We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzing atmosphere”
Review of The Cuckoo's Nest

The Cuckoo's Nest
Ranked #701 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Neighborhood: West End
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Buzzing atmosphere”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Have come here quite a few times on the way home from eating out dinner at the weekend for a few pints. Every time we come in we are met by friendly staff and a buzzing atmosphere. The music is often very loud making a one to one conversation slightly difficult but the kind of venue would not be the same without the music.
Downstairs can get very lively when people get up and dance.
Looking forwards to coming back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davedoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    34
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quaint, cozy pub with intimate coffee shop feel”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We loved the atmosphere of this small pub. Very well and tastefully decorated and a great neighbourhood meeting spot for cocktails with friends!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EDK113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pub in Edinburgh”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Best pub in Edinburgh, in my view! I'll confess I'm here all the time, but that's because of the quality of the place. Run by three friendly brothers, which gives it a really different atmosphere - they clearly care about the place. Food and music excellent, all staff friendly and helpful, and great decor! Can't recommend highly enough, particularly the Monday night pub quiz.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMikeyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fave bar in Edinburgh”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I'm tea-total, so it's easy for me to get bored in a drinking environment. This bar, however, has such a great atmosphere and the most perfect selection of music ever. It feels like a combination between a modern bar and a trad pub. Also opens til 3 am. Sweet spot to check out if you're in the 'burgh!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dr002jy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant Banter from the 3 Brothers”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This bar totally has it all...good tunes....amazing cocktails....brilliant chat.....AND a darts board....what more could you ask for???
Steak sundays HAVE tp be sampled...... Excellent!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larimarbluestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cuckoo's Nest also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Cuckoo's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing