We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It dosnt get much better!”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2010

What a lovely find! a great location with glimpses of the castle. we had the junior suite which was perfect for a relaxing break, it was so clean and fresh, the bed was to die for.a lovely hospitality tray, which included complimentry muffins. the hotel was quiet which made for a good nights sleep. my only negative was the breakfast which is served in a pub/bar, the service was painful waiting an hour for breakfast and a slice of toast, not acceptable in a four star hotel. however it did not detract from a quality hotel, would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed at The Rutland Hotel for one night only, but it made a lasting impression. Particularly the wonderful staff who were all very accommodating and friendly. The location is probably the best in Edinburgh, and the room was surprisingly large and comfortable. .....and the excellent rain shower head was a wonderful surprise.

As far as boutique hotels go, it would hard to top The Rutland Hotel and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Stayed here with my husband for one night in mid September. The room wasn't quite ready when we arrived (shortly before two) but they were able to store our luggage and it wasn't a problem. Only took about 20 minutes or so before it was ready. The room itself was really nice. The bed was one of the best hotel beds I've ever slept in. Wonderful linens and pillows, mattress firm but not so hard that it's like sleeping on a slab of concrete, as it is at other hotels. The muffins on the bed upon arrival are a nice touch. We had no tub but a shower with a rain water shower head. Loved that! Very nice and excellent water pressure. A point to note is that however stylish the bathroom looks, it has a few functionality problems. First of all, it's impossible not to get water all over the bathroom floor after using the shower. Second, the sink is vessel style, which looks attractive, but the faucet from which the water flows into the sink needs to be a little longer. There's a space between the faucet and the sink, and what happens is that when you turn the faucet off it drips onto the counter where that space is, causing water to run everywhere. We ended up putting a towel down into that space to catch the drips. Odd that the designer didn't notice that, especially since the place is newly renovated. I didn't check out the sound system so can't comment on it (actually, wasn't even aware that it was a feature in the room), but the flat screen TV was good quality with lots of channels. Agree with what one reviewer said about the items placed around the room, such as candies, nuts, wine, etc. They do give the appearance that they're complementary, so be careful. Our room happened to overlook the street, but you wouldn't know it from the lack of noise. We couldn't hear a peep. Also, our room was a standard double but it wasn't at all small. I would recommend the hotel in a heartbeat, but avoid the restaurant. When we first arrived we asked if we could get some toast from the restaurant and the girl checking us in didn't think that would be a problem. However, the restaurant staff informed us that breakfast hours were over. When I said I just wanted toast I was told that I couldn't get it, but they would be able to "warm some bread." Hmmm. Next day we went for breakfast. Service was nice but extremely slow; it took us nearly 45 minutes to get the food. When it came, my poached egg was so overcooked that it was almost hard boiled. We mentioned this to the waitress when she came to check on us, and the manager, Hazel, immediately comped the breakfast and offered apologies. She and the rest of her staff were extremely nice and definitely tried hard to make our experience memorable. My conclusion: stay at the Rutland for the fantastic location and great room and service, but skip the restaurant. There are plenty of other options close by.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Renaissance11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Beautiful funky boutique hotel in a great location. Only about a dozen rooms so very personal service & the staff are fantastic. Lots of little extra touches - like a GHD straightener - you don't see most other places. Bar is lovely. Not cheap, (though the Fringe was on so all accommodation at a premium), but if you're looking to spoil yourself I couldn't recommend the Rutland highly enough. Next time we go to Edinburgh won't even think of staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmmqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my husband. On our arrival we were checked in very quickly and taken straight to our room. Our room was on the top floor and had a castle view which was stunning, If you have physical disabilities and would like a castle view room ask for room 5 as the lift only services the first two floors, our room required my poor huband to carry our bags up an additional flight of stairs and then a couple of steps (fine if your fit and able). The room itself was nicely furnished and the bed was very comfortable, a nice touch was the two muffins left on the bed for our arrival. However be careful as the contents of the mini bar are strategically placed around the room eg bottle of wine, nuts, jelly beans - none of this is complimentary and the mini bar for me was very expensive £1.75 for a tin of coke, the bottle of wine so loveingly left on the dresser was £18.00. The bathroom was a wet room which we loved, very clean, lovely shower and fresh clean towels left each day for our use. We used the hotel restaurant both nights and had fabulous meals each time, prices were fair. The only disappointing thing for me was the breakfast which was served in the bar, I felt the bacon and sausages lacked a quality taste, the potato scone was very dry and thin, these issues for me are a real surprise considering how good the restaurant up stairs was. The bar itself was excellent, a great spot for a drink before and after dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelchics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Thanks to trip advisor reviews I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my husband, not far from Waverley station (10 mins walk) stayed in a standard double room (No.2) was not dissapointed very chic, lovely ensuite , complimentary freshly made blueberry muffins and shortbread.

Location could not be better next to the castle, shops and bars.

We will be returning...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

i have just returned from a night in the rutland. what a treat!the receptionist walked us to our room which was a very personal touch. the room was absolutely beautiful with lots of space, luxurious decor, plasma tv etc and a lovely en suite. vogue, and gq magazines complementary.
delicious blueberry muffins complementary on our bed tied with a little bow- how lovely. really nice bathroom products too. the staff could not have been more helpful recommending restaurants and sorting out any queries we had (eg room service /airport taxis ) very quickly and efficiently. thanks to doug 'the night porter- nothing was any trouble :-) the breakfast was great. we got a continental breakfast to the room- great portion sizes. lovely freash fruit, cereal, toast juices- there was more available too but that was all i could fit in!
the hotel bar is a good spot too. mostly 20 and 30 somethings having drinks on a saturday night. we got a seat too which was nice- it wasnt too stuffed. lovely decor in the bar too, and drinks were served to 1am. there is a club in the basement open to 3am which we didnt go to but we saw the queue and it seemed to be geared towards the younger crowd.
although the hotel is situated right at the end of princess st in the centre of edinburgh near all shops and restaurants , it wasnt noisy and i wasnt aware of any crowds coming out of the club. i was fast asleep in the big beautiful bed!
definitely worth a look- probably better suited to couples or people travelling without kids

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,006 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1-3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $124 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 9 luxury serviced apartments. 5 are 2-bedroom and 4 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing