We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Choice of Hotel/Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fantastic Choice of Hotel/Apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel/apartment for 4 nights while in Edinburgh and was very happy with my choice. The hotel was fairly easy to find a couple blocks up from Princes Street. I arrived via the Airport Express bus to Waverly Station and was able to walk to the hotel. The location near Princes Street was very convenient as there are many shops/pubs along the way to choose from.

The room was quite large with a great sized kitchen with many gadgets you would need for a *home away from home*. The free wifi worked very well, as did the TV both in the living room AND in the bedroom. The water pressure in the shower was very good. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would have liked air conditioning as the room was a bit warm when sleeping - but it wasn't unbearable.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped me organize a couple of day trips and even helped me with a computer issue I had. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone. I got a really rate so the choice was perfect for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawaiiboundToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    100
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
218
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I were looking for a weekend away to celebrate our 1st anniversary, and decided upon Edinburgh. Browsing may websites we came across the Fountain Court - Stuart Apartments in the heart of the 'New Town' area of Edinburgh, just off George Street.

We decided to upgrade to one of the larger apartments as we found a good deal on one website. We checked in just after 3pm, and were warmly welcomed, and given the keys to our room on the first floor. The apartment itself was huge, with brand-name appliances in the kitchen and living room area, including 2 x Panasonic TVs, BluRay player and Home Cinema speakers.

The kitchen has eveything you need for a home away from home experience, including a Washing Machine and Dishwasher, Electric Stove, Oven, Kettle, Toaster etc... plus the usual tea & coffee. There are plenty of shops nearby for provisions

The bathroom with large vanity unit, bath/shower and toilet was spotless, and the SuperKing size bed (in the upgraded apartment) bedroom was fantastic (although the duvet was a bit too warm for me personally)

We did have a slight problem with the shower leaking, but this was quickly attended to by reception. - We did have to make use of another room for showering facilities whist this was being fixed, and we cannot praise the staff at the Fountain Court enough for their assistance to try and fix this problem. Having the use of another room did give us the chance to compare a standard room with ours, and besides a slightly smaller living room/kitchen and bedroom (with a standard kingsize bed) the same high quality fixtures and fittings were included.

The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring Edinburgh, with Princess Street just a 5 minute walk away, and plenty of nice places to eat in Rose Street.

Beware, however that this hotel is on a cobbled street, so what little traffic there is does make a noise, and the hotel is next to a bar, that empties glass in to the bins late at night, so ear-plugs may be required if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and myself booked these apartments based on the reviews and were not disappointed. We truly got what was expected and a bit more as the apartment was very well kitted out and the location excellent. We were within walking distance of attractions such as the Castle and National Museum.

Due to a late flight we arrived around 11pm but this was not an issue as the reception is manned over 24hrs. We also encountered some wet weather and the receptionist kindly leant us an umbrella for the duration of our stay.

Having read previous reviews we were prepared for a noisy start to the day. We had a ground floor room, which was right next to the many lorries etc that seem to pass outside. We had earplugs so it didn't concern us too much. The noise started around 7:30 and finished around 8:30. As long as you are aware and go prepared, which we did, then this shouldn't be a problem.

I would highly recommend the apartments and hope their prices remain good as we plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunlover075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Why book a suite in a hotel when you can have these apartments at half the cost? The reception is manned 24 hrs, safe and secure, warm and everything feels brand new. Rooms are very spacious and two huge TVs in apartment.

Excellent value for money and customer service and you couldn't beat the location, 2 minutes walk to Princes Street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlevings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The rooms of this hotel are massive! It has a kitchen, spacious lounge, a separate bedroom and a nice bathroom. Very very clean as well. The overall state of the place is very good.

The receptionist is absolutely helpful and accommodating

The location is near Prince street, however, It is a bit of a walk to the Royal Mile(about 20 minutes maybe for a slow walker) so after a whole day of walking I wanted to just take the bus, but if you're used to walking then it will not bother you as much.

There is no restaurant inside the hotel literally it is just for accommodation but there is a huge wetherspoons pub near it :) nothing beats a cheap pub that serves haggis for dinner.

The hotel is a good value for money considering the size of the rooms and location. Recommended :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pina1traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at the Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments from October 4th - 11th. The location is great, and it's only a short walking distance to Princes Street where there are a number of shops and restaurants and then a little farther to Old Town and the Royal Mile. During our stay, we had several requests, and the front desk staff quickly took care of our needs. The housekeeper was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed as well. The apartment is comfortable with a large-sized bathroom, a nice kitchenette stocked with tea, creamer, and instant coffee, a nice sitting area, and a comfortable bed. My only word of caution is that our apartment was located on the Young Street side so we did hear some street noise and could hear the Oxford Bar patrons on the weekend. To help with this, we kept the window closed and requested a fan for some white noise. Overall, I would highly recommend the Fountain Court Apartments to anyone visiting Edinburgh. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Young Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent accommodation, which pretty much has all you could want for a short stay. The location is pretty convenient, particularly for some really good restaurants in and around George Street, and fairly easy walking distance to Royal Mile etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Property: Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Address: 10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 boutique style serviced apartments are located over 3 floors with lift access to all. Each apartment features an open plan living room and fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. All furnishings in the lounge, bedroom and bathroom are finished to an extremely high specification. Each apartment comes equipped with the latest technology, including a 37 inch HD television, blu-ray DVD player and iPod dock in the living room and a 32 inch HD TV in the bedroom, as well as free wireless broadband access, Sky sports and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing