We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you like standing for 15 minutes at a bar being ignored by the barman and then shouted at by same barman when you decide to leave then this is the hotel for you! Also, don't ask for vegetarian sausages, which are offered, as they won't arrive. On the plus side the room was standard and clean but with no air conditioning. However, they provide a very noisy desk fan. There is road noise but that is to be expected and can be lived with.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoswell, Carol Dickson - Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Regmo,

Thank you for your review of our Premier Inn. I am deeply upset that you left our hotel feeling so unhappy with the stay. I would like to discuss this in more detail, as this is not the service we expect from any member of the team.

Please can you contact me direct on 0131-656-4300 or drop me an Email to OperationsManager, EdinburghHaymarket@Whitbread.com so a full investigation can be done.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,721 - 1,727 of 2,903 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

I would probably rate the hotel 6.5-7/10 the rooms are what you would expect,all probably identical and nice and clean,good location but you have to pay £8 a night for the parking,which when you have already paid £300 for two nights niggles you a little bit,it was more expensive because the festival was on which I understand,also the water dispenser was empty whilst I was there in the corridor.

Room Tip: Not looking over the car park like mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123abcBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoswell, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our Premier Inn, it so good to hear such kind comments regarding the team.

Parking is £8.00 per car per day; this is competitively placed within Edinburgh City Centre. We do charge to give everyone a fair chance to park with us; FREE parking would attract non-residents parking, meaning that there will be fewer spaces left for our guests.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

John Boswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location for Haymarket train station. Clean. Helpful staff.
Ten minutes walk into Edinburgh.
Didn't eat breakfast here but walked to All Bar One.
Easy to check in, even though it was busy?
Would recommend it

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Shelleyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoswell, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, it’s always good to hear such good feedback. I will ensure your kind comments are passed onto the team,

Kind regards,

John Boswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel was a regular stop for me visiting Edinburgh - good location and value for money with good breakfast. Prices have steadily climbed and breakfast became such an unpleasant experience that on my last 2 visits I ate elsewhere. The staff appear to be trained well at certain levels but frankly a lot of it is management speak with little personality.

Room Tip: Stay in the upper floors away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottMC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoswell, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. It’s always good to hear such good feedback.

Imp sorry to hear that you did not feel your stay was value for money. Our prices are very strongly placed within the market place for the location and time of year. Please remember to always book online direct with Premier Inn to get the best available rates.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

John Boswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Premier Inn is a good place to stay in Edinburgh if you want to be within walking distance of most of the attractions in the city. The front desk staff was super friendly. Our flight arrived at 8 AM so we got to the hotel well before the 2 PM check in time. Kieran, at the main desk took exceptional care of us to find a room to store our luggage and eventually a room to check in to well before the standard 2 PM check in time.
The hotel itself, has the basics, but nothing exceptional. The elevators are very small, very slow, and too few, especially at check-in and check-out time. One area that was problematic for us was the lack of power outlets near our bed. Both me and my wife use cpap machines and there was nowhere near our night stands to plug in our machines.
The housekeeping staff was truly exceptional as was the restaurant staff. In summary, I would stay in this hotel again on a future visit to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Morrison Road. Such a room would be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evans81051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoswell, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our Premier Inn, It’s always good to get such good feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

John Boswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here one night whilst visiting the Tattoo. 2 things made this better than your average hotel; the bar stayed open until 1 am so if you did want a late drink it was available and breakfast served until 11.30am which we really appreciated since we didn't get to bed until late. Also the bed was really comfy and there was extra pillows. I think we paid about 3 times the normal rate because it was festival/ Tattoo week which was outrageous but at least this hotel was really good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoswell, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our Premier Inn, It’s always good to get such good feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

John Boswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel offers everything that you would want from a value for money hotel with large, clean rooms with very good soundproofing, comfortable beds and great breakfast buffet. I would have easily given it five stars except for the small fact that it is just a little bit far from the places that you want to visit (Princes Street, Royal Mile etc) meaning a long walk or a bus ride is in store for you. Day 1 this walk seemed long, but manageable but by Day 2 the bus pass was needed and appreciated. Buses are frequent, convenient and cheap but not my favourite mode of transport so being just a bit closer would make it perfect. BTW in a year (or 10 years - perhaps 20 years) the tram will open (god willing) and then the hotel will be a very short walk to an excellent way of accessing the centre of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoswell, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our Premier Inn, It’s always good to get such good feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

John Boswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#62 of 151 in Edinburgh
605 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,292 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $96 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing