We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Added to the Experience”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This was our first time in Edinburgh – What a dynamic city! Old, New, Gritty, Eclectic, Classy, Modern, Traditional - Our new favorite city! This Hotel complimented our experience perfectly. All the past reviewers are correct – this is a great little gem. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The first room we had was great but we thought it was a bit hot and did not think the a/c was working. When we called the front desk to tell them - they immediately changed our room – no questions asked. We were upgraded to a larger room with a view of the castle. The location was perfect – the red hop on and hop off bus stops right across the street. The castle and the Grassmarket Street are about a ten minute walk. Princess Street is at your doorstep with shops on one side and the gardens on the other. The bar is very modern and a nice place to unwind at the end of the day – but with so many great pubs in Edinburgh, it is really hard to want to stay at just one. Pick the Rutland – you will enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toohip2cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

In many ways, this hotel has no business working as well as it does. Literally across the street from the 300-room behemoth of the Caldeonian Hotel, from the outside there seems little to attract customers. What happens when you actually get inside is difficult to describe. The lobby sets the scene well with a pair of extravagant, silver gothic chairs.
We stayed in room 11, listed as a castle view room and on the top floor of the hotel. The views of the castle, particularly at night were spectacular but at times it was difficult to drag your eyes away from the room itself. The gothic splendour is back in the form of an enormous bed and mirror but the bathroom is perfectly minimalist. Oh yes, and the complimentary muffins!
The restaurant is another marvel of decoration, complete with completely black marble bathrooms. Keep your eyes open for the 12' tall wingback chair in the bar area.
If you like your hotels with personality and glamour - you will not be disappointed with the Rutland.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtrs199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

there should be a place like this in every town/city, really coudnt praise this place high enough, wonderful service, staff coudnt do enough, love the downstairs bar and so central to all of the great sights in edinburgh, the attention to detail in every aspect of this place is fantastic, it may not suit everyones tastes as its a rather hip and happening place so can lead maybe to some noise issues for some guests but for us was just great

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingussiequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We have just stayed 2 nights, as guests attending a very large wedding in Edinburgh.
The Rutland was so well placed for our needs, walking distance to the Church and reception venues, and meeting up with friends staying in near by hotels.
The Room itself was impeccable, bed very comfy and very quiet considering this hotels central location. The bathroom was fantastic with excellant facilities.But lighting was poor for makeup application. So many extra touches in the room, that make this a very special place, but a few issues stated below need to be improved.
Firstly was the darkness of the staircase & corridar areas they were painted black, slightly odourless and a little erry. Secondly the hotels rates offered were "room only" no breakfast, although breakfast can be taken in the bar area of the hotel....Pricy for what you get, just over £25 for 2 breakfasts... no cereals,no fresh fruit no yoghurts all very casual and in our minds lets down this Boutique hotel......in our minds staying in a smart hotel is having a very nice relaxed breakfast, not like having a sandwich from any high street takeaway. The Plus sides ...The service was excellant and the staff attentive and very accomodating.
We would stay again if we needed such a central location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northerngolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Stayed at the Rutland for 2 nights late January for my boyfriends birthday.
First impressions were great, lovely reception area and friendly lady on reception.

We booked an executive room (no 7) & we loved it.
Nice King bed, modern bathroom, surround sound throughout the room & bathroom.
Flat screen TV, in room GHD straightners, mini bar, robes & nice touches like fresh milk for tea & coffee and fresh muffins & shortbread.

The location is great, views of the castle when you step outside and at one end of Princes street and George street. We walked to the castle and it was a nice 20min walk.

We booked into the Rutland restaurant 1 evening, the meal and service were brilliant. As a hotel guest you receive a 10% discount on the bill which is also a nice touch.

Had a few cocktails in the hotel bar which gets busy & is popular with locals, again the service was great.

Didnt eat breakfast in the hotel, went across the road to Sygn Bar & the food was lovely.

We flew into Edinburgh airport & caught the Air Link bus to the city centre at a cost of £3.50 pp each way, the service was great & took less than 30 mins.

The only negatives were the in room Wifi, the signal was poor, had to stand by the room door to get a better signal & we asked for extra teabags & shortbread at reception (we were told to ask if they needed replenishing)
Tea bags came and the female manager said the shortbread would arrive shortly but it never came!! If it was too much trouble then it would have been better to say there wasnt anymore! Minor negatives.

The hotel is lovely, if you are thinking of staying there then do so.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_A_B_W21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

You made us so welcome,my wife was disabled due to a terminal illness. Nothing was to much trouble. No 5 room was fantastic, with beautiful views of the castle.
The restaurant staff were impecable in their, service, non intrusive attentiveness and friendly demeanour,the food was superb, thank you all so much.
The cellar bar was a great place to breakfast and relax prior to dinner,again great staff.
The taxi rank just out side was really good for us.
We were able to relax at a very difficult time in our lives, you all made a short holiday one to remember, Thanks so very much.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We have just returned from the Rutland hotel, having stayed there to celebrate our second anniversary. From the moment we arrived, we received excellent service - the staff were very welcoming and wished us a happy anniversary. Our bags that we had dropped off earlier had been taken to our suite and we were escorted upstairs. We received a welcome muffin each, which were very tasty - we had them for breakfast the next day.

We stayed in one of the junior suites, room 6, and it was very luxurious. Very funky decoration, massive bed (which had been scattered with rose petals for us), fluffy robes, ghd straightners, copies of vogue and gq, huge flatscreen telly and very comfy throne-like chairs. The bathroom was also very nice. We had a jacuzzi bath which was great fun, Everything was spottlessly clean and I really couldn't fault the room.

We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on the food but we did have a drink in the bar and received excellent service there too. The waiter took our drinks order at the table and even made a specific cocktail we asked for that wasn't on the menu.

Overall I would say that if you're looking for a luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the city, then the Rutland is everything you could ever want. It is not cheap but is definately worth what you pay for. The only criticism I had was that the sleep quality wasn't brilliant as you could hear noise from the bar downstairs and the corridor outside. But apart from that, we had a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilandLauraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,952 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1-3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $155 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 9 luxury serviced apartments. 5 are 2-bedroom and 4 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing