We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #93 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Twyning, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Good big rooms, friendly staff, and good bar and restaurant. Reasonably located off Lothian Road but the area around the hotel is not ideal for wandering around at night. Good Business hotel for Offices on Morrison Street, Lothian Road and Festival Square. Good for families (breakfast was full of kids) with a short walk (uphill) to the castle. Excellent for Haymarket Station

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeztwyning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Boswell
Reception Shift Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    1,124
    413
    143
    65
See reviews for
696
1,048
148
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I can't fault this hotel, well I can actually. The hotel is fine, I was let down by the restaurant staff. Staying at the hotel you would hope that you would be able to eat there. I turned up at the restaurant at 18-50 to find the place almost empty. Table for one says I, we are full says she, no your not says I, we will be says she, no room for one says I, no says she. You can eat in the bar says she, I wait in the bar and wait and wait and wait and wait and give up and go for a curry!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gengis10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Boswell
Reception Shift Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I only stayed for 24 hours, nice friendly staff, and good value for money. You do get a good nights sleep at the Premier hotels. The rooms are quiet and perfect if you want to chill before the next part of your business activities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Boswell
Reception Shift Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Situated in Hay Market you can easily access all facilities. It's really a good value for money. The amenities are good and their hospitality is great. If you really like good Indian food then there MUMBAI MANSION just in front of Premier Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajarshi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, John Boswell at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with our Premier Inn. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your Indian food.

We hope to see again you soon.

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel was very clean and fresh with modern decor. The staff were helpful. It is centrally located and is close to Haymarket Station. Restaurants and bars are just around the corner. It is less than five minutes walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. The Usher Hall is a short walk away. Unfortunately, at breakfast time, we found that, due to queues, while we were making our toast and collecting our coffee, our cooked breakfast was getting cold. Also, a member of staff had to be summoned as they had allowed the container of fried eggs to run empty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Boswell
Reception Shift Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel recently and it was a terrible experience. First of all, I was allocated a disabled room and when I refused to accept, I was dealt with in a most aggressive manner by the Lady Supervisor. Eventually I was allocated a room with a single bed. The waiting staff were terrible and some were rude and the food was also very bad and so was the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Group T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.

We do operate a "Good Night Guaranteed" for every guest. On this occasion we seem to have failed on this promise.

If you would be so kind as to contact the hotel direct to express these issues we would be more than happy to get this resolved ASAP.

I will look forward to hearing from you.

King Regards,

John Boswell
DD: 0131-656-4300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is pefect for an accommodation short. Is very near of station, and the bus airport have a stop very near, also near the city center. The breakfast is good and varied. Had staff who spoke spanish.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Olga E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Boswell
Reception Shift Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#139 of 149 in Edinburgh
57 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#114 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#69 of 149 in Edinburgh
560 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing