We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and so cheap” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merith House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merith House Hotel
Ranked #147 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel and so cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed here for two nights last months and it was definitely a positive experience. I had come for work and needed a quiet and relaxing hotel which is exactly what I got! There is a beautiful park across the road which is lovely for walks and picnics however as i was on my own I didnt make full use of it, I would definitely bring my family back so we could enjoy it - only if the weather is good which is not very often! The staff were very welcoming and breakfast was nice too. Edinburgh is a beautiful city and the hotel lived up to those standards.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    52
    40
    89
See reviews for
31
93
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here in October 2011 for our honeymoon. When arrived the staff were extremely friendly and when we got to our room we was greeted with a complimentary bottle of wine. We stayed here for five days apart form the room being a bit cramped excellent service, excellent cleanliness, brilliant breakfast, and great location we only had to hop on the bus for a 5-10 mins away from Edinburgh centre. Brilliant. Thinking about coming back to Edinburgh this year and if we do will definitely be staying here. Highly reccomended. Thank you for making us feel welcome throughout our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buster67610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

When checking in we were advised we had to pay upfront and there was extra for credit card - not something stipulated when booking. Upon entering the room our first impressions were it was extremely small and where was everything going to go??

Only one of us had a bedside table which is where most of our stuff was placed, and we got one wobbly 3 tiered shelf with tea and coffee supplies and a kettle. Where on earth the kettle was supposed to go I don't know as there was not an electrical socket nearby to plug it into so we had to put the kettle on the floor. The floor was also somewhat uneven and creaky. Walls were paper thin. We could hear mumbled conversation from room next door, and every footstep of people upstairs at 3am.

The bed was hard, and the only reason we slept is because we were so exhausted from the day. Pillows were very flat, sheets very thin. The only way we could cool down the room was open the window, which resulted in my partner being bitten by bugs (from outside or from the bed I'm not sure which!)

Aside from the room being cramped, the bathroom was tiny and the shower even smaller. The waterflow of the shower was quite good though. The shelf above the sink was loose and on a slant, so unusable. Choice of toilet paper very poor and the only complimentary toiletries supplied was a tiny bar of soap. Nowhere to place our shower gels, shampoos etc. except for the tiny soap tray which was also on an angle, so everything fell off. Tiles in the bathroom were cracked and the bathroom door did not close properly and would actually pop open a few minutes after being closed.

Breakfast ok - basic continental. Staff were nice enough, however I'm not sure if they should be in tourism as they seemed to prefer watching TV in the room behind the reception desk rather than engaging with any of the guests. The only positive is the location - across from a nice park and a quick trip into town by bus.

"Luxury with Economy" - what an absolute joke!

Room Tip: Ask to look at a room before you pay anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lel_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I would not stay at this hotel again, nor would recommend it to anyone because of the management’s attitude. I ended up going to a doctor because of the bad mattress at the hotel, which could have been easily avoided, had management cared about the guests comfort and not only about making money.

The hotel managers leave at 9 pm and sometimes earlier so the reception is closed so nothing can be done until the following day. You have to pay upfront for the entire stay and if you pay with credit card, there is an additional fee. There is no lift and a lot of stairs.

The battery in my room did not work and there were no extra blankets. What was worse - the mattress was horrible as the springs were almost out and poking. When I told the management about it, they were not surprised at all and said “Oh yes, that mattress is bad; we were going to replace it.” They waited, however, for someone to complain to replace it. I noticed there were a lot of people staying only for one night, which left the management in a great position not to fix anything.

What was really frustrating was the manager’s attitude. When I asked for a refund of one night, he said there was nothing he could do. The mattress was replaced and battery was fixed, that’s true – but not the same night. The manager knew he did not do right by me – and he did not care.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank IrinaH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

why didnt i check the review on this site before i booked!

Awful, dirty, disgusting, horrible staff, AVOID

we stayed in room number 5, and there were 5 of us, the reason i booked this was because it was the cheapest 5 person room/apartment i could find on laterooms for 3 nights, we wanted to leave after 1 night but we had to stay as it would have been an extra £500 for somewhere else!

we were all bitten by bed bugs, the toilet, shower and the sink were clean, however the rest of the shower room was disgusting! and shockingly decorated, in a very half assed manor, incredible!

the lady serving breakfast was more than un polite, and even when she was outside at the front door, wouldn't acknowledge you as you went in!



the only positive i can think of is that you could get free wifi in the room.

Room Tip: not room number 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Left an unopened chocolate bar on the bed. The packaging had been chewed through by something later in the day, saw a mouse in the room a little later. A few other issues, bed bugs, a souvenir went missing from our room, wifi only works in the hotel managers office, hot water runs out, lack of customer service.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank natch727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#146 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merith House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merith House Hotel

Property: Merith House Hotel
Address: 2-3 Hermitage Place, Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Merith House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25, the Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). The Merith Hotel has 14 en-suite rooms, all with LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/coffee making facilities, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking and complimentary sit down continental breakfast. A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Merith House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merith Hotel Edinburgh
Merith House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing