We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome in the wasteland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #8 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Welcome in the wasteland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Rutland sits on the corner of Lothian Road and the West End of Princes Street in Edinburgh, a few years ago this was a beautiful spot but today it is blighted by the misgotten tram project. The lack of traffic does make it remarkably quiet, except in the bar which is too noisy for old farts like me, "up for the rugby" and we won at last.

I was brought up in Edinburgh and remember the Rutland as the poor neighbour to the Caledonian next door. Having stayed in both over the past year I have to say the Rutland is a better bet and value for money.

The location is effectively the same with instant access to central Edinburgh but the welcome is warmer, the rooms as comfortable and a shower to die for.

The breakfast was well prepared but odd sitting in the bar to eat it. My only downside was being deafened in the bar and going next dooe to the Caledonian for a quiet beer.

Walking distance to Rose Street means bars and restaurant selection is enormous and up to the highest standard anywhere in the World. With the Castle as the backdrop to the hotel where could be better for a break or business.

Room Tip: I believe they are all pretty good but ask to look over Rutland Place away from the roadworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbiejo4866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    233
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
122
671
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Lovely hotel, huge room No. 12 (upgrade), have stayed in 4* hotel rooms half the size. The only complaint I have is the window was tiny. Receptionist very sweet and showed us other rooms with larger windows but we decided to stay in No. 12 as such a gorgeous room.

Breakfast in the Huxley, beautiful restaurant - but breakfast at La Pattiserie Valerie on Rose Street better and cheaper.

Thanks for a lovely 40th birthday weekend Rutland - I'm missing the super kingsize bed and jacuzzi bath!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelastockings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

A one night stay in the Rutland Hotel. Can they impress us in such a short space of time? Definately.

From the warm welcome by the lovely, softly spoken Irish receptionist, the free upgraded room to the mammoth room 6, the wonderful Kyloe restaurant and the friendly and welcoming Huxley for breakfast. Checking out was a delight too with another superb member of staff. I hope everything goes well with the impending birth. Everything was perfect.

The room was wonderful, clean and comfortable. The staff at all points excellent and so friendly. We actually bumped into the person who served us in the restaurant the day following dining and he remembered us and what we chatted about. The staff in the Huxley welcomed us back like old friends when we revisited later on the day we had had breakfast and couldnt have been nicer.

What more to say - not a lot apart from PERFECTION!

I will revisit definately as will I recomment to others. Cannot fault it at all.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and take a Junior Suite at least. You wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teaboyseej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Executive room was good size with comfortable bed and good storage but lacked any real seating options other than on bed itself. Bath controls took a little working out and central pressure plug tended to open if you tried to lounge in bath - slate flooring also rather cold on feet: slippers would have been a nice addition to the bathrobe. The bar/cafe was excellent - great food and service at reasonable prices and a reasonable area to relax in but as also open to public didn't really feel part of hotel. Reception area was OK - again not really a lounge area. Staff here also very friendly and helpful even if they were unable to fix lack of wifi signal in bedroom. This is not a particularly cheap hotel - understandable given excellent location - but I expected a bit more for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OurTimeNow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was looking for somewhere out of the ordinary to stay to celebrate my wife's birthday. While we do not usually go for the boutique type hotel we really enjoyed our stay at the Rutland.We were not in any way disappointed by our room which was quirky , fun and a high standard. We found the staff very helpful and enthusiastic. For a short break the location of the hotel is a real bonus with everything within a stones throw.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend, upon arrival we received a warm and friendly greeting in reception. The reception area was clean and smart but once you entered the lift area the carpet was fairly dirty and worn between the ground and first floor. The second floor however, was much better and very 'boutique' in style. Our room was good with a great few of the castle, a good size bathroom with a good shower. However the room was quite dusty, on the shelves in the wardrobe, and the skirting boards. The wardrobe door was also broken, nothing major but I noticed, we could have used more coat hangers and upon arrival the heating was set at 28c with was too warm.
Breakfast was very nice but should really be included in the price.
Overall we had a pleasant stay, in a great location, but it was quite expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEBf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Not at all sure how this hotel managed to get this high ranking on my one experience last month. Very dated
and often poor taste modern decoration.Gold and black as a colour combo for a room maybe your thing but it's not mine.bulbs missing and underheated throughout in room and common areas.
Staff were good and friendly on a positive note.
yours
the perfectionist....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kinddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing