We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Average, Breakfast nothing special.”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #125 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed April 28, 2009

A familiar smell greeted us, each time we opened the door and it was'nt a good one! probably due to being on the basement level and no window in the bathroom. If you stay here i would request a room upstairs. We stayed at a very busy time and the B&B was under staffed for the number of guests. Breakfast was fine if your not a big eater, we politley asked for an extra mouthfull of beans, to be told they'd run out, as had the bacon the day before! The B&B served its purpose as our trip to Edinburgh was to see the sights and the B&B is well located. But with so much accommodation to choose from I'm affraid I would'nt reccomend this establishment. A smile does go a long way but does'nt quite make up for the shortcomings at Greenside.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkkd567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 231 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2009

Just returned from a weekend stay in this hotel, 21 females on a Hen weekend
The location was great, within walking distance of all amenities, shopping ,bars etc.
The hotel is very clean, rooms cleaned daily and daily towel change, beds spotlessly clean.
Hotel staff extremely helpful and friendly . Breakfast very good.
Overall very good value for money and would recommend.
Only problem if you are not very mobile, it is up quite a steep hill and the hotel has no lift.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulinebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

I was a little dubious about staying at the hotel after reading some of the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. It is a B&B but it was clean, the room was a good size and the staff could not have been nicer. It was only a 10 minute walk or a few minutes in a taxi to the centre and we got free parking all weekend (metered up until 5:30 on a friday and then free until the monday morning!) We will definately use this hotel again when we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy76Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Four of us have just arrived back from a three day stay in The Greenside Hotel. We had a little problem on arrival where two double rooms had been booked but only one was ready, the one that was ready was really only suitable as a single room but the next morning Anna changed rooms for us. The man that checked us in the previous night just told us that they were fully booked for saturday night and couldn't do anything about it. The breakfast is fine if you order the full breakfast but if you only want bacon and egg, that is exactly what you get, one rasher and one egg!!! On the positive side the hotel is in a great location and Anna is so chirpy she would put you in good form just listening to her!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

This hotel had a great location next to Calton Hill from which is a 360 degree view of the city. Also a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. The double room we had was very large with a great walk in closet and felt more like a suite. Nice clean bathroom. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was great and service good.

The furnishings were a little tired and the room smelled like cigarette smoke. I don't think it was due to a previous occupant but possibly the staff smoking on the back porch. We had to keep the window open to air it out. Also parking is metered on the street. The meter must be fed every 4 hours between 8:30 and 5:00 although the car does not have to be moved. Cost is approximately 10 GBP per day for parking.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gwenniedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Based on some of the reviews here, I almost didn't stay at this hotel, but I'm glad I decided to go forward with it. The hotel, while basic, is perfectly fine: a clean, quiet, economical and convenient place to stay in Edinburgh. The view from my hotel room was lovely.

Stayed: June 2008
3  Thank Dale720240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

I wished to go to Scotland and went to lastminute.com for a booking! Lasminute is simply wonderful - a perfect one-stop shop for all your needs if you are unsure of a new place!

Me and my friend were booked for 2 nights at Greenside and we were really happy with it! Beautiful location, walking distance to Princess Street and all other attractions and bus/railway station as well! We were giving a wonderful room, super-clean bathrooms, excellent heating system(we targeted summer, but we had an extended winter then!). The breakfast was delectable! Absolutely amazing personalised service. The staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions.

You cannot expect the butler service standards from a B&B! I am positively going back there whenever I go to Edinburgh again!

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AMIKAMDAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#127 of 150 in Edinburgh
209 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,209 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
299 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: 9 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $81 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elegant tree-lined terrace, overlooking the Firth of Forth, is the Abbey Hotel (formerly Greenside Hotel). Designed by the renowned architect William Playfair as a family town house for a wealthy merchant, this is an traditional Georgian building, built in 1820, with many of fine original features still in place. ***NEWLY REFURBISHED RECEPTION & PUBLIC AREAS****PLEASE NOTE RECEPTION IS NOT OPEN 24hrs.*Latest Check-In Time is 10:30PM - Should you have an unscheduled travel delay please call the Hotel to arrange a later check-in.The hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, being a 10 minute walk from the bustling cosmopolitan heart of the City.Only 10 minutes to Princes Street and Ocean Terminal for the Royal Yacht Brittania. Close to Playhouse Theatre (5 minutes walk), Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street (with it's famous gardens and views of Edinburgh Castle).Access to Edinburgh's International Conference Centre, the Airport and motorway networks is very convenient, and Waverley train and St Andrew Square bus station are close by. Our welcoming en-suite rooms offer the discerning traveller all the comforts expected, including Freeview Digital colour television, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer and telephone.****Free Wi-Fi (Internet access is available in all bedrooms), also lap-top hire if required********Snacks available within the hotel, upon request*********Local Golf can be arranged*****Most of the hotel's refurbished rooms (new soft furnishings include DUVETS on guest beds, although blankets also provided, if preferred) provide wonderful views over Royal Terrace gardens and out to the Firth of Forth, or the tranquility of our own private gardens to the rear.Edinburgh has all that the visitor could wish for. With many fine art galleries, museums and theatres, a cultural presence is never far away. History is reflected in the Royal Mile, the Palace of Holyrood House and the Castle, all contrasting with the elegant terraces of the 'new town'.As a base for touring, Edinburgh is unbeatable.There is a wide variety of local shopping facilities, including Harvey Nichols, restaurants and bars. Just a few minute's walk from the Omni Centre which boasts a Warner Village Cinema , bars, restaurants, nightclub and comedy venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenside Hotel Edinburgh
Abbey Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing