We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent apartment and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Ranked #68 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Location is good but if windows are opened cars that go along the cobbled street outside can be a bit noisy although there aren't much traffic along that street. Hence, it is bearable.

Stayed 3 nights and since the apartment has a complete kitchen (oven, cooker, microwave, full set of kitchen utensils, dish washer, etc), we made some simple dinner in the apartment; thus, saving some cost on dinner. We also managed to do the laundry in the clothes washer/dryer as well as ironing some clothes.

Bed is big and comfortable and there' s a electronic safe deposit box in the room.

Reception Staff, Evelyn was friendly and helpful. She tried to help us to book a day trip tour to Loch Ness but all tours had been full.

Just a word of caution to those who intend to park their cars in the apartment, entrance to carpark is very tight, hence, the driver needs to quite skillful and car is recommended to be medium compact.

And for those arriving to Edinburgh by train, recommend to take a short trip in a taxi especially if you have heavy luggages. If you have light bags the distance to walk from Waverly station to the apartment is not too bad.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viviane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    100
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
218
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Good position close enough to walk to the old town but out of all the noise (except for the garbage truck in the back lane early in the morning). The staff are really helpful and accommodating with plenty of helpful advice. With a full kitchen it helps if you want to cook in at night.
The parking requires a bit if skill and is not suitable for 4 wheel drives I dont think. Fairly tight spot. But they do offer other parking 10 minutes away

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed for three nights and found it to be everything we had hoped: clean, modern, spacious accomodation in an excellent central location, with all the main sights and many eateries nearby. Being serviced apartments rather than a hotel the "service" is light, but in exchange you have an excellent well equipped kitchen (dishwasher, washing machine, etc, etc) in your suite - yours to use (or not) and we found it quite refreshing (and cheaper) not having to eat out for every meal. The front desk was manned for most of the waking day and always friendly and helpful. Overall we can't fault it really. So: if you can do without the hotel-style room service, porters and so on, a serviced apartment is a great alternative, and this is a particularly good one. (I have rated everything, including "Restaurant" as excellent because it doesn't pretend to have one and TripAdvisor doesn't have a "not applicable".)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We recently stayed at the Fountain Court- Stewart apartments for my sister's graduation. The apartments are very clean, spacious, comfortable and had everything we needed. The reception staff were very polite and helpful showing us a map of where were going and how to get to our lunch destination the following day. The location was perfect in walking distance of the centre of town and also Stockbridge. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM7479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We can only agree with all the other reviewers - this is an excellent place to stay in Edinburgh!
The apartments are spacious, spotless and very comfortable with everything you need, with a great shower and bath; also great to have a fridge and a washer/dryer after a couple of weeks on the road!
The girl on reception was extremely helpful and full of suggestions for our time in Edinburgh. Parking was easy. We felt it was very reasonably priced for what we got.

For Rankin fans, this is right next door to the Oxford Pub where Rebus likes to have a drink..
The New Town area is lovely and the Georgian House on Charlotte Square is very close by and worth a tour, and it's only a short walk to the old town and the Castle.

We can also recommend the coffee at the Elephant House cafe which we stumbled across by accident; we only realised after we had gone in that it was where J K Rowling wrote most of the first Harry Potter book, it was definitely the best coffee in Edinburgh.

A terrific place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibresOzzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Wonderful central location ! The apartments were spotless, warm and full of all mod cons. After a full day of sightseeing they were a pleasure to go back to and relax!

Parking was great and secure although it was a bit of a tight squeeze getting in and out!

I can't recommend them highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a street room as the other side has the alley with restaurant bins so it can be quite noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalamityDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Having stayed at these apartments for the first time I will certainly be returning , finished to a very high standard the apartments were clean and modern with all the mod cons you would need for a short stay in edinburgh . The location is very central and within walking distance of the best shops and restaurants .

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Property: Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Address: 10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 boutique style serviced apartments are located over 3 floors with lift access to all. Each apartment features an open plan living room and fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. All furnishings in the lounge, bedroom and bathroom are finished to an extremely high specification. Each apartment comes equipped with the latest technology, including a 37 inch HD television, blu-ray DVD player and iPod dock in the living room and a 32 inch HD TV in the bedroom, as well as free wireless broadband access, Sky sports and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing