We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #93 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Warm, friendly and a great place for the weary traveller.would recommend.great food and very comfortable rooms.good location. Excellent breakfast and although the restaurant was a little disorganised due to new menu once ordered the food was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kensley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Reception Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it was pleasure to have you as our guests and we would love to welcome you back. I will ensure your lovely comments regarding the staff and our new menu are passed on.

I do hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    1,109
    399
    140
    61
See reviews for
686
1,036
145
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The surrounding area of the hotel could be smarter, in-side it's in need of updating, chairs are looking a bit grubby etc; however, the hotel staff were welcoming and friendly - even though when we checked in the computers were all down. The room was clean as we've always found Premier Inns to be. The bathroom is in need of redecorating and updating but very clean; the room - we stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the car park - spacious and clean but is ready for a new carpet and chairs need recovering; oh and it could have been warmer in the room.
We ate in the hotel one evening - as we expected; very good food at a very good price; we did have a couple of issues with the restaurant as our order was overlooked so we were ages waiting; but the manager sorted it, apologised and discounted our bill; couldn't have asked for more. Overall the score reflects the appearance of the hotel, not the staff or service.
We would stay there again but only when it's been updated as the location is great for walking into town 5-10mins and you're there; buses directly outside the hotel if you don't want to walk.

Room Tip: as the front of the hotel faces a busy main road you might be better getting a room at the back - lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us found our team to be so welcoming. We do value your feedback and I am sure you will be happy to hear that we are due a refurbishment of the whole hotel very soon.

I do hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay here, although room was a little small for all 4 of us, it was adequate. Good position 2 mins walk from Train station and the buses run right outside the hotel to Princes st, you can catch any of the buses that are heading left, ( looking from reception ) and then from Princes St you can catch bus numbers 4, 44, 3, 33, 25 they all drop off right outside the hotel. On the 1st night we had the meal deal and the service was terrible we waited 45 mins for our starters and 1 hour and 30 mins from main course to dessert we spoke to Alan a very helpful waiter who did explain the problem but when 4 of your party are children and one of them is 3 yrs old it's difficult to keep them from climbing the walls especially when you have spent the best part of the day travelling up there! In the whole though it was an enjoyable stay and would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crosslak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Reception Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us found our team to be so welcoming. We do value your feedback and I am sure Alan will be happy to hear such lovely comments.

We do hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drumbo
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Busy hotel on fringe of city centre, was a little noisy in the early hours from revelers outside and the odd lost person in the corridor.
Staff very nice and accommodating.
Room fine, bed good,, decor getting a little tired.
Breakfast great as junior ate for free.

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel at weekends!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X70MJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us found our team to be so welcoming. We do value your feedback and I will ensure your comments will be passed on.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

With only a 15 minute walk to the centre of Edinburgh this was a good value hotel that was very clean and friendly. I would recommend the hearty breakfast. The restaurant food was also good quality. The hotel can be very busy at weekends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bongasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Reception Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us found our team to be so welcoming. We do value your feedback and I will ensure your comments will be passed on.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Absolutely excellent Hotel. Convenient, very friendly staff and the food was excellent. The rooms were very clean and comfortable We would recommend this hotel to anyone, great value for money. Had never stayed in a Premier Inn before but will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: From what I saw they all looked excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Reception Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room was clean and a good size, staff very friendly. Bar/restaurant a little small so you might have to wait to get seat. We stayed over a weekend (on 3rd floor) and were not disturbed by noise from within or outside the hotel.

Best thing about this hotel is the location. It's less than 5 mins walk from Haymarket station, less than 10 mins walk from Princes Street and close to bus stops if you want to go any further. We got the bus to the Zoo which took less than 10 mins, wasn't overly impressed with that, Chester Zoo has clearly spoiled us!

Only ate in the restaurant once for breakfast on our first morning, but I think the "all you can eat" price is expensive if all you want is a normal-sized cooked breakfast. Plenty of little cafes around that do the same for less.

Only problem with the hotel, the lifts are really slow and on our last day one broke down completely, but not really an issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Reception Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing