We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well situated, but do not book room no. 5”
Review of Regent House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent House Hotel
Ranked #128 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“well situated, but do not book room no. 5”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is an easy walk from both the bus and railway station in Edinburgh, there are nice pubs and restaurants just around the corner. You won't get a full cooked breakfast, though, there's just the choice between a fried or scrambled egg. Our room was no. 5, tnhe only room downstairs from the lobby. The room is therefore quite dark. En-suite and tea-making facilities were okay. But next to our room were staff rooms. I don't know what work is done there, but it is loud! Much too loud! Around 10 to 11 p.m. and 6 or 7 a.m. it banged and clanged. Apparently the hotel ewas fully booked; maybe room no. 5 is used only then. But that kind of noise is quite intolerable, we thought.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    88
    61
    37
    40
See reviews for
70
64
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Regent House Hotel - Edinburgh

I booked 2 rooms here. One for myself and a shared double for my mother and my daughter. My room was small but clean. The TV worked, and there were tea making facilities that I did not use. The carpet was a bit thread bare. My room had a bath room and toilet. When I turned the shower on it ran cold so I left it running for a while. After about 3 minutes it started to warm up and got very hot. After a bit of adjustment it worked fine and I had a good shower. The room itself was quite small.
The bedding looked in good condition and clean. We were told to keep our keys as one of the keys opened the front door.
The room my mother and daughter got did not have a bathroom or toilet. They had to share a bathroom/toilet with 3 other rooms on the same floor. They found it difficult to operate this shared shower.

In the morning we all went for breakfast, which is cold buffet style, so it is cheese cold meats etc. We were asked if we wanted toast and they did not really bring enough for 3 people. I probably could have asked for more. The bowl of tinned fruit only had peaches or fruit salad. Grapefruit would have been nice. We were asked what type of eggs we wanted. I must admit that I thought we were going to get a proper Scottish breakfast but out came a single egg on a tea plate. We were a bit disappointed with that. I ended up eating 3 yogurts as there was not enough otherwise. I have since checked the website and it is accurate. I should have checked better before booking. I found the overall service satisfactory. Location is very good and probably the only reason anyone would use this hotel.

Summary
I booked a room without a bathroom and did not realise. I booked a hotel that did not provide a proper Scottish breakfast and did not realise. The room itself was ok. The breakfast was disappointing and a bit of a let down. I have used many hotels and never quite been offered a breakfast like this.

Room Tip: Shop around and go for breakfast somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very clean throughout hotel staff very polite and helpfull even booked our taxi vast range of breakfast more than adaquate room as i was a family of 2 adults and 3 kids was warm and well located and no noise from streets all in all was very happy with my stay.jacqueline nelson.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarvia, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for three nights. The hotel is clean and is quiet but If you have a question to do there is nobody in reception to help you, We wanted to ask a few question about our trip to the highlands and my surprise was when I realised that the same girls (really nice and kind) who serve breakfast have to clean the rooms being receptionist at the same time!!!Runing up and down all the morning...Manager no show at all, we only saw him once, to pay on arrival. He needs to improve his way to run the hotel and take care about the customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loraport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Conveniently located for tourism and shopping. Small room and bathroom, but that's pretty normal for that part of the world. No elevator, of course, and the stairs are really steep. Ok breakfast. Nice staff, but they're hard to find sometimes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The room is cosy with clean sheets. The only problem we had was the confusing staircase leading to our 4th floor which was also quite narrow for big luggagges. The Manager and his staff are very friendly. Breakfast is good and the location of the hotel is ideal as its just walking distance to the town center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaya_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I would give the place three stars, because it's not the cleanest place, but considering the location and price, it's acceptable. The problem is the level of disrepair. The lights are out in the stair well to the flat, and in the interior hallway of the flat. To make things worse, the carpet on the stairs has holes to catch shoes, and some of the steps are broken. Two (sober) people independently tripped in the stairs. One injuring her foot and requiring a visit to the hospital. The owner said it wasn't his fault, because it was somebody elses job to replace the light bulbs.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#145 of 149 in Edinburgh
535 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,168 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 149 in Edinburgh
514 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#110 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,035 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Property: Regent House Hotel
Address: 3-5 Forth Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing