We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Good value option”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Not being a fan of Lenny Henry I had low expectations as I headed North for a stag do, but this place exceeded my expectations and provided decent, comfortable and reasonable digs for a couple of nights. Reception was a little disorganised and seemed to struggle with the concept of group bookings, but the rooms and common areas were clean, pleasant and spacious, the beer was reasonably priced (if uninspiring, then again we were in Scotland......) and I had two nights of good sleep. Well located for Haymarket station, Grassgate etc. Would be ideal for a Murrayfield visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our Premier Inn after your recent stay. I am so glad you enjoyed yourself, its great to hear such good feedback.

I will ensure your kind comments are passed on to the team.

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,134
    419
    147
    66
See reviews for
705
1,056
148
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was great especially for the price. The staff were extremely helpful and always willing to provide help and advice about tourist attractions etc.
We had a great time there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket). Its always good to hear such good feedback regarding the staff and service you received.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

In June 2012 my future daughter-in-laws sister began to organise a hen weekend for her, her family and friends. We were all going to Edinburgh for the activities and she made a block booking for 10 twin rooms in The Premier Inn, Haymarket, Edinburgh. We were each advised to telephone the hotel on a number provided by them to give credit card details to book your room. Rooms would be held at 2012 prices if they were booked with a credit card prior to 17th July 2012. I therefore telephoned the hotel on the number provided towards end of June 2012 and was assured the room was now confirmed and the credit card I gave the details for would not be used until I arrived on 1st June 2013. All sounded well.
We duly arrived at the hotel on 1st June 2013. There were 14 of us in the party and we arrived at the reception about 13.45. We were initially told that our rooms would not be ready until sometime after 14.00. This was our first inconvenience as we had taxis Pre- booked to collect us at 14.15 to take us to our 1st venue starting at 14.30. So we were ushered into a meeting room and told we could change there!
We then attended the reception again to check if any rooms were ready to be told that my booking had not been been made and therefore there was no room allocated to me. Several others in the party were given similar stories but I am sure they will also report the atrocious chaos we were met with. After some time a twin room was allocated to me for myself and my daughter at the full price for today. We ran up to the room to leave our luggage to get back to the waiting taxi which had already clocked up almost £9 on the running meter before the journey started. This was no fault of the taxi, just another disaster caused by bad management in this hotel.
"Sleep tight" it tells us in the advert! Forget it! Following the upset caused at the booking in chaos sleep quality was awful. The room was too hot and the thermostat would not remain turned down. We had to open the window which offered little comfort and the noise levels from both outdoors and indoors was beyond disturbing. We got very little sleep.
In the morning we met with others in the party who had to leave their luggage at the left luggage area as they had no rooms ready prior to going out the previous day. They were told just to collect their luggage on return to the hotel after the festivities. No matter what time it was someone would be there to help them. During the evening a few of the party received texts on their phones to tell them their bookings had been cancelled as they had not booked in! Yet all the required form filling, booking in etc had been done prior to them leaving their luggage. Things just got worse and worse. One guest had to wake another in the party to see if she had room for her to sleep. She slept on a sofa with a towel to cover her as no bed or bedding available on her return to the hotel. She was not alone in this!
Good points? Only one! Breakfast was OK.
Advice - stay clear of this Faulty Towers. It is a total disaster.
Comments are more than welcome from this "hotel" and I would be more than happy for their management to contact me and discuss.

Room Tip: Want to be sure your booking is efficiently dealt with? Don't even book a room here. Go somewher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmacl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us.

We take pride in ensuring all our guests enjoy a "Good Night Guaranteed", I would like to apologise on behalf of the whole team that on this occasion we seemed to have failed on our promise.

We do have a dedicated reception team on hand 24 hours a day to resolve any problems that may occur.

I believe that you have already contacted us about this matter but If you would be so kind to contact the hotel direct on 0131-656-4300 if you want to discuss this incident in more detail, that would be much appreciated.

Hope to speak to you soon.

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We pre-booked our stay to the Premier Inn, Edinburgh a year prior to staying as we were coming along with a party of 16. When we arrived to check in, we were told our rooms would not be ready until around 2:15pm, we explained that we had taxis booked for that time as we had a venue booked for 2:30pm, and we were told prior to arrival that our rooms would be ready for 2pm. We had to get ready to go out, The woman, (who I did not get the name of) at the front desk was rude and very unhelpful, who would not help us in any manner when we explained our predicament. Thank goodness for Kieran, he went to find us a meeting room to get ready in.

When we did finally try check in we were told our room was CANCELLED! Not by us, and apparently not by Premier Inn either. Unfortunately we had the rude woman again, who had a 'I could care less' attitude, but again, thanks for Kieran, who stepped in. He went out of his way to try and figure out what happened, but unfortunately could not. We came to our own conclusion that we had 10 rooms reserved and we had a reference number, 2 rooms should have been cancelled, but instead we discovered 3 rooms had been, one of those rooms was ours! Kieran did find us another room, but we had to pay the full rate of £133 instead of our 'early bird' booking of £91

The room itself was clean, but unbearably hot, the A/C was not working, every time we lowered the temperature, it automatically crept back up again.

In the morning, we discovered some of our party, who booked into the hotel at 2pm the same day, but also had to get a taxi at 2:15 to get to the venue, couldn't wait for the key, but was promised the rooms would be kept for them and just pick up the key from reception, they signed a 'disclaimer' for 'rowdiness and damage' prior to leaving, and reassured that the keys would be at the desk when they got in, whatever time it would be. However, the poor girls discovered that the rooms were cancelled on their arrival at midnight after our party! The staff were unhelpful stating that there was nothing they could do as they were not on during the day. Why the staff on that afternoon couldn't have left some form of communication, explaining the situation on handover was beyond us! 3 rooms were let go without any warning, and some of the girls had to bunk in other rooms, on couches and using towels as linen!

On check out, when asked how our stay was, we told the receptionist how disappointed we were, essentially our long planned weekend away (which was all planned a year before) was ruined by the stay at the hotel and the unhelpful staff (barring Kieran, who did try). And we just got presented with a shrug of the shoulders and a promise of an investigation! But, I am not holding my breath with regards to an 'investigation' However, this will not be dropped and we will also be in touch with head office.

This has been my first experience of a Premier Inn, and it did not bode well. Will definitely not recommend this as a place to stay for any of my friends looking for a place to stay in Edinburgh. And as my first experience with this company, it will be my last.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here - the room was on the fourth floor and one of the two lifts was broken for the duration of our stay, but other than that it was a very pleasant stay. It's about a 10-15 minute walk into the Old Town/Royal Mile area of the city. The room was clean and quiet with comfy beds and the bathroom was spacious and clean. Had breakfast one day and for the price, it was excellent value. Left luggage at reception after checking out so we could enjoy our last day of holiday without having to lug it around. Very nice hotel, would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, John Boswell at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, We value your feedback and I will ensure your kind comments are passed on o the team,

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is one of the best/largest/great hotel w.r.t premier inn standards. It could beat other quality hotels any day. Rooms are larger, with bath tub, there is a bar/restaurant as well. Location is awesome. I would surely recommend this hotel. Value for money any day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, We value your feedback and I will ensure your kind comments are passed on o the team,

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location, comfortable accommodations and very economical ... and a competent, friendly and helpful staff to boot! Premier covers all the requirements of basic hotel needs ... this is not a resort. The car park is on premise and there is a bus stop and taxi stand at the front door ... Would recommend and return again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, We value your feedback and I will ensure your kind comments are passed on o the team,

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#69 of 149 in Edinburgh
575 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#76 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,926 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#35 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing