We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good coffee and great ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of CAFE CLASS

CAFE CLASS
Ranked #271 of 2,446 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Cafe Class is a place located in the heart of Edinburgh, near to all the city centre attractions. Start your day with our full scottish breakfast or its vegetarian option. Pancakes? Yes, we do them too. Paninis, baked potatoes, salads, pastas- all you want for your lunch. We have vegetarian and vegan dishes, gluten free options as well. And homemade cakes of course- wide choice each day. Oh,and don't forget about coffee and an interesting selection of fruit and herbal teas. See you in Cafe Class!:)
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
638 reviews
587 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
“Good coffee and great ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Not quite the best coffee in Edinburgh, but certainly a very good, well above average, coffee. The ambience however is my favourite. And friendly service, without the attitude that often infests other cafes...Finally, prices are competitive. All in all, perhaps the best combination of qualities on the city's cafe scene.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank thoughtfuldiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    30
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great & Filling Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Great service. Relatively good Scottish breakfast and great mocha coffee! Nice atmosphere for a chill morning! Worth a try surely!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yze21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“"So good we ate here twice"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a two day visit to Edinburgh and being near to Cafe Class at lunchtime we gave it a try. Lucky we did! We had tasty, well-filled sandwiches with a lovely fresh salad. The coffee and cakes were excellent too, and lunch was so enjoyable that we went there the second day too. Do try it too, I'm sure you'll be pleased you did!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Willy451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, On
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best coffee!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and sister loved the coffee they said pretty much the best in Edinburgh. I think they use an artisan roast. Cute cafe if your in the area with good service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawthorn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“best cafe in europe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I simply do not have enough words and superlatives to describe the charms and greatness of this lovely, cozy, warm and delicious place. food is immaculate (try the ceasar salad, the smoked salmon home-made pasta, the cheesecake and basically everything), service is sunny and friendly, you can sit there for hours, surfing the net or just staring into space, and nobody will tell you anything or make you feel uncomfortable. it's a place that immediately feels like home, and it's really difficult to leave it, so I kept making excuses for staying forever. do not dare to miss the class experience - you'll never forgive yourself if you do.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yaron f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CAFE CLASS also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to CAFE CLASS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing