We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it appears”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regent House Hotel
Ranked #131 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
england
1 review
“Not what it appears”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

Dont be fooled by the pictures or the description. Didnt get much sleep thanks to the night club somewhere to the rear which was very noisy, people shouting until after 5.00 in the morning. Rooms spacious but full of odd furniture , chest of drawers which didnt shut properly, bed broken,smelled slightly of smoke, no remote for T.V. Bathroom so small you could brush teeth whilst sitting on loo.Power shower and bathroom was spotless. some of the towels although changed daily were full of holes or falling apart. Breakfast served only between 8 &9. If you werent one of the first down you risked not getting very much. No porridge or waffles although it advertises them, all they offer is eggs, nothing else cooked. the rest of the breakfast is shop bought, tinned fruit, packet pancakes. plastic wrapped cheese. Instant cheap coffee.
No sitting room or any sign of the tea room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbymad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    82
    58
    37
    40
See reviews for
65
64
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

I don't recognise the awful place described in some earlier reviews - Regent House was clean and comfortable, and wonderfully close to the City Centre (although parking is inevitably a challenge). £60 per person per night in peak season isn't bad.

However, part of the treat of staying away is the breakfast and the e-mail confirming our booking stated that the 'price includes a full Scottish breakfast'... but by the time we arrived all that was on offer was a rather chewy Continental breakfast.

Reluctant to spoil our stay with a row we put up with this for the first two of our three mornings, de-camping to Browns on George Street on the final morning, before taking up the cudgels by e-mail.

My comment to the owner that the components of the Continental breakfast were not fresh was answered with a statement that everything is bought weekly and used within its sell-by date... I am sure this is true but it makes the point precisely!

Chewy bread, plastic-wrapped cheese portions, instant coffee... why not do a deal for breakfasts with the nice-looking café next door?

Overall: Bed excellent; Breakfast disappointing.

  • Liked — The location is very good for the City Centre
  • Disliked — The breakfast is frankly best avoided
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballastplough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

absoultley aweful! stay away, disguisting, dirty, old, shabby hotel! staff were totally unhelpful, far too expensive for what it is would not advise to anybody!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bek0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

The Regent House Hotel is situated very close to theatres and restaurants and not too far from Princes Street - although getting there means walking up quite a steep hill, which my 77-year-old mother didn't find too easy. (There's a handy bus stop half way up where you can sit and rest, though!)

Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The communal areas were recently-decorated and looked smart and inviting. Breakfast, although it was only served for one hour (between 8 and 9), was fine, but nothing to rave about.

We had booked two single rooms. Mine had a double bed in it - but the bed really filled the room. There was no chair and nowhere to put my suitcase or anything else. A small wardrobe to put clothes in and a couple of bedside cupboards (one whose door didn't stay shut) were provided. The en suite had a toilet, shower and basin. It was small, but cleaned every day and adequate for one person. (The shower seal needed attention, as it leaked.) The room was on the second floor, up a beautiful winding staircase (not entirely practical for people with young children, or those who find stairs tricky to manage).

My mother's room was on the first floor, which she managed quite well. It had a single bed and it did have a chair. There was also a massive bathroom - but the toilet was a little wobbly and the glass shelf over the basin fell down in the middle of one night, for no reason that we could see. There was no proper wardrobe - it was like a cupboard with a rail in it. It wasn't tall enough to hold a coat or dress, which was unfortunate. The television aerial was loose and we couldn't get all the 5 channels which I could get in my room.

We were there in the middle of winter and the very best thing aboput the hotel was how warm it was. The radiators have individual thermostats, so you can easily control the temperature in your room. Another good point was that the hotel was spotlessly clean.

  • Liked — Warmth and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Design of rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2007

This small hotel (B&B really) is only 5 minutes walk from princess street, Included in the price is a full scottish breakfast, which was fine.
It is priced very reasonably, the staff are very friendly, our rooms were cleaned every day.
I was in a family room at the very top of the hotel with my wife & son, there were 4 beds in the room, 3 were ok (not most comfortable but sufficient) 1 was getting a little worst for wear. We had a small en-suite bathroom & shower (sufficient & much better than sharing a communial). The room also has a tv (5 channels only) and coffee / Tea making facilities.

My wifes mother had a single room on the second floor, which was a reasonable size room & large single bed (could fit 2) the en-suite in this room was large featuring toilet & shower.

We spent most of our time in Edinburgh visiting the sights etc and during this time we all left expensive cameras, video cameras, money etc in the rooms & nothing went missing.

One thing that did give me slight concern was the lack of a barrier on the windows to prevent any falls, our room was at least 50 feet up and although it would be difficult for a child to open the sash & case type window, once open the sill is low and would be easy for someone to lean out too far.

Only other critisism is lack of parking :( there is no free parking. there are some spaces close by, but can be expensive & time limited.

We most likely will use this hotel again as Edinburgh is generally expensive to visit and this hotels price's & location make it hard to beat.

  • Liked — Price, Location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossco1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2006

Did not enjoy our stay at this vastly overpriced hotel. We had a triple, 3 twin beds(old lumpy nasty). Tiny bathroom - you could brush your teeth while sitting on the toilet. Never got any soap - requested many times.No where to put clothes - one small closet for 3 adults? Room was up 3 narrow, steep flights - great for dragging luggage. Breakfast was available for only 1 hour,early in AM, we were only able to use 2 of a possible 12 breakfasts.
Good location.
Great city - Edinburgh, and loved Scotland.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank pinebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights during the fringe festival so we just needed somewhere relatively cheap and central to stay. Our room was large but rather shabby and the shower/toilet was tiny. The communal areas were more recently decorated and the breakfast was fine. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#127 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#124 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Property: Regent House Hotel
Address: 3-5 Forth St, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing