We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no free wi-fi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #93 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“no free wi-fi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

very sorry to see that in such an hotel there is no free wifi. there is also another problem: even if you already pay quite a lot for the accomodation, you then have to page extra maney for the wifi conction, for the breakfast, for some little thing you may need in the bathroom...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mailo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding Wi-Fi, please be assured your comments will be passed to our Marketing department.

Once again thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    1,109
    399
    140
    61
See reviews for
686
1,036
145
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

You will need a sat nav to find your way..lots of diversions if you do not know Edinburgh.
Best to train to Haymarket and then walk or taxi.Busy at weekends and during tourist
season.Stayed at the Premier Inn 29 and 30 September 1012

Room Tip: All rooms are similar in design and facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. We value all our guests’ feedback and would like to thank you for your comments. We would like love to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Cheap, clean and comfortable. The hotel is just down the road from the castle and has relatively cheap (and safe) parking behind the building. It would be nice if there were more elevators but this is just a minor complaint.

Our one main issue was that the temperature control for the room didn't work which meant it was very hot. Not the end of the world but I would have asked for another room if we were staying for more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. We do value all our guest's feedback and would like to thank you for your comments. We would like love to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just returned from a 2 day break and had a warm welcoming stay. Helpful staff with maps and idea's for thigs to do. Bus stop is outside and worth gettin a £3.50 day ticket to explore the city. Room was spolessly clean and tidy and fresh towels each day. Pity there was only 1 lift working so had to queue for few mins. Didn't try the food, but if you fancy a simple breakfast "Milk" sandwich opposite do great breakfast cobs on fresh bread. Would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, We value all guest's feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Excellent location from City.Really clean and comfortable bedrooms. Had a faulty television the reception staff moved us instantly to another room and helped us move our clothes. Extremely friendly reception staff. Fab breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAKE093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, We value all guests’ feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight before a business meeting. Generally a friendly efficient hotel. The public areas were clean. Check in staff tried to make you feel welcome. The room was spacious and clean and no complaints about the bathroom although not much in the way of toiletries.

I didn't fancy wandering around an unfamiliar part of the city and had dinner and breakfast in the hotel. I availed myself of a meal deal which provided excellent value.


Minor quibble. No iron in the room. Essential for a business traveller though I accept one is available from
a communal cupboard. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nidoc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, We value all guests’ feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our Great Value Meal Deal.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

At first when you pull up to this hotel, the location doesn't seem great. But frankly, it is probably the best location in the city. From it you can literally get anywhere walking, if you don't mind walking. There are also bus stops very close to the hotel. The hotel is convenient, safe, and most importantly, clean. The staff was knowledgeable and willing to help at any hour. The offered 30 min. free wifi per day, but there were issues with their service provider 2 of the 5 days we were there. However, they were willing to make a call to their IT people to work it out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, We value all guests’ feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing