We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location helpful staff room damp”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #125 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over the Xmas market weekend. Had a basement room with one double bed and one single. Room smelt of damp and had spots of mould in the corners. The bathroom looked recently installed but had a large gap behind the sink. To which we found various flies coming out of. The bathroom was very small and on returning to our room at one point there was five flies !
The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. We paid 70 between us for the room with breakfast. Shame about the smell

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wat002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 231 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Extremely friendly hotel in a very quiet area which is within easy walking distance of the main attractions. Lovely old building with a back garden running up Calton Hill. The room was spotless (though slightly threadbare) and the breakfasts were excellent. I'd be very happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Usually the backs of hotels are ugly, but I loved my room at the back of this one as it looks over t...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ghostlymand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was a very nice hotel in a charming old building with friendly, helpful staff. The location is great. It's a fairly easy walk to both the Old Town and Princes Street but in a quiet street away from the pubs. There are lovely views and a great (if very hilly) park very close by which is a great spot for a walk or run. Our twin room was very nice, clean, warm and a good size. Bathroom was modern and clean, shower was hot with good pressure. We had a lovely stay. Only two small niggles I can think of- the cooked breakfast is a bit sparse if you're vegetarian, though there are cereals and porriage to top it up. And there is no lift so lugging the cases up two or three flights of stairs is a pain. But these are only little things and they are more than made up for by the lovely building and the friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs or will have lots of heavy luggage ask for a room on a lower floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P_Town_Girl_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

On our arrival there was a slight hitch which was soon rectified, Debbie and staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and provided a very good standard of service. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. An excellent full Scottish breakfast was provided. The hotel is within walking distance of Princes Street, and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottylass38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you want to stay somewhere that is truly Scottish and a part of the history of Edinburgh, then stay here. This is clean, no frills accommodation. The bathroom was newly renovated and actually very nice. However, the water pressure in the shower was very weak and just a trickle. The room was very clean and on the very top floor. While it was a bit of a hassle moving my heavy luggage up and down four flights of stairs, the pleasure of staying in this historic building was well worth it. Fraser, the manager (?), was very helpful and actually lugged my 26kg suit case up those many stairs.

The location is very good: Within walking distance of many of Edinburgh's hot spots. There is also ample parking on the street (which is rare in Edinburgh), although at a small metre fee during week days (but overnight it is free). I loved the fact that I was staying in a terrace that had historic significance. I even had a lovely little window overlooking the park. The bed was comfortable and room was very quiet. If you want 4 or 5 star, then stay somewhere else. If, however, you seek perfectly adequate accommodation, that is well located, reasonably priced, and that gets you in touch with the real Scotland and good old fashioned hospitality, then you can't go wrong. Just be prepared to lug luggage up many stairs: There is no lift.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zerobloodalcohol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel was clean and pleasant but nothing special and certainly not worth the money. I would describe it as a B&B rather than hotel. The best thing about the hotel was the location. Enough spaces on the street for parking and in a central location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

After being transferred here after a problem with our original hotel. I expected a nice hotel at 3 stars. however when we opened our room door we were greeted with a dark outdated room that needed completely decorated to bring it up to standard. The family room had 2 cups for tea/coffee and 2 towels in the bathroom, shower curtain was mouldy, bath was slippy when having a shower and water was lukewarm. Bathrooms door had no lock and door was hard to shut/open.

Sweetie lying on the stairs for hours was a nice touch with staff members going past it and not tidying it up. Bar was non exsistent, with the beer choice being a bottle of Stella or can of tennants. Plus no where to eat in the evenings in the hotel, although judging by the breakfast choice and taste in the morning was probably for the best. Sausages had no taste whatsoever (looked like wall's sausages) bacon had grease all over it, poached eggs tasted like they had been left in a local chip shops salt and vinegar filled newspaper overnight. The coffee was watery and continental breakfast selection was very poor. This was nothing though in comparison to hearing about the breakfast waitresses wine drinking habits and of the other girls trips to the dentist. On checking out there was no question from the owner(i'm assuming) about my stay. The £110 they are asking to stay here for a family room is very steep in comparison to what else is out there. Definitely not worth the money and if this is a 3 star hotel then i wouldn't like to stay in a 1 or 2 star. The AA should perhaps stick to recovering peoples car if this is what they regard 3 star. Shall not be returning ever again.

Room Tip: Pack a tent, very nice grounds across the way.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#127 of 150 in Edinburgh
209 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,209 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
299 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: 9 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $81 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elegant tree-lined terrace, overlooking the Firth of Forth, is the Abbey Hotel (formerly Greenside Hotel). Designed by the renowned architect William Playfair as a family town house for a wealthy merchant, this is an traditional Georgian building, built in 1820, with many of fine original features still in place. ***NEWLY REFURBISHED RECEPTION & PUBLIC AREAS****PLEASE NOTE RECEPTION IS NOT OPEN 24hrs.*Latest Check-In Time is 10:30PM - Should you have an unscheduled travel delay please call the Hotel to arrange a later check-in.The hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, being a 10 minute walk from the bustling cosmopolitan heart of the City.Only 10 minutes to Princes Street and Ocean Terminal for the Royal Yacht Brittania. Close to Playhouse Theatre (5 minutes walk), Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street (with it's famous gardens and views of Edinburgh Castle).Access to Edinburgh's International Conference Centre, the Airport and motorway networks is very convenient, and Waverley train and St Andrew Square bus station are close by. Our welcoming en-suite rooms offer the discerning traveller all the comforts expected, including Freeview Digital colour television, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer and telephone.****Free Wi-Fi (Internet access is available in all bedrooms), also lap-top hire if required********Snacks available within the hotel, upon request*********Local Golf can be arranged*****Most of the hotel's refurbished rooms (new soft furnishings include DUVETS on guest beds, although blankets also provided, if preferred) provide wonderful views over Royal Terrace gardens and out to the Firth of Forth, or the tranquility of our own private gardens to the rear.Edinburgh has all that the visitor could wish for. With many fine art galleries, museums and theatres, a cultural presence is never far away. History is reflected in the Royal Mile, the Palace of Holyrood House and the Castle, all contrasting with the elegant terraces of the 'new town'.As a base for touring, Edinburgh is unbeatable.There is a wide variety of local shopping facilities, including Harvey Nichols, restaurants and bars. Just a few minute's walk from the Omni Centre which boasts a Warner Village Cinema , bars, restaurants, nightclub and comedy venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenside Hotel Edinburgh
Abbey Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing