We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the business traveler”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed at the Rutland Hotel a couple of nights on a business trip. It was a mistake. The positives: small hotel of 12 rooms, well located in the centre of Edinburgh. Quiet. Good bed and originally decorated rooms. Kind staff. The negatives: Staff's good will does not replace plain professionalism; light humidity smell in room #4; windows do not open (and the worst is being told that it is for my security, come on, you're not Hilton so avoid those ridiculous remarks); no full breakfast before 8am, that is just incredible. They offered an in-room alternative at 7am but coffee was served 15 minutes after the toasts. I have seen (smelly) breakfast food trays in the corridors at 10pm, 12 or 14 hours after being eaten: nobody would think of removing them. Free WiFi is good but why do I need to re-login every 20 minutes on each device with an awfully complex password? Conclusion: I might stay again but only on a leisure, not a business trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voyageur3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray w, General Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Mr Mathilde

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Rutland. I would like to address some of the concerns you have noted.

The windows throughout the 4 floors of our property do not open beacause we are a Grade A listed building & in as such are prevented by Scottish Heritage law from making any changes, ie fitting modern glazed windows - therefore, in the interests of preserving the original features of such a building all windows are (unfortunately) sealed shut.

As you have observed, we are a small 12 bedroom boutique hotel & therefore have very little demand for breakfast in public areas prior to 8am - the in-room options however are substantial & of superb quality; please do accept my apology for the delay in coffeed being delivered to your room.

Our free broadband WIFI is password protected to ensure best possible speeds for our patrons at all times (said passwords automatically log users off after 24 hours to prevent congestion within the connection) - having checked the WIFI connection myself I cannot replicate the issue you describe - perhaps this could be attributable to your own device?

Thank you for bringing to my attention the issue regarding used room service trays not being collected - we will ensure this is an oversight that is not repeated.

Many thanks again for your comments.

Murray Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

I like this centrally located, small hotel. The people that work there are over-the-top friendly. The rooms are comfortable and I like being on Princess Street. In the past I've stayed on the Royal Mile or out of the city. I think this is my favourite area to stay. There is a taxi rank right outside the door and if you want upscale dining the restaurants at the Waldorf Hotel are just across the street.

My only complaint about the hotel and it's a very small one, is that typically in a boutique hotel the staff is well versed in recommending restaurants that would appeal to people that stay at that kind of hotel. Not so much here. When we asked about a breakfast suggestion, the very sweet young lady suggested BHS (the department store). We had a similar experience with dinner. So my only suggestion is if you stay here and if food is important to you, have a plan.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I were booked into Tigerlily, but when the lift broke down, they kindly arranged a wheelchair accessible suite for us in the The Rutland Hotel. Central location - ideal for touring Edinburgh town centre. The staff were helpful and our bedroom suite was enormous. The only downsides were:
1 The lift wasn't very big and I had to dismantle the footrests from my powerchair to fit into it.
2 The noise from the roadworks (laying the tramlines) outside at 8.00am. This is fine if you are an early riser (which we normally are) but wanting a rare lie in, it spoiled our relax.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaB709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This review is submitted by George the tortoise age 7yrs.
Last weekend my daddy took me to Edinburgh on my way to meet my new mummy who was going to look after me following my 'accident'. I say 'accident' but we all know what really happened, Mildred viciously and deliberately bit me in an unprovoked(ish) attack. Anyway Daddy says that we now have to live separately so that I can recover in peace (and plot my revenge on Mildred).

We stayed at the Rutland where we received a very excited welcome from the lovely people at reception. The nice young lady at reception also printed an email for me which was very kind and she also offered me a free copy of The Scotsman which would have come in very handy if I'd had an accident in the room (which I didn't by the way).

We were allocated room number 1 which was huge and I don't think that I even managed to walk all the way round it. I had to stop and have a nap behind the bin at one point before moving on to the bathroom which again was massive and fortunately had a wet room area so no steps or baths for me to navigate. The room was so big I could have happily lived there for the rest of my life, but they would need to stock the minibar area with dandelions and rocket salad leaves otherwise I would end up as fat as daddy.

The room was beautifully furnished and the wall mounted flat screen TV was bigger that my entire tortoise house back home. Some lovely home made muffins were placed on the bed upon our arrival but then they seemed to vanish. I think that Daddy ate them whilst i was trying to explore under the bed. Daddy also ate some of the pretzels from the minibar area so they can't have been that expensive otherwise he wouldn't have eaten them. The whole hotel was clean and well maintained and all the staff were friendly and excited to see me.

I would love to stay here again some time, maybe on my way back to London one day. Did you get that Mildred? and PS I've been working out!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mjellis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at The Rutland (a competition win with my work - how lucky was I?!?). From stepping foot through the door to Reception to checking out on the Sunday morning, nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff. Lovely Isobel on Reception, to the staff at the Kyloe Restaurant (amazing food) and a lovely breakfast in the Huxley Bar the following morning, everything was just perfect. Whilst dining in the Kyloe Restaurant however, we did experience a power cut (due to the tram works outside) so we didn't manage to have our sweet (probably a good thing given the amount of food we had already consumed!) but this was dealt with very efficiently with the bill discounted as a token gesture and by no means could the Hotel/Restaurant be faulted for this. A truly wonderful hotel in a wonderful location, just perfect for shopping and the many wonderful bars of Edinburgh. Hoping to return again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Rutland in the last week of February and, as a hotel, we cannot fault it. The staff were friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble (including printing our boarding passes for us, looking after our bags after check-out etc etc.). We received a complimentary upgrade on our room (room 5), which was comfortable, stylish and with all the amenities required (if I was going to be very picky, the only thing it lacked was somewhere to put the tea and coffee making tray). The location was brilliant - central, but not too noisy. With the tram work going on, we did have workmen outside the building from 8am every morning, but this did not pose us a problem. I would thoroughly recommend the Rutland Hotel, and hope we have the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked this hotel as a birthday treat and also to watch Wales v Scotland at Murrayfield. Turned up a bit early and this wasn't a problem as our room was ready. Extremely helpful and charming receptionist. Our room (11) was on the top floor with views of the castle. It was large and comfortable with a huge bed. We could walk to the stadium although with all the barriers up due to the work on the tram lines we ended up walking more than normal. Great atmosphere in Edinburgh with no trouble between the fans, In fact quite the opposite even later in the evening with the bar at the hotel being a favourite spot post the match. It was a freezing weekend and when we got back we felt the room was cold especially the bathroom. We asked for some extra heating and this was brought up to our room immediately. My only other complaint was that there wasn't a bedside light on my side which is very strange. Again I asked for one and it was supplied. We had dinner at the hotel which was very good and breakfast was in the bar and that was also excellent. A good stay overall especially as Wales won!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mallech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,048 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,953 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1-3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $153 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 9 luxury serviced apartments. 5 are 2-bedroom and 4 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing