We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$129
Fully refundable before Sat, Feb 24
Expedia.com
$129
Fully refundable before Sun, Feb 25
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
$128
Fully refundable before Sun, Feb 25
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveler rating
642
113
18
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
642
113
18
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel no lift georgian townhouse junior suite lovely boutique calton hill beautiful hotel free standing bath top floor single room full scottish breakfast breakfast was delicious quiet street small hotel city centre home from home bathroom door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 785 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2019

We stayed here for the weekend just gone and the staff were lovely. So friendly and helpful. We had delicious breakfasts (highly recommend the vegetarian haggis!). I would say for anyone walking around take comfy shoes as the tram and shops are down a slight hill from the hotel. Personally though the steps were worth it to stay in such a nice little boutique hotel.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank fusspot210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2019

Hi fusspot210,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I agree the veggie haggis is delicious!

Hopefully you will be able to come back and see us again sometime!

Kind regards,
Jonathan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

The hotel is not far from the station and the the New Town. The rooms are laid out well and clean. Breakfast is good value with great choice, The staff are very helpful. It was a shame that the weather was not good enough for us too be able to sit in the garden. It looked fantastic and I could imagine having a drink there before dinner.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanG762
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Hello Ian,

Many thanks for staying with us and taking the time to share your review.

We're glad to hear that you had a good time with us and especially enjoyed your breakfast!

Sorry we could not do anything for you about the Scottish weather! Maybe next time you will get a chance to enjoy that drink in the garden!

Kind regards,
Jonathan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019

24 Royal Terrace is in a great location for closeness to the city centre whilst still remaining quite quiet. The hotel has an excellent garden at the back, ideal for a drink on a warm day. We stayed in one of the suites (room 3) and it couldn't be faulted. The staff were excellent and very helpful throughout our stay with a lot of very cool artwork on the walls.

The breakfast in the morning was exceptional with portions that would satisfy the hungriest of people, would absolutely recommend. On the Saturday night when we returned from dinner and drinks, we opted to have a drink in the bar and I wanted to try a whisky or two. After a quick conversation and my lack of whisky knowledge becoming apparent we were offered a "tasting tour" of the 6 whisky regions of Scotland for £30 as we were hotel residents. Despite it being late at night, our host took the time explaining about each region, the history behind it, the history behind the hotel being on whisky row, interesting facts about the bottles and how the shape came about, how it should consumed, how adding 6 drops of water changes the notes and flavours. It was absolutely brilliant and I would highly recommend this tasting tour if you are staying at the hotel!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ZOWSKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Dear ZOWSKO,

Thank you for taking the time to review 24 Royal Terrace. It's great to hear that you delved into our whisky collection and enjoyed a few of Tony's whisky stories!

Hopefully we will see you again sometime!

All the best.
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

1.Location: It's within walking distance of main attractions and shopping.
2. It's on a quiet, tree-lined street.
3. It's in an elegant Georgian townhouse with old world charm.
4. The beautiful garden is a lovely place to relax, have tea, or enjoy a drink.
5. Unique, interesting art adorns the walls.
6. Staff is very helpful.
7. Rooms are tastefully and elegantly decorated.
8.There is a wide array of amenities in the rooms.
9. Breakfasts, both continental and cooked, are delicious.
10.Unique, interesting art adorns the walls.
Bonus: Most days Scotch Whisky expert Tony is available in the bar to lead you in an educational, fun tasting of Single Malt Scotch Whisky from all five whisky regions.

Room tip: It's 70 steps up to the top floor and there's no lift (elevator). Ask for a room on one of the lower floors.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pstewartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Hello!

Thank you for finding 10 (+1) lovely things to say about 24 Royal Terrace! It's always great to hear about what our guests enjoyed during their stay.

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to look after you and we do hope to see you again in the future.

All the best,
Jonathan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

We got married in Edinburgh recently and had looked at lots of places to stay on the night of our wedding - we are so glad that we picked 24 Royal Terrace as they were so kind to us.
The staff accommodated an early check in so that we could have ample time to get ready. We were able to enjoy the luxurious bath, sumptuous furnishings and fabulous view.
The hotel then were happy to host our friends and family for a drinks reception after the wedding and looked after us all really well. The whole experience was so relaxed and enjoyable from start to finish. The staff could not have been nicer or more supportive.
The breakfast was amazing with excellent veggie and vegan options.
All in all, we genuinely couldn’t have had a more positive experience.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 451GinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Hi Gina,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us!

I hope you had an amazing Honeymoon and wish you all the best for the future!

Thank you for booking with us direct and we very much hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Jonathan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews