We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice place (though not perfect if you like a lie-in)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #127 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really nice place (though not perfect if you like a lie-in)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Abbey for 2 nights in June, had a room on the 2nd floor which overlooked the gardens. It contained 2 singles which were very comfortable and a smart bathroom with an excellent shower. Breakfast was plentiful and very nice, with a porridge and full Scotish breakfast as standard. It's about a 15min good stroll to the Royal Mile and you will get a decent work out. Only cricitism is noise travels from the downstairs, especilly when you get early check outs and breakfast eaters, so if you're prone to a lie-in, you might be dissaponted, otherwise most excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewearytraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    82
    35
    19
    17
See reviews for
35
64
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

we stayed here for two nights for the six nations match.

I had single room in attic, nice views room was clean , no complaints.
breakfast was continental but not that good.
ok though and would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank araldite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I spent couple days discovering exciting Edinbugh which is definately a "must see". My room was clean(a little bit small) and very quite assuring good sleep,lovely room. quiet room with good shower, two comfy beds, comfortable room temperature. Breakfast, both scottish or continental, were server in an nice lounge. Pleasant and helpful staff, I was provided with bus information and given maps etc as to how to travel into the city but it only took a lovely walk and I was soon in the heart of the citys old town,l.The only thing I would say and not really a dislike was my day on Thursday.Someone woke me up in the morning because of hoovering(it was around 8 o'clock)after that some guy called me and asked me about coming for the breakfast,I was suprised,I wanted sleep and didn't expect those things,finally I woke up and went for the breakfast, I didn't even find my place to sit and the rude guy from reception forced me to decide asap what I want to eat and drink.I didn,t see that guy before maybe he was in training but he was not good at all.After I got my breakfast I wanted drink more juice but young girl took those juices out because that guy told her to do it. I was not only the one guest in lounge who was not happy about that but that guy didn't care at all.I will be back but only if Debra or Paul are gonna be there because the customer service is great then!!Would certainly choose to stay at Abbey Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mother1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, West Lothian
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I booked this hotel as had tickets to a show at the Playhouse and wanted to make a weekend of my time in Edinburgh. The hotel is approx 10-15 minutes walk from the Waverley Train Station and about 5 minutes walk from the Playhouse and places to eat.

The hotel is a lovely building, in a nice quiet street. The reception/ breakfast area is clean and tidy. And the staff were lovely and friendly. The room we were in (15) was nice and comfortable enough but a little dated, with a big damp patch on the ceiling, this being said, I would still stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
244 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Abbey Hotel. The owners were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good and the service efficient.

The room I stayed in was well done and had a lovely view of the garden. The hotel has a great location. It is about 10-15 minutes walk to the train station and princess street and about 10 minutes in the other direction to Hollyrood. The street is quiet and full of gorgeous Georgian Terraces. There is a nice walk up to Nelson's monument just next to the hotel and this takes about 10 minutes. This gives you a gorgeous view of Edinburgh.

Abbey hotel is also close to lots of restaurants, the playhouse theatre and a cinema.

I couldn't fault my stay. The price was excellent and the place was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slippeddisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over the Xmas market weekend. Had a basement room with one double bed and one single. Room smelt of damp and had spots of mould in the corners. The bathroom looked recently installed but had a large gap behind the sink. To which we found various flies coming out of. The bathroom was very small and on returning to our room at one point there was five flies !
The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. We paid 70 between us for the room with breakfast. Shame about the smell

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wat002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Extremely friendly hotel in a very quiet area which is within easy walking distance of the main attractions. Lovely old building with a back garden running up Calton Hill. The room was spotless (though slightly threadbare) and the breakfasts were excellent. I'd be very happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Usually the backs of hotels are ugly, but I loved my room at the back of this one as it looks over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghostlymand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Property: Abbey Hotel
Address: 9 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elegant tree-lined terrace, overlooking the Firth of Forth, is the Abbey Hotel (formerly Greenside Hotel). Designed by the renowned architect William Playfair as a family town house for a wealthy merchant, this is an traditional Georgian building, built in 1820, with many of fine original features still in place. ***NEWLY REFURBISHED RECEPTION & PUBLIC AREAS****PLEASE NOTE RECEPTION IS NOT OPEN 24hrs.*Latest Check-In Time is 10:30PM - Should you have an unscheduled travel delay please call the Hotel to arrange a later check-in.The hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, being a 10 minute walk from the bustling cosmopolitan heart of the City.Only 10 minutes to Princes Street and Ocean Terminal for the Royal Yacht Brittania. Close to Playhouse Theatre (5 minutes walk), Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street (with it's famous gardens and views of Edinburgh Castle).Access to Edinburgh's International Conference Centre, the Airport and motorway networks is very convenient, and Waverley train and St Andrew Square bus station are close by. Our welcoming en-suite rooms offer the discerning traveller all the comforts expected, including Freeview Digital colour television, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer and telephone.****Free Wi-Fi (Internet access is available in all bedrooms), also lap-top hire if required********Snacks available within the hotel, upon request*********Local Golf can be arranged*****Most of the hotel's refurbished rooms (new soft furnishings include DUVETS on guest beds, although blankets also provided, if preferred) provide wonderful views over Royal Terrace gardens and out to the Firth of Forth, or the tranquility of our own private gardens to the rear.Edinburgh has all that the visitor could wish for. With many fine art galleries, museums and theatres, a cultural presence is never far away. History is reflected in the Royal Mile, the Palace of Holyrood House and the Castle, all contrasting with the elegant terraces of the 'new town'.As a base for touring, Edinburgh is unbeatable.There is a wide variety of local shopping facilities, including Harvey Nichols, restaurants and bars. Just a few minute's walk from the Omni Centre which boasts a Warner Village Cinema , bars, restaurants, nightclub and comedy venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenside Hotel Edinburgh
Abbey Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing