We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY PLEASED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“REALLY PLEASED”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

we have just got back from 4 nights in Edinburgh and we found the Premier Inn Great , a 2 min walk from Haymarket train station , a large and VERY clean and well maintained room , staff that couldn't of been more helpful and friendly a breakfast which was basic but lovely and as much as you wanted (really enjoyed the crumpets & muffins) so all in all an excellent experience and would defo use Premier Inn's again . if anyone going to Edinburgh they have an AMAZING bus service £3.50 for a day ticket and you can hop on & off wherever & whenever and believe me iv'e NEVER seen so many bus's & to visit the zoo or Royal Yacht the bus stops are just round the corner from the hotel BUT there is a stop by the front door which will take you to the city , for a short and inexpensive break i would highly recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DENISE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Denise,

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We’re so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here at Premier Inn Edinburgh Haymarket and we do hope to see you again in the very near future. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Many thanks
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,134
    419
    147
    66
See reviews for
705
1,056
148
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night with work. Good location within walking distance of centre of town. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful on arrival. Was overcharged for my room (due to confusion with corporate rates) however, was provided with an instant refund without any fuss. My room was at the front of the hotel on the first floor. Very large, spacious and clean. Small issue that there was no socket by the bed for phone charger but not really a problem. Would say that the road outside is quite noisy so if you are a light sleeper, take earplugs to block out noise of traffic and passers by. Good breakfast selection in the morning. Quick and easy check out. Was also helped by the receptionist again to get directions to the office. Not glamorous hotel but good for a short, business trip.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raminoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. It is great that our clean hotel, helpful friendly staff and facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This venue is well appointed and pretty well located. Staff are friendly and helpful. When we visited this property for 4 days, the city had been enduring a hot summer. When we entered our room on the 4th floor, there was a fan already running and a note was in the room acknowledging that the hotel was aware that the room was hot (no doubt alot more were also) and in the absence of air conditioning, they were attempting to cool the room via the fan. Windows of the room were restricted as to how far they could open. The fan, whilst helpful did not cool the room below 25 degrees throughout our entire visit. All hotel staff spoken to about this problem acknowledged that it was a problem and management had been promising to install air conditioning for some time but as yet, it had not occurred - supposed to be next year. Maybe in the winter the heating works well. Other tan the above, we found the room to be comfortable

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank parkyposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoswell, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review of our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us however I am upset that our hotel was to hot during your stay. Edinburgh has been experiencing a freak heat wave this year with record temperatures. Although our hotel dose not yet have Air Con our team do try our very best to ensure all of our guests are kept cool through these hot times.

I will ensure your comments are passed back on to the team and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Helpful staff, good service, good buffet breakfast, good size rooms clean and comfortable. Plenty of parking. Good location 15 min walk to Princes Street. Downside, weather was hot and hotel does not have A/C. Had a room at rear which was noisy due to fans when window opened. Did not sleep well.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear and to right of reception are quieter, less traffic and external noise from fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoswell, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review of our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us however I am upset that our hotel was to hot during your stay. Edinburgh has been experiencing a freak heat wave this year with record temperatures. Although our hotel dose not yet have Air Con our team do try our very best to ensure all of our guests are kept cool through these hot times.

I am upset to hear that you did not sleep very well, we do operate a good night guarantee for all our guests, if you can contact us direct on 0131-656-4300 to discuss this so we can resolve this issue.

I will ensure your comments are passed back on to the team and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croft-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Exception service from an enthusiastic , efficient , pleasant and hard working team results in a comfortable stress free accommodation with the best breakfast ... Great value too thanks.
Nothing is a bother to the energetic helpful staff who can be seen and heard in meeting the needs and demands of all types, nationalities , of people .
Well done

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winifred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoswell, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, its always good to hear such good feedback regarding the team, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Basic hotel, large family room plus cot and still plenty room, modern, clean, helpful staff on reception and in the buffet breakfast( kids eat free with a paying adult). Breakfast was very busy but the food was replaced quickly and was a good start to the day.
Good location you can walk to the castle in 20min or you can get a bus from outside the door every few minutes in the the city centre,

Room Tip: The room was a bit noisy, close the window and its fine, the room also had a fan. We looked on to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiangkai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoswell, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, its always good to hear such good feedback regarding the team, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you like standing for 15 minutes at a bar being ignored by the barman and then shouted at by same barman when you decide to leave then this is the hotel for you! Also, don't ask for vegetarian sausages, which are offered, as they won't arrive. On the plus side the room was standard and clean but with no air conditioning. However, they provide a very noisy desk fan. There is road noise but that is to be expected and can be lived with.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoswell, Carol Dickson - Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Regmo,

Thank you for your review of our Premier Inn. I am deeply upset that you left our hotel feeling so unhappy with the stay. I would like to discuss this in more detail, as this is not the service we expect from any member of the team.

Please can you contact me direct on 0131-656-4300 or drop me an Email to OperationsManager, EdinburghHaymarket@Whitbread.com so a full investigation can be done.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#69 of 149 in Edinburgh
575 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#76 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,928 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#35 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing