We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot be faulted”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #8 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cannot be faulted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

A one night stay in the Rutland Hotel. Can they impress us in such a short space of time? Definately.

From the warm welcome by the lovely, softly spoken Irish receptionist, the free upgraded room to the mammoth room 6, the wonderful Kyloe restaurant and the friendly and welcoming Huxley for breakfast. Checking out was a delight too with another superb member of staff. I hope everything goes well with the impending birth. Everything was perfect.

The room was wonderful, clean and comfortable. The staff at all points excellent and so friendly. We actually bumped into the person who served us in the restaurant the day following dining and he remembered us and what we chatted about. The staff in the Huxley welcomed us back like old friends when we revisited later on the day we had had breakfast and couldnt have been nicer.

What more to say - not a lot apart from PERFECTION!

I will revisit definately as will I recomment to others. Cannot fault it at all.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and take a Junior Suite at least. You wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teaboyseej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    238
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
126
681
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Executive room was good size with comfortable bed and good storage but lacked any real seating options other than on bed itself. Bath controls took a little working out and central pressure plug tended to open if you tried to lounge in bath - slate flooring also rather cold on feet: slippers would have been a nice addition to the bathrobe. The bar/cafe was excellent - great food and service at reasonable prices and a reasonable area to relax in but as also open to public didn't really feel part of hotel. Reception area was OK - again not really a lounge area. Staff here also very friendly and helpful even if they were unable to fix lack of wifi signal in bedroom. This is not a particularly cheap hotel - understandable given excellent location - but I expected a bit more for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OurTimeNow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was looking for somewhere out of the ordinary to stay to celebrate my wife's birthday. While we do not usually go for the boutique type hotel we really enjoyed our stay at the Rutland.We were not in any way disappointed by our room which was quirky , fun and a high standard. We found the staff very helpful and enthusiastic. For a short break the location of the hotel is a real bonus with everything within a stones throw.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend, upon arrival we received a warm and friendly greeting in reception. The reception area was clean and smart but once you entered the lift area the carpet was fairly dirty and worn between the ground and first floor. The second floor however, was much better and very 'boutique' in style. Our room was good with a great few of the castle, a good size bathroom with a good shower. However the room was quite dusty, on the shelves in the wardrobe, and the skirting boards. The wardrobe door was also broken, nothing major but I noticed, we could have used more coat hangers and upon arrival the heating was set at 28c with was too warm.
Breakfast was very nice but should really be included in the price.
Overall we had a pleasant stay, in a great location, but it was quite expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEBf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Not at all sure how this hotel managed to get this high ranking on my one experience last month. Very dated
and often poor taste modern decoration.Gold and black as a colour combo for a room maybe your thing but it's not mine.bulbs missing and underheated throughout in room and common areas.
Staff were good and friendly on a positive note.
yours
the perfectionist....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kinddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have to admit than when we first entered this property and saw the ornate silver furniture in reception, I wasn't sure this place was for me, but as soon as you are greeted by the wonderfully friendly reception team you can't help but warm towards it. We had room 11 on the 3rd floor with a castle view, and again, really wasn't sure about the ornate decor, but it definitely grows on you! Whoever designed the rooms here obviously has flair and imagination. The bathroom was lovely and very clean with a walk in shower. The Hotel is in a great location with lots of bars and restaurants nearby. The service here is outstanding. The staff couldn't be improved on, they're so helpful. Only a couple of niggles really - not enough coat hangars and didn't like not being able to open the windows. Will definitely stay here again although would probably have expected breakfast to be included at the price we paid. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy-Painter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel was beyond excellent. I stayed there for part of my honeymoon and it was so perfect. The staff was soo friendly and helpful. We checked in early and they took care of our luggage and even had a bottle of Champagne in our room.
The room was lovely, clean and the decor was really neat and hip.
The location is great, you can walk to all the sites and great restaraunts near by including the one at the hotel! The bar has superb drinks ;)
Stay at this hotel if you want great service, location and a beautiful room!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oomwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing