We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
242 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel's apartment just down the road from the hotel. It is very tastefully decorated and with excellent equipment - TVs, WLAN etc. The main attraction, however, is the friendly and helpful service provided by the staff both in the hotel and the steak restaurant where we had a very good meal.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better for getting around Edinburgh.

All in all a very well run hotel.


  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeitchB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    249
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
138
698
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hongkong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The location is perfect as end of Prince's Street and great view of castle.

The rooms are very large and good quality trendy decor. However it some places is beginning to look a been worn eg wallpaper coming off and paint chipped.
Rooms are cosy with underfloor heating. However beds are quite soft where I prefer harder. We had junior suite with jacuzzi bath and worth the extra money to get space and view of castle.
Staff were very helpful. There was an 8 hour powercut and they were very responsive and professional.
Steak was one of of the best my husband has ever had - restaurant is expensive but worth it.
This hotel is well deserving of awards it gets !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggeryboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stopped off in Edinburgh for a brief overnigt stay, follow some meetings in Aberdeen. Lovely accommodation just a pity I arrived too late to enjoy more time there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We went and stayed in the apratment, which couldnt be nicer, big rooms, comfy beds, the bathroom was amazing, with underfloor heating being anice touch (especially in January). We then went to the Kyloe steak restraunt within the hotel, our waitress, Rachel, was informative with regards to the cuts of meat, where they were from and how best to have them cooked. She was friendly and attentive, and made teh experiance even more pleasant, the food was amazing, I would happily return to both the hotel and the restraunt. The staff were all friendly from start to finish, and made our stay a pleasure.

Room Tip: The apartment is well decorated, with a garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enandy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Service good- staff know the menu and are happy to recommend
Drinks (and range of drinks) were good
Food was overpriced - lots of options in Edinburgh and the food was ok but pricey for quantity/quality

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinyHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Firstly, I'd have to say that this really is an excellent hotel that i would recommend to anyone?
The decor is very pleasing on the eye, and the rooms really are well equipped (as you'd expect really).
Staff are very friendly and accommodating, from reception to the barmen serving cocktails right through to the staff in the restaurant - its now a steakhouse and the server Rachel had an extensive knowledge of the menu and what was best, even down to the level of cooking for my t-bone!
Complaints/drawbacks: I am in a wheelchair and cannot stand nor weight bear at all, and we were informed that the hotel was fully accessible. The best entrance to use brings you into the bar area and still has a 10" step that had i been alone i wouldnt have been able to negotiate.
We stayed in room 1 which was a very nice room with more than enough space for my chair, and the bathroom seemed to be very well set out at first glance; it was a full wetroom setup.
the shower seat was a very funky plastic number but it wasnt too great to sit on - but maybe i'm just too wide lol! the actual issue was the grab handle - there was one on one side instead of 2, and it was very awkward a space to manouvre in?

apart from that, good food, lovely hotel, great staff, had a very enjoyable weekend and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we were in room 1 and didnt have a castle view, but it was so spacious and a lovely place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very helpful staff and comfortable room. Maintenance issues with doors and door handles but the staff dealt with those well. Trendy decor not to everyones taste though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itinerants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
966 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing