We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Almada, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“weekend break”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Good value for money hotel. A bit far away from the city centre but within a walking distance (20-25 min). Nice staff and confortable rooms. A good option if you are thinking of travelling with one child. Good family rooms. I'd recommend you to choose a room in the top floors because the street can be a bit noisy during the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMSF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear EMSF2014,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for staying with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket,

Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient during your travels.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    1,114
    406
    140
    64
See reviews for
689
1,042
146
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Usual Premier Inn standard & great breakfast! Really good location for West End. Approx. 10 minutes walk to City Centre. Lots of restaurants, bars and shops to hand. Only issue was that the room was really hot - although fan was provided.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Fiona W,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for staying with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I am really pleased to see that our Great breakfast and hotel met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests.

I'm sorry to hear that the temperature in your room was hotter than usual. This was due to maintenance issues with our air conditioning system at the time. I am pleased however, that this did not detract from your overall experience.

Thank you again for giving us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Good location handy to city, rooms good size with familiar Premier Inn facilities. Lifts a bit slow but steps handy and wide. Lifts and corridors very hot and uncomfortable room temperature ok with window open. All round good value chain

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pstevo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Pstevo1,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for staying at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I am delighted to hear that our location, room size and facilities met your expectations and that you were given great service as your title suggests.

Unfortunately our air conditioning system was down for maintenance during your stay and I am sorry that the temperature in your room was affected by this. I am pleased that it did not detract from your overall experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alves, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

First stay in relatively new Premier in Central Edinburgh - very handy for bus and,rail and tram links in Haymarket.
Maintains standards of this group with very clean room and decent breakfast.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Slightly disappointed at high price of room compared with Premier Inns Ihave used .- price hike perhaps reflects demand due to Highland Show being on .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Ian R,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for staying at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I am delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable with a great location to boot.

Our pricing policy works in the same way as many airlines where prices are driven by market conditions at the time. Although prices may increase at times of demand, they may also reduce on nights which are less busy. We do have a Team who closely monitor all hotels to ensure they are competitively priced as we always try and give you the best value for money.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff.clean tidy and comfy room and bed.central to our visiting needs.very Good security because the lifts only open with you room key so not anyone can just walk in. Car park full camera security.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Thomas D,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and for stay with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I am delighted that our friendly and helpful staff, clean and tidy rooms and our central location all met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. We take the security of our guests extremely seriously and I am glad that our key card system on all ground floor doors gave you further reassurance of this. We also ensure that staff are at our reception desk 24 hours a day to maintain this level of service.

Thank you again for giving us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This Premier Inn is of the same standard as most Premier Inns. Reception staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms are very clean.
The hotel is located in a quiet back road near to Haymarket Station but only a 10 minute walk to Princes Street.
Breakfast fine.
Reasonable price for the centre of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear AitchHW,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for staying at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

It is great that our clean hotel, helpful friendly staff and facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Having stayed in this hotel many times over the past two years for its convenient location, all the pillows have recently been changed and it is impossible to get anything other than an unacceptably thick, spongy 'thing'. After two nights of awful sleep and one more to tolerate, I won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Senior_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Senior_Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback during your stay. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

You are correct that the firmness of our pillows is due to a recent change. All pillows are made to Premier Inn specification and are regularly updated to ensure they can deal with constant and rigorous use. I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we were unable to provide you with the type of pillow you have become used to during your stay.

I have fully investigated this matter and would be happy to share the findings with you. Please do not hesitate to contact me on the email address below for more information. I am satisfied that our staff on duty that night searched the entire hotel to ensure we did not have the pillows you required.

I can also confirm that we would be more than happy to ensure that the specific pillow type you are accustomed to can be delivered to our hotel and ready for your arrival by contacting us prior to your visit as stated by one of our managers during your visit.

I do hope that your refund in line with our Good Night Guarantee reaffirmed to you our commitment to ensuring our guests enjoy their stay

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
27 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,823 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing