We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Ranked #90 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Totally Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here with one child, our 11 year old daughter in a family room for 3 nights over Halloween. Staff friendly, food good and room great and clean. The restaurant is a little small and breakfast was very busy, but we only had to wait for 5-10mins on the first day. The other days no waiting. The location is great only 10-15min walk from Princes Street or the bus stop is right outside the front door. Housekeeping top-notch every day cleaned lovely. Reception helpful with local amenities etc. Despite busy location, could not hear any road noise fab! Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViolaM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Reception Duty Manager at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    1,100
    393
    139
    60
See reviews for
683
1,026
144
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel appears very clean and staff are very friendly. It is a short 20min walk into the city centre which was no problem as it keeps the area slightly quiter than the inner city options.
The gentleman on reception with glasses is very helpful and was very friendly even at the end of a 16 hour shift when the reservation system had crashed nationwide.
However, internally i feel the hotel should invest into better door brake hinges (above the door to slow the closure) ad the doors naturally slam when left to self close and can be heard through the night.
in general it was a very pleasant stay and no major issues left me to get on with my holiday

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardravera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Reception Duty Manager at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed there for 3 night while on business travel. The location was very good, it was possible to find good restaurants, little shops etc around.
My room was on the 2nd floor, and it was very noisy as I could hear traffic from outside. Also, every night starting from 1 am or 2 am there were parties/gatherings upstairs lasting till 6 am. I complained to the reception, but they were not able to locate the noise fast enough, and solve this problem. I could not sleep all 3 nights of my stay, which was really problematic for my work...
Generally speaking, the room was averagely spacious, and not very comfortable. Anyway, it was possible to tolerate taking the fact I was there only for the night.
Breakfasts were quite good (except coffee) with lots of choice. I also had dinner in the hotel's restaurant one evening, it was also very good, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to provide this due to the noise disturbances you encountered throughout your stay.

Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This Premier Inn is just 5 minutes walk from Haymarket railway station and 10 minutes from Princes Street making it ideal for exploring Edinburgh. We stayed 3 nights in a family room and had little to complain about.

Check-in was fast and efficient. Our room was prepared with the extra beds made up and towels for all of us in the bathroom. When we got to the room the light was flickering, but within minutes of calling reception the bulb had been replaced - an excellent response which would put many 5 star hotels to shame.

Our room was on the 3rd floor above reception and suffered a bit from traffic noise during the night. Even with the window closed we could hear the night buses stopping at the bus stop right outside our window. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back or take earplugs.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. There seemed to be a shortage of mugs and we ended up with cardboard Costa mugs on 2 of our 3 mornings. We had to queue to get in each morning but only for about 10-15 minutes. If you want to avoid the queues go before 8.30 or after 9.30.

I was pleasantly surprised to find out that they have a room where you can leave your luggage. This was a very useful service which should be better publicised.

Buses which stop right outside of the hotel take you to Princes Street where you can change to get a bus to anywhere in the city. We bought dayrider tickets from the bus driver so we could hop on and off the buses all day. They cost £3.50 for adults and £2 for chldren (exact money required as no change is given). Alternatively if the weather is OK the main sights are a gentle stroll away.

There are some excellent restaurants around Harymarket. We enjoyed The Verandah (indian) in Dalry Road beside Haymarket station and Gali Ristorante (italian) in West Maitland Street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 98ajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here for business trip. Room was great, clean, everything you would expect it to be. Bathroom was spotless. Stayed for two nights and my room was not serviced at all. The issue with this Premier in is that the breakfast room is too small for the hotel. In the end, I had breakfast elsewhere because there was a long queue and I wasn't prepared to wait for 20 minutes as I couldn't afford the time. One of my business colleagues stayed at the Premier in Princes Street and said it was the best Premier Inn that he'd stayed in so I'll try that one next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieCaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us.

We take pride in ensuring all our guests enjoy a "Good Night Guaranteed", I would like to apologise on behalf of the whole team that on this occasion we seemed to have failed.

We do have a dedicated reception team on hand 24 hours a day to resolve any problems that may occur.

If you would be so kind to contact the hotel direct on 0131-656-4300 so we can discuss this incident in more detail, that would be much appreciated.

Hope to speak to you soon.

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked this hotel for a weekend break in Edinburgh and was pleased with the accommodation and location. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a good restauarant and bar and was close to other bars and small shops and coffee shops. Princes Street was just a 10 nminute walk. We have booked for New Year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Reception Duty at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went to Edinburgh for a weekend away, and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were imaculate and comfortable. We ate in the hotel restaurant twice and both times the food was superb. The breakfasts were very good too. Good location,very close to the station and ten minute walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyCPFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)

Property: Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Haymarket. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing