We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Nearby Hotels
$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$111
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$248
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$276
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$159
$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$653
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,136)
Filter reviews
3,137 results
Traveler rating
1,143
1,258
485
166
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,143
1,258
485
166
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier innhaymarket stationcity centreprinces streetminute walkbudget hoteltram stopgood nights sleepreception stafffamily roomnight's sleepnight stayshort breakcomfy bedroyal milecooked breakfastinns
Filter
Updating list...
2,196 - 2,201 of 3,137 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

With only a 15 minute walk to the centre of Edinburgh this was a good value hotel that was very clean and friendly. I would recommend the hearty breakfast. The restaurant food was also good quality. The hotel can be very busy at weekends.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bongasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Reception Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us found our team to be so welcoming. We do value your feedback and I will ensure your comments will be passed on.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Boswell
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Absolutely excellent Hotel. Convenient, very friendly staff and the food was excellent. The rooms were very clean and comfortable We would recommend this hotel to anyone, great value for money. Had never stayed in a Premier Inn before but will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: From what I saw they all looked excellent
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Reception Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room was clean and a good size, staff very friendly. Bar/restaurant a little small so you might have to wait to get seat. We stayed over a weekend (on 3rd floor) and were not disturbed by noise from within or outside the hotel.

Best thing about this hotel is the location. It's less than 5 mins walk from Haymarket station, less than 10 mins walk from Princes Street and close to bus stops if you want to go any further. We got the bus to the Zoo which took less than 10 mins, wasn't overly impressed with that, Chester Zoo has clearly spoiled us!

Only ate in the restaurant once for breakfast on our first morning, but I think the "all you can eat" price is expensive if all you want is a normal-sized cooked breakfast. Plenty of little cafes around that do the same for less.

Only problem with the hotel, the lifts are really slow and on our last day one broke down completely, but not really an issue.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Reception Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here with one child, our 11 year old daughter in a family room for 3 nights over Halloween. Staff friendly, food good and room great and clean. The restaurant is a little small and breakfast was very busy, but we only had to wait for 5-10mins on the first day. The other days no waiting. The location is great only 10-15min walk from Princes Street or the bus stop is right outside the front door. Housekeeping top-notch every day cleaned lovely. Reception helpful with local amenities etc. Despite busy location, could not hear any road noise fab! Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViolaM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Reception Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel appears very clean and staff are very friendly. It is a short 20min walk into the city centre which was no problem as it keeps the area slightly quiter than the inner city options.
The gentleman on reception with glasses is very helpful and was very friendly even at the end of a 16 hour shift when the reservation system had crashed nationwide.
However, internally i feel the hotel should invest into better door brake hinges (above the door to slow the closure) ad the doors naturally slam when left to self close and can be heard through the night.
in general it was a very pleasant stay and no major issues left me to get on with my holiday

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardravera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Reception Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews