We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #93 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location for trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a trip to see friends in Edinburgh. I checked on Tripadvisor before booking in addition to checking price and location. Although a chain, the welcome was very personable. We had dinner the first night with an excellent waitress. The food was good quality but not haut cuisine. I would have liked real ale but had to go the The Haymarket pub for that which I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our Premier Inn, It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    1,109
    399
    140
    61
See reviews for
686
1,036
145
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perfect location, clean well-furnished room, pleasant staff, a few minutes walk from the town centre, and it's own secure car park. We felt welcome and the value for money was unbeatable. We have paid several times as much in other Edinburgh hotels and had a less satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bassandkeyboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our Premier Inn, It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great hotel and in the prefect location if your out partying in the capital £5 for taxi to centre. The rooms were spacious and very clean. They have a bar which also serves food which was great. The only downside is its £8 per day to park your car.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our Premier Inn, It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good location, good price. Rooms not ready upon check-in at 2pm (the advertised time), had to wander round until 3pm. Staff lovely, prefer the new build Premier Inn properties, this looks a little 'old fashioned' compared to purpose built Premier Inn's. A well priced city centre property.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us.

We take pride in ensuring all our guests enjoy a "Good Night Guaranteed", I would like to apologise on behalf of the whole team that on this occasion we seemed to have failed.

We do have a dedicated reception team on hand 24 hours a day to resolve any problems that may occur.

If you would be so kind to contact the hotel direct on 0131-656-4300 so we can discuss this incident in more detail, that would be much appreciated.

Hope to speak to you soon.

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here on a buisness trip, and it has everything you would need for a short stay. The staff were very friendly, the room spacious with a desk, comfortable bed, breakfast was excelelnt. Its also a short 10 min walk to the EICC, and not far from the royal mile.

Room Tip: They have a locker to keep luggage after you ncheck out incase you want to do a bit of sight seeing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our Premier Inn, It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights and the hotel was exactly as one would expect from this chain; an efficient but warm welcome from staff and a very clean room. The bathroom needed a little updating but otherwise we had no complaints about the facilities until we tried to get to sleep on the first night; we were in room 1 (which is ground floor next to the car park) and it was so loud, not with traffic noise but with a rattling window which seemed to be shaken around by some sort of nearby plant (perhaps air con?) However, we asked to be moved for the second night of our stay and the reception were fantastic, putting us into a new room and refunding the fee for the first night without any quibbles. The location is good, about a 15 minute walk to Princes St at a fairly leisurely pace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our Premier Inn, It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Good hotel, good location with excellent transport links too various destinations such as zoo, princes street etc. Hotel was clean and room was well maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoswell, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us; it was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

I will ensure your kind feedback will be passed on to the team
Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing