could of had cooked one.
Liked the idea the bus stop just outside the door good old number 12
Reception was not open 24 hours but didn't mind after I had a few in the town centre I slipped in and had a good comfortable nights sleep . I have read reviews on the hotel and found it a pleasant hotel with good value for money I would gladly recommend it to travellers from all over the world

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

this was the worst hotel iv booked to date, double room was smaller than a single, only 1 side to get in and out of bed, broken curtain rail that was taped up not even straight, the toilet was smaller than a phone box with folding doors,there was a cable for the light coming over the head bored, the tv was dirty,the owners (managers)ignorant i had to stand in the corner and let my gf get changed first before i did, nothing good about this place, sorry apart from taking the refund and leaving, wont be back there, wouldnt advise any1 to go there,even if ur desprate, use a hostel as it would be nicer and better.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weec27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here a while ago for a long weekend. On a tight budget we booked one of the cheapest hotels we could find and definitely got what we paid for. The room was tiny, with a double bed that had one side pressed up against the window so one person had to climb across it. The bathroom also was extremely tiny, with a folding door that had a tiny gap in it (so pretty sure anyone in the room would be able to hear you in the bathroom!) not only this but it was so small that your knees would be touching the door while on the loo.
The worst was yet to come however, as we settled down in bed I noticed a small insect crawling across the sheets, I flicked it away thinking nothing of it until another appeared, then another, and another. The room was absolutely crawling with bedbugs, even on the walls. I freaked out and was very upset by this so went to complain. I don't like to make a fuss but obviously was not putting up with the room so asked to be moved. The manager apologised and said that all the rooms were full so offered to take us to another hotel down the road..which was mucchh much nicer for no more money. Definitely check Trip Advisor before you book! Wish I had...scarred for life!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexiRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury-on-Thames,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed the one night and overall the room was clean and comfortable. However, it was a blessing that i was sharing the room with my superslim daughter and not my "largish" boyfriend.....as he would not have been able to shut the bathroom door whilst sitting on the loo as it was soooooooooo tiny. (room 8). Also the adjoining walls were so thin, we could hear every single piece of gossip from the selfish occupant in an adjacent room, who was gassing on her mobile til the early hours. It also would have been nice to have more of a welcome when we arrived, the expression "face like a slapped bottom" springs to mind.

Room Tip: Room 8 was very small and not recommended for more than one person, although sold as a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#138 of 148 in Edinburgh
256 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 148 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#144 of 148 in Edinburgh
525 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 148 in Edinburgh
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merith House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merith House Hotel

Property: Merith House Hotel
Address: Leith Links 2-3 Hermitage Place, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Merith House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25, the Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). The Merith Hotel has 14 en-suite rooms, all with LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/coffee making facilities, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking and complimentary sit down continental breakfast. A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merith House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merith Hotel Edinburgh
Merith House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing