We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #8 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great central location in Edinburgh; next to the castle, park and Princes Street and yet despite the central location it was nice and quiet inside. I received a very warm welcome from friendly reception staff who thought of everything to make the stay comfortable.
I stayed on the top floor which I prefer, however if you have any difficulties with stairs you should request a room with access by the lift (which does not go up to the top floor).
My room was absolutely lovely. It was comfortable and clean; very nicely and uniquely decorated with a nice bathroom with a huge shower. Fresh milk was provided in the fridge and a lovely little cake was set out on the table.
I ate with friends in the restaurant which does great steaks and gives guests 20% discount off the bill.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel prior to booking; they are very helpful and will take into account your preferenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mutley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your lovely review - I'm glad to hear you had a great time with us!

All our rooms are a little different and we love ensuring that our guests get the room that suits them best!

We are situated inside a beautiful historic listed building; this does mean that we cannot run the lift up to the top floor and therefore there is a short flight of stairs up to some of the rooms. We always ensure that guests are aware of this and have at least one of each style of room on the lower level so that any guest who might have difficulty with the stairs can still enjoy all that we have to offer!

I hope that you had a safe trip home and we would love to welcome you back next time you visit Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    233
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
122
671
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrabool
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Rutland Hotel. The room was very large and light filled. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Each day when we arrived back they asked how our day had been. There are umbrellas to borrow, and best of all, a taxi rank right at the front door. The location is central.and convenient. The only slight criticism is that in the room we were staying in, the accessibility room, the basin was extremely small, which prevented us doing any washing of clothes. However, apparently, this is the only room with a basin of this size (room 1). This is very important when travelling with limited clothing for a few weeks. I would highly recommend this hotel. I did not find putting the internet code into the computer a problem at all.

Room Tip: Some rooms have castle views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello Linda,

I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh!

We are lucky to have the taxi rank right outside as it makes getting around so easy for our guests - and we are in great walking distance of many of the main attractions too. We do need to keep a stock of umbrellas as the weather in Scotland can be so unpredictable.

I'm sorry to hear that you had a challenge getting some laundry done - we are always keen to solve any issue and we would certainly have organised a same day laundry service for you!

I hope that you had a safe trip home and we would love to welcome you back again one day.

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a wonderful find hidden in the middle of Edinburgh's city centre.

From the street you might not know it was there. Tucked under the shadow of the Caledonian is this delightful little secret with wonderful castle views.

As other reviews mention, the staff really make this place something special. From the moment the lovely Abbi checked us in until the moment she checked us out, nothing was too much trouble for her and we always felt welcome. We received exactly the same treatment in their steak restaurant and over breakfast in the attached bar.

The hotel is a wonderful eclectic mix of personable staff, amazing steak, a casual bar and decadent decor all tucked away in the very centre.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stully55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for such a lovely review!

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Friendly staff, nice rooms and views. Very comfortable and will definitely be staying here again. It is a very convenient location for where we like to go. Recommend. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigwulliehendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for such a great review! It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have the luxury of being right in the West End of Edinburgh with beautiful castle views and within walking distance of lots of restaurants, bars and attractions.

Our staff always work hard to make sure our guests get the very most out of their stay with us and its something we enjoy too!

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Kind Regards,

Suzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel right at the foot of the castle, very central and ideal for shopping. We paid £180 for 1 night which was a bit expensive as the breakfast wasnt too good and the room was ok, we paid for a castle view which we never got but wont stop me from returning very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parks1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I’m new to this reviewing malarkey so might not get the etiquette right but the sentiment is relevant. I recently had the most fantastic stay at The Rutland Hotel in Edinburgh City Centre. Amazing views of Edinburgh Castle. From the moment I arrived, nothing was too much trouble from the staff, they quite literally attended to my every need. Our room was lovely- called a standard double but rather deluxe to my delight. We had planned to explore the city to find a suitable spot to eat but with the 20% discount off food in their restaurants, we opted to dine in. Kyloe – the restaurant - was amazing. It deserves a 5* review of its own. A tremendous steak board to choose from screaming quality and care. The downstairs bar (Hucksley) was a real gem with a good vibe – the only negative was the eclectic music choicebut hey, a small niggle!

Only niggle with it all was the roadworks directly outside caused by the tram works going on around princes street (and by the sounds of it most of the city) but hey ho, guess that won't be there by the time of our next visit.

What struck us most of all and what is our lasting memory of The Rutland Hotel in Edinburgh is the of the level of service from all departments. The staff all seem to really enjoy being there and doing their best to offer first class customer service. You can’t help but leave smiling and keen to arrange a repeat visit.

Room Tip: get one with a castle view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi Allan,

Thank you for such a lovely review!

We really are very proud of our establishment and our city and just love sharing it all with our guests and patrons. It's so rewarding to hear that you had a fantastic time with us!

I have shared your comments with the rest of the team and they are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the whole experience. Our restaurant, Kyloe is really something special and our chefs never tire of hearing how much everyone loved their food!

The tram works in Edinburgh have almost become a tourist attraction in their own right - they unfortunately have affected large parts of the city centre for a few years now. We are all hopeful that they won't be around too much longer! Luckily all of our rooms are very well sound-proofed against any noise created by the workmen.

We would love to have you back anytime! (I promise there will be no eclectic music in the bar next time!)

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here last week to celebrate a birthday and we had a simply wonderful time.

We were shown to our room by a cheerful receptionist named Abi. The lift is as noted quite small, but comfortable for two. Abi put us in at the bottom, pressed the button for us and was already awaiting us at the top when we arrived. How she made it up two flights of stairs so fast in those heels we are still wondering!

The complimentary prosecco and happy birthday was delightful and the fresh muffins a lovely touch. There are also fun quirks like a Bluetooth surround system and my wife was thrilled with the ghds. The minibar was also stocked with interestingly different goodies to the usual fare, pretzels, popcorn and even 'pigs nose whiskey'!

The style is fun and the old building full of character. Our room was big and spacious and the shower was huge!

The staff really make this place special. All of the receptionists (sadly we didn't get all of their names!) greeted us cheerfully whenever we passed and always had time to give hints on where to go and what to see - their 'local' knowledge was invaluable and without it we'd have missed out some gems! Abi has a great knowledge of local history too, better than many of the guides we encountered!!

The hotel is very central to everything with a taxi rank and several bus stops, including the airlink bus on the doorstep.

We really had a wonderful time! Very refreshing and personable change to the usual 'chain' hotels!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ttreble67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutlandReception, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for such a lovely review! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday weekend with us!

Edinburgh is a hotbed of hidden gems in the form of eateries and bars and we love to share our favourite places with our guests!

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back one day!

Kind regards,

Abi
The Rutland Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing