We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$165
Expedia.com
$183
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
$183
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,602)
Filter reviews
1,602 results
Traveler rating
1,184
331
64
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,184
331
64
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huxley bar jacuzzi bath castle view room ghd straighteners junior suite princess street bed apartment central location the ground floor eggs benedict princes st amazing hotel coffee machine perfect stay would highly recommend this hotel visiting edinburgh huntley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 1,602 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2019

We stayed here for 3 nights late July, early August to attend the Edinburgh Tattoo. The hotel is centrally located, and our room had a great view of the castle, and was well worth the extra cost over staying at a hotel further out. Our room was spacious, very clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly, and the only thing we found not to our liking was the weird chairs in our room, which were not exactly comfortable for sitting on.
Breakfast was a little disappointing, could do with improvement, the bar area is good, but by far it’s best feature is it’s position.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 8SamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Hi Sam,

Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel, we truly appreciate it.

Glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us, and next time please let us know which room you stayed in, so we can allocate you to one with chairs that are more suitable for yourself.

We are working hard to improve our customer service so I will pass along your comments to our breakfast team.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,

Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2019 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at The Rutland and I only have words of praise for them. We went to the Heads and Tails gin bar, The Huxley and Kyloe and the level of knowledge from the staff in all three venues is brilliant. They all know their stuff which makes a nice change. The room was large with a good bathroom, bath and shower. I thought the room may be noisy, however it wasn’t, despite being on Prince’s Street. Nothing was too much trouble for any staff member, they made our break thoroughly relaxing, thank you.

Date of stay: October 2019
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Hi David,

Thank you so much for your review.

I can safely say that every single one of our team members takes great pride in this lovely industry that is hospitality.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards,

Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2019

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights and we honestly have nothing but nice things to say about this hotel and their staff.
On arrival, we were delighted to hear that we had been upgraded from a standard double to a one bedroom apartment - and the apartment was absolutely stunning. The little touches were what made it even better, from the complimentary bottles of water and fresh milk (which were replenished daily) to Netflix on the televisions.
My boyfriend had called ahead to inform the hotel that it was our anniversary, and on entering our apartment we were welcomed by a lovely tray of chocolates.
We visited the Kyloe restaurant which was also absolutely fabulous, and to top it off as a hotel guest you receive 20% off the food bill. The hotel must have informed the restaurant it was our anniversary as we were surprised with a free dessert with ‘happy anniversary’ written on it!
However, the reason I feel so compelled to write a review is due to the fact that when we returned home today, I received and email from the hotel to tell me I had left my straighteners and curlers there and that they would post them to me free of charge. I really do think that just speaks volumes about the quality of service and how much they care about their guests, even after they’ve checked out.

Thank you so much for a gorgeous stay - your staff members Juan & Bruno are a credit to you.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank giannabinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Hello,

Wow, thank you so much for your kind review.

I am so thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us, and truly hope you come back to visit us soon.

I hope your missing items found their way back to you quickly and efficiently.

Hopefully see you soon!

Kindest regards,

Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2019 via mobile

Great location with a walk distance to everything !
Super breakfast, even for vegetarian !
Big rooms, quite and lovely decorate.
Lovely girls at reception named Sara, wonderful service!
Very recommended

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank hunter55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2019

Hi there,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review of our property!

I'll make sure to pass your lovely comments to all the staff, with a special mention to Sara.

Kindest regards,

Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2019 via mobile

Just stayed overnight in the Rutland. Huge room (No 4) with great view along Princess Street. Bathroom has lots of little extra toiletries which you don’t normally expect. Good breakfast in adjoining restaurant. Staff were very helpful and the whole stay was very reasonably priced for Edinburgh.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Isabel825
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Hi Isabel,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews