We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY AVERAGE SMALL APARTMENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Ranked #81 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here for one night as a couple. Firstly was quite disappointed given that these apartments are rated very highly and are No.2 in Edinburgh. Plus points of these apartments are the central location and cleanliness because they are new. On arrival the corridor down to the apartment reminded me of a typical Premier Inn hotel, on entering apartment found it to be very small and again the bathroom and ambience typical of a Premier Inn hotel. Paid quite a lot of money so could have stayed in a Premier Inn for much less. l would not recommend these apartments for short stays as a couple, however I guess it depends on what you are looking for in a hotel, in my opinion they are designed more for business trips.

We had a ground floor flat to the front of the building which was extremely close to the cobbled road and you could feel every car driving past when you were in bed, although I am quite sure if we had been staying for more than one night we would have got used to this.

Staff were okay again nothing to greatly praise here. Sorry for the negativity but we were not impressed in any way by the stay here. We have stayed in other apartments in Edinburgh which were much better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedro97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 446 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

Had lovely family short break in Edinburgh. Apartment was lovely. Very clean and well equipped. Brilliant location. Very central.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

These appartments are very clean, spacious and confortable!! Ideally located in Edinburgh, very closed to shops, pubs and restaurants and just 15minutes walking from the railway station! I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

An absolutely perfect location to stay at. Right in the middle of the centre of Edinburgh, but in a quiet nice cobblestoned street. Excellent equipped apartments, including two TV:s, iPod-speaker, dishmachine, microvawe, fridge and on top of that a washingmachine. Fabulous. Nice and very friendly staff, always willing to help and answer questions. The apartment was clean and very fresh, nice beds and a very comfortable sofa for relaxing. Can't find anything negative at all, can't imagine anything that could have been better. Will choose that place 10 times out of 10 if/when returning to Edinburgh

Room Tip: Probably even nicer on upper floor. We did stay in room 7 at first floor.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I was fortunate enough for the Stewart Apartments to come into "policy" on my corporate travel booking system. I was sure enough of travel dates that the "no rescheduling" proviso wasn't an issue.

The flats are still all new and shiny, and spotlessly clean. Well equipped kitchen, though for a short stay anything I cooked had to "ping", but would be fine for more hearty cooks. Location was very convenient for someone travelling without a car, easy access to bus routes or major roads with plentiful taxis. As others have written, this is in the city centre, so if you sleep with the windows open you *will* be roused by hustle and bustle.

If these flats fall within corporate policy guidelines again, I will definitely make a beeline.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dunstan_in_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The location of these apartments is perfect if like us you are on a sightseeing trip to Edinburgh. Located on a small street very near Princes Street, the Airlink Bus from the airport drops you a minutes walk away. The apartment itself was immaculately clean with all the facilities you would require for a short or long stay. Kitchen is equiped with all the utensils you require should you wish to cook as well as a washer/dryer and dish washer. There are so many restaurants in the area and a short walk away you are really spoil for choice. The only downside for the whole stay were the rubbish lorries emptying the bins from the adjacent bars at 7am. They were quite loud but maybe requesting a room to the front of the property would solve this problem. That said while you are near everything there was no other noise problems. While there are no fitness facilities on site the property offer use of the fitness centre in the Hilton Caledonian for a reduced rate. I would definately recommend this property and Edinburgh!

Room Tip: Request a room to the front of the property.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at these apartments, would really recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
824 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh Charlotte Square
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#114 of 150 in Edinburgh
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Address: 10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $143 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 boutique style serviced apartments are located over 3 floors with lift access to all. Each apartment features an open plan living room and fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. All furnishings in the lounge, bedroom and bathroom are finished to an extremely high specification. Each apartment comes equipped with the latest technology, including a 37 inch HD television, blu-ray DVD player and iPod dock in the living room and a 32 inch HD TV in the bedroom, as well as free wireless broadband access, Sky sports and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing