We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly convenient hotel. Expensive for ordinary hotel room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #93 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly convenient hotel. Expensive for ordinary hotel room”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Staff were very helpful and so lovely and friendly. Thanks. Room was ok. Clean. Basic comfortable. Parking is £8 per day. Expensive when we paid over £220 for two nights without breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mags2324,

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We’re so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here at Premier Inn Edinburgh Haymarket and we do hope to see you again in the very near future. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Many thanks
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    1,109
    401
    140
    61
See reviews for
686
1,038
146
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for the Edinburgh Military Festival. Great location, comfortable rooms with extremely helpful staff including James and Eva (Hola) who couldn't do enough for you. Excellent breakfast for the price (£8.20) great transport links, bus stops right outside the door. Will definitely be staying here again. Ps 3 mins walk from Hay market railway station, Doddle.

Room Tip: We stayed in 816 on the front, 4 th floor a little traffic noise in the morning but hey your in a ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibnaj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review with Premier Inn Edinburgh Haymarket.. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that our hotel, and great facilities met your expectations. Our team are committed to delivering the highest level of service to all our guests and your feedback is so important to us in our continued endeavours to provide our guests with this service. We look forward to welcoming back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice hotel, clean rooms, quiet nights. Good walking distance to the city centre, seeing the Old Town on your way to the Castle. Bus stop right outside, No 33 takes you exactly to the heart of the city centre and shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPicha75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. It’s so good to hear such good feedback. We take pride in looking after our guests and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Friendly staff, clean decent size room and pretty good value. WiFi was £3, and it didn't work. Location is quite central and there are several buses stopping right outside the hotel's door. Will certainly use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Jonathan,

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. Thank you for your feedback regarding Wi-Fi, please be assured your comments will be passed to our Marketing department. Once again thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kind regards
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived to the hotel at 1340 and we were forced to sit there for 20 min until the "rooms were ready." Which I didn't understand how there were no rooms ready, when I quickly figured out they wouldn't let ANYONE check in till 1400. So then there was a CROWD of people trying to check in at once. The whole situation was unorganized and the staff did not seem to think it was a poor way of caring for their guests. The rooms were smelly, and disgusting. I would NEVER go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am upset you did not enjoy your stay with us. Check in is from 2pm, we do try to accommodate all guests as equally as possible therefore we cannot guarantee an early check in, this is to help avoid a further wait at reception while guests wait for the rooms to be cleaned.

If you cant contact the hotel direct to discuss this in more detail I'd be happy to chat.

Kind regards,

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager

T: 0131-656-4300
E: OperationsManager.EdinburghHaymarket@Whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

we have just got back from 4 nights in Edinburgh and we found the Premier Inn Great , a 2 min walk from Haymarket train station , a large and VERY clean and well maintained room , staff that couldn't of been more helpful and friendly a breakfast which was basic but lovely and as much as you wanted (really enjoyed the crumpets & muffins) so all in all an excellent experience and would defo use Premier Inn's again . if anyone going to Edinburgh they have an AMAZING bus service £3.50 for a day ticket and you can hop on & off wherever & whenever and believe me iv'e NEVER seen so many bus's & to visit the zoo or Royal Yacht the bus stops are just round the corner from the hotel BUT there is a stop by the front door which will take you to the city , for a short and inexpensive break i would highly recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DENISE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Denise,

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We’re so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here at Premier Inn Edinburgh Haymarket and we do hope to see you again in the very near future. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Many thanks
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night with work. Good location within walking distance of centre of town. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful on arrival. Was overcharged for my room (due to confusion with corporate rates) however, was provided with an instant refund without any fuss. My room was at the front of the hotel on the first floor. Very large, spacious and clean. Small issue that there was no socket by the bed for phone charger but not really a problem. Would say that the road outside is quite noisy so if you are a light sleeper, take earplugs to block out noise of traffic and passers by. Good breakfast selection in the morning. Quick and easy check out. Was also helped by the receptionist again to get directions to the office. Not glamorous hotel but good for a short, business trip.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raminoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. It is great that our clean hotel, helpful friendly staff and facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing