We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Ranked #81 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We can only agree with all the other reviewers - this is an excellent place to stay in Edinburgh!
The apartments are spacious, spotless and very comfortable with everything you need, with a great shower and bath; also great to have a fridge and a washer/dryer after a couple of weeks on the road!
The girl on reception was extremely helpful and full of suggestions for our time in Edinburgh. Parking was easy. We felt it was very reasonably priced for what we got.

For Rankin fans, this is right next door to the Oxford Pub where Rebus likes to have a drink..
The New Town area is lovely and the Georgian House on Charlotte Square is very close by and worth a tour, and it's only a short walk to the old town and the Castle.

We can also recommend the coffee at the Elephant House cafe which we stumbled across by accident; we only realised after we had gone in that it was where J K Rowling wrote most of the first Harry Potter book, it was definitely the best coffee in Edinburgh.

A terrific place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibresOzzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 446 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

Wonderful central location ! The apartments were spotless, warm and full of all mod cons. After a full day of sightseeing they were a pleasure to go back to and relax!

Parking was great and secure although it was a bit of a tight squeeze getting in and out!

I can't recommend them highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a street room as the other side has the alley with restaurant bins so it can be quite noisy...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalamityDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Having stayed at these apartments for the first time I will certainly be returning , finished to a very high standard the apartments were clean and modern with all the mod cons you would need for a short stay in edinburgh . The location is very central and within walking distance of the best shops and restaurants .

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment away from the road
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

For those looking for an apartment close to pubs, bars, attractions, shopping and restaurants, look no further.
These apartments are clean, bed comfortable, quiet street. Lift access from the car park, tv, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, and ample room to move about. I would recommend highly.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in these apartments for our first trip to Edinburgh. The apartments are very clean and well equipped and are in a great location about a 30 second walk from all shops and restaurants. The only thing that lets this apartment block down is the parking. Be aware that if you don't have a small car, you will be parking around a 20minute walk from the apartments as the gap to get down into the carpark is very small.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylok17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Absolutely wonderful stay at the Fountain Court-Stewart Apartments!

Facilities: Everything you can ask from an apartment and more--washer/dryer, dishwasher, full kitchen, TV/DVD, ipod docking stations, etc. The bathroom was equipped with soaps from the Scottish Fine Soap company (and are a personal favorite of mine). Bed was comfortable and you can control the temperature with in-room thermostats.

Location: Easy access from the Edinburgh Airport Express bus (3min walk) and very close to plenty of good restaurants and is very quiet at night. About a 15-20min walk from the castle and it is uphill most of the way (though it was not an issue for us). We booked two tours out of the city and chose to take a taxi to get to the Royal Mile to save us a bit of time in the mornings...£5-£6 for two people..and we were happy to pay it. The Fountain Court reception even booked the taxis for us.

We were completely happy with our choice to book with the Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments and felt like we were returning to our 'home away from home' each time we walked in the door. Cannot wait to stay with them again!

Room Tip: May ask for a room that does not face the recycling point as it was a bit noisy one morning.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A very convenient place to stay. A 5-10 minute walk from Waverley Station, so very central to everything. We have never stayed in an apartment type of accommodation before, but I really recommend these apartments. The kitchenette had a dish washer and a washing machine, which was very useful if you get wet in Scotland, where you can dry and wash your clothes. The kitchen was very well equipped for a comfortable stay, whether you are a couple or a family. We choose to have breakfast in the apartment, catered by a local Sainsburys which is around the corner, which is a 5 minute walk away. A comfortable bed and a lovely powerful shower, what more can you want. We bought a 2 day Royal Edinburgh Ticket which included 5 different bus tours, which you could get on and off and change routes. This ticket which cost £43.00 included the Edinburgh Castle, The Royal Yacht Britannia and Palace of Holyroodhouse, so very good value for money. We caught the Airlink bus from the airport which was £3.50 to the city, which took 25 minutes from start to finish. We did one of the many ghost tours that are available, we choose to do the one late in the evening, which added to the suspense of the occasion. The tour takes you along hidden tunnels underground which is very educating and then finishing off the tour in a grave yard, it all adds to the occasion, it did help with the weather being very misty and foggy. Another tour we did was the Real Mary Kings Tour which took you into hidden streets under the Royal Mile Street, which were several stories underground. An absolutely breathtaking tour, to think these streets have been hidden for hundreds of years was amazing. Edinburgh has so many places to eat and drink, you are spoilt for choice. We ate at the Hard Rock Cafe, lovely food, but a bit too loud for us. Our best find was a fish restaurant called Mussel Inn in Rose Street. We had the most fantastic Oysters, Mussels and Scallops, we have ever had. If you love fish it is worth a visit. We had three full days in Edinburgh and felt it wasn't enough to get to see everything. I really recommend these apartments and Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
823 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh Charlotte Square
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#114 of 150 in Edinburgh
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Address: 10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $144 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 boutique style serviced apartments are located over 3 floors with lift access to all. Each apartment features an open plan living room and fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. All furnishings in the lounge, bedroom and bathroom are finished to an extremely high specification. Each apartment comes equipped with the latest technology, including a 37 inch HD television, blu-ray DVD player and iPod dock in the living room and a 32 inch HD TV in the bedroom, as well as free wireless broadband access, Sky sports and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing