We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your Girlfriend/Fiance/Wife here when they want coffee...”

Southern Cross Cafe
Ranked #6 of 134 Coffee & Tea in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: The Southern Cross Cafe is in the heart of the Old Town, on Cockburn St which links the old town with the new town.We are very proud of our coffee and our home made cakes. Our tasty food is simple and uncomplicated as we use only fresh Scottish sourced products.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Take your Girlfriend/Fiance/Wife here when they want coffee...”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

...because they also have beer on tap. Great atmosphere and almost everything we ordered was good. The only bad thing on the menu was the scone my fiance ordered. I can't stand scones anyway but my fiance really likes them and this one was crunchy and not that great.
To summarize....
Don't order a scone which you shouldn't anyway because even good scones are not very good and its a great opportunity for guys to have a day drink when their significant other is whining about wanting coffee and a sweat treat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    237
    77
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We hoped to get here in time for breakfast but we just missed out. The first waiter was a bit too cool for school but the second was pretty nice. The all day breakfast was....big lol It also had haggis but I found that a bit unappetising! It had a laid back atmosphere and would be a place I would sit with my laptop for a couple of hours or something

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dapper80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great value, laid back, good simple food”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

This was our breakfast venue foR three days while we enjoyed Edinburgh again. Very good breakfasts, bacon rolls etc. good coffee. Helpful friendly staff. Free wifi. Worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malcolmscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, comfortable atmosphere”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a great place to have your morning cappuccino and breakfast. We stayed on Cockburn Street for 2 full weeks and had breakfast at Southern Cross twice. The cappuccinos are the best that we had had during our time in Edinburgh (and we pretty much had cappuccinos with every meal). The big Scottish breakfast is big enough to split for two people (assuming you follow normal portion sizes), and I really loved the croque madame sandwich topped with fried egg--it was a simple sandwich yet had great flavor. It was one of the best breakfast places we had come across in the city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl3285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Went to the X with my flat mate . I had the full breakfast and she had fruit pancakes! Everything was made to order and my favourite were the sausages! Will for sure return!:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaaaahhhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Cross Cafe also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Southern Cross Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing