We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amaryllis Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$105
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$248
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$141
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$276
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$159
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$653
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
22
23
11
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
23
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop flooredinburgh marathonlovely guesthousestayed for nightsroom was cleanon arrivala great staywalking distancegood sizetrain stationbreakfastensuitetvuniversityhostsgrassmarketbuses
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 59 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Amaryllis Guest House provided us with the perfect weekend that we needed. The two ladies who run the B&B are very polite and friendly, and offered us great tips on all that Edinburgh has to offer. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast on both our mornings there was tasty and served quickly. Perhaps above all else the location is superb; a five minute walk to the Meadows, a mere ten minute walk to Princess Street, and about twenty minutes to the Royal Mile. Its centrality meant that we could easily hop on a bus to Edinburgh's famous attractions... such as the zoo, yes, we saw the pandas! It was a lovely stay for very good value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghamaryllis, Owner at Amaryllis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. Very happy you enjoyed your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I found Amaryllis Guest House to be exactly what we wanted: clean, comfortable, affordable, and with a friendly staff. We had a double ensuite room that served our needs perfectly. Every day we walked to the city center, which isn't far off, and enjoyed the sights of Edinburgh. On the day we left, our host was particularly helpful by getting us an early breakfast so we could make our train. I would recommend Amaryllis Guest House to anyone traveling to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghamaryllis, Owner at Amaryllis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We always appreciate guests who take the time to write a review for us. We will never be complacent and will always strive to give a great holiday experience. Happy New Year to you both and hope to see you again some day. Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in October 2011 and found a correct value for money. Our room was on the top floor, clean and big enough for the average B&B but the bathroom was very small. Breakfast was OK but nothing more. The place is close to the centre (both Princess Street and Royal old mile) and very well served by public transport. Overall, if you’re looking for a budget accommodation with easy access to the centre, this place can be for you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghamaryllis, Owner at Amaryllis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to respond with your evaluation. I hope you will return in the future and we will be more than happy to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed 3 weeks ago and no effort made to make you feel at ease,its obviously a money making place......please go else where...and get value for money...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Service
2  Thank STRUANLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghamaryllis, Owner at Amaryllis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

We always strive to be pleasant and courteous hosts to all of our guests. Sadly sometimes, some people just will not be satisfied no matter how much we try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

It was below-average among economy-priced places. Like most economy-priced places, the bed is not comfortable. But unlike the other ones I was at, little effort was put into the breakfasts (no fruit or granola with the cereal, packaged jams). You are also given only a 1/2 hour window in which to have breakfast. Owners will do nothing extra for you as well - in and out with ya!

Not recommended.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghamaryllis, Owner at Amaryllis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

This review is so unfair. We go out of our way to treat guests with respect and good hospitality.We have always accommodated guests if they require an early breakfast ( within reason of course) and we make up packed lunches if guests are leaving early and miss breakfast. I really do not know sometimes what people expect for such a low tariff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews