We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Ardenlee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardenlee Guest House
Ranked #297 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2007

We stayed at the Ardenlee for a total of 4 nights this July. We found the Ardenlee to be clean, quiet and charming. Our first room was up one steep flight of stairs and was a charming room with a comfortable double bed, a nice garden view and a small but sufficient bathroom. When we returned the next week, we were in a large, spacious room on the top floor. We found the breakfast room bright and the breakfast selection was varied and generous. Our hostess Tracey was very friendly and helpful. She gave us great advice on places to eat, where to do laundry, how to use the bus and went out of her way to accomodate us during our visit. If climbing stairs is an issue for you or if you will be upset about having a short walk or bus ride into the old town, then the Ardenlee may not be for you. However, we would definitely recommend staying at this lovely guest house.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readytogo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 159 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2007

Location 10-15 mins walk up to Princes Street in New Town.
Quiet location, Georgian 3 storey property.
Steep steps to 2nd floor.
Room was clean & warm with own shower/toilet. Decor & furniture faded but adequate.
Very efficient , basic breakfast (no porridge or oatcakes!)
Staff were polite and helpful.
Room Cost UK£60
Pubs & restaraunts nearby. Had a great meal in the Mussel Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2007

I stayed for about 6 nights last August. Note that the owners run two guest houses just a couple of doors down from each other. I was in a single, and there were 2 types for the same price: an interior en-suite room (no window) and a room with a nice window that shared a bathroom. I actually stayed in both, but preferred the one with the window. The shared bathroom was clean. The room, while small, was comfortable and had a sink and TV. The breakfast room and other parts of the house were nice and clean. From Princes Street, it is a pleasant 15-minute walk downhill. I would suggest taking a bus in the morning from the corner uphill to Princes Street (and walking back downhill in the evening). There is a market a block away on the other side of Dundas Street, to get drinks and snacks. The price was very reasonable and overall, I enjoyed my stay very much and would recommend it to friends.


Stayed: August 2006
Thank Mebaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

We stayed at the Arden Lee for two night this summer on our way through Edinburgh. There is nothing flash about it, but it is a nicely run guest house. It's a 10 minute walk from the main shopping area, but right on a busy bus route if you have bags or are tired. We found the walk a nice relaxing way to see the neighbourhood each day. The room was quite and clean, and although the furniture was not new, it was all comfortable. The breakfast was fast and the staff was friendly. I'd recommend this guest house for anyone looking for budget accommodation

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2006

Stayed here after checking out of another Guest House that my partner and I were dissatisfied with, so we were stressed when we arrived because it had all been very last-minute.

However, the lady who greeted us when we arrived was very friendly and chatty which cheered us up immediately. We were also given a fabulous room (ask for room number 9 when you book!!) which was spacious, clean, well equipped and very comfortable.

Breakfasts were served at good times (a bit later at weekends to allow for a lie-in!) and there was a good range of food available, with plenty for vegetarians. You could have as much or as little as you wanted.

A brilliant Guest House with a good location, but be aware that the steep hill you have to walk up to get to Princes Street is not for the faint hearted!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank carriemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2006

Stayed here for 3 nights last week. It was our first experience of a guest house so we weren't too sure what we'd find. The Ardenlee is located 15 minutes walk from the city centre (Princes St.). Just beware that it's a walk up a slope - I wouldn't call it a hill - from the guest house to the city centre. We simply took the bus from round the corner up to Princes St & took the walk downhill back home each night.

The big bonus you get from that 15 minute walk is the peace & tranquility at night. You would never guess you were located in a city! Our en-suite bedroom was spotless and tidied every day. Tea/coffee making facilities came in very handy. Breakfast was good too (decent choice of cereals, juices & cooked breakfasts) & set you up for the day. All the staff were very helpful & friendly. Would have no hesitation in using this as our base whenever we go to Edinburgh again.......would go tomorrow if I could!

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank JohnC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2006

I can't say how pleased we were with this guest house. Tracey was a marvelous hostess and helped us out with bus lines, tours, etc. We had a very nice room ensuite and it was quite spacious..my husband tends to need a bit of space..and this worked out great for us. It is so quick to hop a bus and be right down on Princes St., Rose St., etc. There are food stores, cleaners, internet, meals just right round the corner. The breakfasts were wonderful. Again, we found Tracey to be such a great hostess and enjoyed her company very much. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lyorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Inverleith Hotel
Inverleith Hotel
#113 of 393 in Edinburgh
355 reviews
Ailsa Guest House
#176 of 393 in Edinburgh
50 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 393 in Edinburgh
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraoch House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
773 reviews
Eyre Guest House
#303 of 393 in Edinburgh
80 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#71 of 393 in Edinburgh
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardenlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardenlee Guest House

Address: 9 Eyre Place, Edinburgh EH3 5ES, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $65 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardenlee Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ardenlee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardenlee Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardenlee Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing