We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Great Location”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Great Location”
Reviewed November 24, 2010

This is a quiet, 12 room hotel at the Edinburgh castle end of Princes street, one of the two main streets in the heart of the city, walking distance from the Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Haymarket train station. Clean, comfortable rooms, great staff. I'm no designer, but I would call the room deco retro-60's or 70's. No lobby, just a cozy reception area. Great signal on the free Wifi, also an iPod dock, flat screen, (king beds available). Popular upscale bar and restaurant on lower floors. Wouldn't recommend hotel for people with small children. No biz or fitness center. SENIOR CITIZENS or anyone with very bad knees should be aware that the shower is in the jacuzzi tub and the tub is on a platform, so you might have a struggle getting out, since there are no handicap support bars.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerChick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    249
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
139
699
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

This was our first trip to Edinburgh and this hotel was recommended not only by Trip Advisor ratings, but also from other people I know who were actually from Edinburgh.
Pros:
>Beautiful, large room with equally large bathroom
>Fantastic location!! Within walking distance of everything!
>Wonderful staff – everyone was very nice and helpful!
>Complimentary water in room and complimentary yummy raspberry muffins upon check in.
>We ate at both the restaurant and the bar and both were excellent!

Cons:
>The bath tub was a Jacuzzi, which sounds like a Pro, but when you just want to take a bath, without the jets, you get a lot of yucky stuff in the water because it’s impossible to clean the jets very well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I stayed in a Castle view room at the Rutland, and you wouldn't believe how many pictures I have that are taken through the window! (With a matching set of photos from being touristy at Edinburgh Castle and exclaiming, "That's our hotel room!")

This is a beautiful little boutique hotel with very clean rooms, decent water pressure (hard to find sometimes!), and nice details:
* chandeliers in the rooms
* iPod docks in the bedroom so you can listen to tunes while in the shower
* walking distance to lots of major attractions (and the rail station)

The only negative things I can say about it are that service was less than stellar. Say, for instance, you're craving ice-cream just before ten pm. Now, supposedly, the kitchen is still open for a few more minutes, but they refuse to make anything for you (though you can still order drinks at the bar of course). When deciding that might be fair, you go to the front desk where neither the regular staffer nor her supervisor has an answer. Fair enough, except for the part where they suggest that maybe McDonald's is open (not that they can give you directions). Is McDonald's ice-cream? No. Was the kitchen open for another 15 minutes at the hotel itself? Yes. Something about this scenario just strikes me as wrong in ways that, "The kitchen really closes at 9, but we haven't fixed the in-room menus" or "I don't know where you'd go for that, crazy person" would not.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine_DuCharme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I booked the Rutland Hotel through Mr & Mrs Smith for a family treat (me, husband and nearkly 8 year old son) in October half term. We love Scotland and Edinburgh in particular and had high hopes for the stay. The location could not really be bettered and the staff are friendly. We had room 10, which unfortunately does not have a view of the castle but is roomy with a fantastic walk-in rainshower shower and Arran Aromatics soap/toiletries. The bed was very comfortable and it is very quiet. As breakfast wasn't included, we chose to breakfast elsewhere (at the Castle and at Cafe Rouge) but we did make use of the bar for our free Mr & Mrs Smith cocktail. We didn't eat at the restaurant. The one thing I didn't like was the fact that there were sweets and nuts laid out in the room saying "eat me eat me" which were very expensive (please hide them away!). Also, there were bottles of water on the bedside tables and it wasn't clear if they were complimentary or not (in a hotel of that standard they should be in my view), as they were listed on the minibar list. Also the hospitality tray wasn't maintained properly (unless you like herbal tea) and I had to phone room service twice to get some more normal teabags. However, I feel a bit nitpicky writing that - it's a lovely place to stay and given the location, good value. Please make the bottled water free though, and if it already is, can that be made clear?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellywobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I spent a long time reviewing hotels on here and other websites before settling on the Rutland for a romantic weekend away with my wife. Very pleased to say that it more than lived up to expectations. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and attentive. We stayed in Room 6 which was large and well equipped with lots of thoughful touches (fresh milk, hair straightners, etc). Although the hotel is on a busy corner of Princes Street and there is a bar, nightclub and restaurant below it we experienced absolutely no noise. We enjoyed eating in the restaurant, good food and very friendly staff. In the morning I was a bit worried about having breakfast in the bar (images of sitting at a dark dingy bar table), but the tables are laid out next to huge floor to ceiling windows and the whole setup was very pleasant.

Went down to the nightclub on the Saturday night. Good cocktails and obviously a popular spot, lots of young people queuing to get in. Earlier in the evening we'd been to anamazing wine bar called Divino just the other side of Grassmarket. Highly recommended if you're a wine fan. Also the restaurant at the top of the National Museum of Scotland is really smart.

Would definitely stay here again when we return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Originally my husband wanted us to stay in the Balmoral. We are so happy we decided to stay at the Rutland Hotel instead. We stayed for a long weekend in April/May to celebrate my birthday. We had a castle view room which was fantastic! The decor is funky without being over the top, the hotel is conveniently located to walk to the castle or to the centre of Edinburgh and the bar is great but the best about this hotel are the people, working here! They did eveything to make us happy and my birthday weekend an unforgettable and great experience. Thank you very much!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank happy_camper_ww2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at the Rutland for the first and last night of our holiday in Scotland, and were very happy with the hotel. It is in a great location looking up Princes St and and some rooms with views of The Castle. The rooms are exquisite, bathrooms great, and beds v comfortable. All the staff were delightful, helpful & professional (esp the girl from Aus).

After having a package with dinner included the first night, we booked for dinner again on our return as it was such a good experience. Wine list exceptional. Breakfast - the service is a bit slow and the meal itself is not the same standard as dinner, but still quite acceptable.

I would look the Rutland again in a flash when returning to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilsTassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,735 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
970 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing