We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Will Be Back”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Will Be Back”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night the weekend before Christmas, we booked one of the two junior suites (room 6).
Was greeted by friendly staff and taken up to our room where a quick show around of appliances etc took place.
The room was beautiful, spacious and had everything you needed.
With a view of the castle and of Princes Street, however noise was no issue.
The room had a mini bar stocked up, GHD straighteners, hair dryer, bath robes and even candles in the bathroom.....ideal for a relaxing bath in the spa bath with music playing on the Bluetooth surround sound!!
We did not get breakfast included in the price we paid but we opted for the room service breakfast which was very reasonable prices and unlike most hotels a tray charge was not applied.
Upon check out they stored our bags for us in the luggage storage facilities till we left later in the day.
Beautiful boutique hotel, immaculately presented public areas and even nicer rooms.
Will be back!
Thank you

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharna88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello "Sharna88",

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback of your stay with us just before Christmas.

We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit with us and that you made the most of our facilities such as our nifty surround sound system, room service and complimentary luggage store!

It's little extras like these that we hope make your stay extra special. Many thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you both back in the New Year!

Kind Regards,

Suzy

Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    253
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
146
716
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenisland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Set just at the end of Princes Street it was ideally located for our short city break.

The staff were extremely welcoming and accommodating and genuinely seemed keen to help. Decor was quirky and the rooms were clean and quiet with very comfortable beds. Nice touches such as the muffins waiting for you on the bed and the variety of soaps in the toilet. The odd bit of rough finish here and there and like any hotel I'd suggest avoiding the minibar.

We had a delicious cooked breakfast in the Huxley bar which is tastefully decorated and nice for a drink later on. The Kyloe restaurant was also excellent, both in terms of style and quality.

The only downside is rating this hotel positively as we don't want anyone else to know about it! - we will certainly be back, loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hello Colin,

The staff here at The Rutland Hotel would like to thank you for such a kind review.

We're glad you had a wonderful stay with us and that you found the room comfortable and enjoyed the little things that come with it.

The Huxley bar and Kyloe restaurant are both fantastic places to dine and drink, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed them!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Sophie

Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was booked and had prepaid another hotel in Edinburgh but when I arrived the room was too depressing to stay in. I rang The Rutland. They offered me a lovely room at the same price as the dump and by the time I arrived 15 minutes later the receptionist had been up and checked the room temperature. I was warmly welcomed, advised about inexpensive on street parking, given change for the meter and generally uplifted my mood completely. The room was large, attractively furnished and had a view over the city but was quiet. The bathroom had a big shower and was clean and fresh. Suddenly from despair, all was right with the world. They suggested the bar downstairs as more casual as I was eating alone, and before long I was seated in a comfortable sofa with enough light to read my book by and a charming waitress. A really good stay. Only caveat; the wifi was a bit hit and miss, but they promised to check it out and fix it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronicac332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Hello "veronicac332",

Thank you for such a warm and wonderful review!

We are very happy to hear that we managed to help in your time of despair. Our staff take great pride in going the extra mile to make sure our guests feel welcome and if you are having a difficult time, we are only too happy to help find a solution to that problem!

We too enjoy The Huxley's calming and casual atmosphere, not to mention the food!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Suzy

Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here in two separate, but large rooms with our girls aged 14 and 10. The service from start to finishes was excellent. We arrived early in the morning, before normal check-in so they stored our bags for us, as you would expect.

They asked us where we were going for the day, we told them, they asked us if we knew the directions and we said no, so they printed out instructions.

They called us when our room was ready, then personally escorted us to our rooms to show us how to use everything. The bed and shower were very good.

We were worried that being a city location, that it might be a little noisy, but we did not hear the traffic or the rugby crowds walking past.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrthom1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello "mrthom1316",

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip! It's great to know that you were all well looked after on your visit too!

We hope to see you again next time.

Kind Regards,

Suzy
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here over a weekend and was a bit concerned initially about the possible street noise - this is the centre of Edinburgh and possibly the busiest road junction in the whole city! - but no problem, nary a whisper of traffic noise inside.

The staff on reception were very cheerful, welcoming and helpful, even late at night. Reception is on the ground floor and all the bedrooms are on the 2nd / 3rd floors with a lift to the 2nd available. From there it’s a flight of stairs to the 3rd.

Interesting architecture: the old building must have been a tenement or a very strange house at some point so lots of corridors and stairs. Quirky interior design too so you get lots of ‘fashionable’ LED lighting, pop art and furniture painted a strange colour in the corridors but push past that and the hotel is modern, very comfortable (good bed and pillows!) and clean and the facilities are good. We had a walk-in shower cubicle but others in our group had the shower over the bath arrangement so both are available – worth noting if climbing over the edge of the bath is a problem!

Breakfast was in the bar / restaurant on the ground floor with a reasonable range on the menu. Table service rather than buffet. The food was okay and the service was good if not fast. A restaurant is available on the 1st floor; we didn’t get the chance to try it.

All in all, not bad. We chose the place for the location: smack in the centre and on the edge of some of the most expensive shopping in the UK. It is certainly conveniently located and, while pricey, is still cheaper than the big, grand Edinburgh hotels located nearby.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem specify the 2nd floor and a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank How-did-I-get-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRutlandReception, receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hello "How-did-I get-here"!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

You are spot on in thinking that our hotel was previously "a very strange house" as it was once the home of renowned surgeon Joseph Lister in the late 19th Century.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I can't recommend enough that you try Kyloe, our gourmet steak restaurant, on your next trip to Edinburgh!

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Suzy
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I had booked one night in the Rutland on a recent trip to Edinburgh. When we arrived at reception to check in we were told that there was a problem with our room which they were doing some maintenance on. My heart sank as I thought this was not a good start. However from there on things only got better as they had upgraded us to the apartment. It was not quite ready (we were a little early) so the receptionist offered to take us through to the Huxley Bar for a complimentary tea/coffee. The apartment is not actually in the hotel, but a basement flat further along the street. It has two bedrooms - the main bedroom is quite spacious, very modern with red & silver wallpaper and red bed accessories, and a TV. The second bedroom is smaller and decorated in a blue colour. The bathroom has a free standing bath and a separate open shower, with underfloor heating - very cosy. There were plenty of towels and bathroom toiletries from Arran Aromatics. One note of caution - be careful when washing in the sink not hit your head on the shelf which is above it. There is also an open plan sitting room/kitchen area with a breakfast bar, where there is a large sofa, chair, and TV. French doors lead out on to a secluded garden area which would be nice in the summer. There are complimentary muffins and bottled water and tea and coffee (nespresso capsules).The hotel, and apartment is very centrally located at the bottom of Lothian and the end of Princes Street but despite its central location we found it very quiet and heard no noise during the night.
Just one or two minor things - the noise from the bathroom pipes is quite loud when you are sitting in the living area, and it would be better to have an electric kettle which would boil water much quicker than putting a kettle on the hob. But these are minor points in what was a very enjoyable stay. Our only disappointment was that we were only staying for one night so could not really make full use of the facilities in the apartment.
All the staff that we encountered at Reception and in the bar were excellent, very polite and helpful.
Would definitely recommend it and would book the Rutland again if staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hello Patricia!

Thank you for such a lovely review! We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed you stay with us and welcome your constructive comments just as much.

The Apartment truly is a gem in the heart of Edinburgh's West End but somehow without the noise that tends to go with it.

We too, hope that next time we welcome you back for a longer stay!

Kind Regards,

Suzy
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The rooms are big and friendly. It is a small unassuming hotel with staff that are very welcoming. If you are free for dinner you could do much worse than eat in where the food is of a great standard.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank APW2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello!

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Our staff very much enjoy trying their best to make sure each and every one of our guests feels welcome during their stay. Kyloe, our gourmet steak restaurant, gets rave reviews every time, so we are glad to hear that you enjoyed it too. We hope to see you again next time!

Kind regards

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,834 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,122 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,358 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing