We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$129
Fully refundable before Sat, Feb 24
Expedia.com
$128
Fully refundable before Sun, Feb 25
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
$128
Fully refundable before Sun, Feb 25
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Wendy M
UK
1213
Will visit again...
Reviewed May 10, 2019
What a find! Such a great little hotel a short walk from the main attractions. Comfy rooms and beds and lovely, clean bathrooms. Absolutely wonderful staff, great rooms and all in all a great experience. You're surrounded by art, of all different shapes and sizes, most of which is available for purchase, should you wish - brilliant! Highly recommend.
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$99
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $99
  • Vio.com
    $82
  • Expedia.com
    $99
0.4 miles from 24 Royal Terrace
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$332
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $331
  • Vio.com
    $301
  • Hotels.com
    $331
0.5 miles from 24 Royal Terrace
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$90
  • Priceline
    $111
  • Vio.com
    $85
  • Expedia.com
    $99
1.1 miles from 24 Royal Terrace
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
$85
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    $81
  • ibis
    $85
0.6 miles from 24 Royal Terrace
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Travelodge
$60
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from 24 Royal Terrace
Booking.com
$288
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    $240
  • Expedia.com
    $263
1.6 miles from 24 Royal Terrace
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Swimming Pool
Priceline
$128
$107
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    $107
  • Expedia.com
    $107
  • Hotels.com
    $107
1.0 miles from 24 Royal Terrace
Free Wifi
Pool
Trip.com
  • Travelodge
    $62
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
0.5 miles from 24 Royal Terrace
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $88
  • Agoda.com
    $71
  • Hotels.com
    $88
9.0 miles from 24 Royal Terrace
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Edinburgh
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveler rating
642
113
18
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
642
113
18
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel no lift georgian townhouse junior suite lovely boutique calton hill beautiful hotel free standing bath top floor single room full scottish breakfast breakfast was delicious quiet street small hotel city centre home from home bathroom door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 785 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2019

If you like to be surrounded by art of all shapes, sizes and styles in this attractive town house, then this is the place to stay in Edinburgh. The staff are attentive but not intrusive. The rooms are comfortable, breakfasts are wonderful and soon one feels so at home that this is tinged with regret at not being able to stay longer than 2 nights. Very easy to walk in all directions for access to Edinburgh's attractions. Will certainly return!

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Hello Carol,

Thank you for your excellent feedback, we really appreciate it. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made the most of our wonderful breakfast!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, remember to book direct for the best rates available!

Best Wishes,
Jonathan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

Very quaint and friendly hotel with good access to anywhere you want to travel in the city. Nice garden view from my room window. Good food and comfortable bed. I was in a small room with not enough storage space for clothing or a place in the bathroom to put any toiletries or makeup but managed since it was a brief stay. I understand there are premium rooms with more space. No sealed bottled water in the room so bring your own. The hotel staff was very friendly.

Room tip: If you need to spend time in the room, request a good size room. This one was small even for one person.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMGrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear LMGrable,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

As you mention we have a good selection of room sizes in our little 16 room Hotel, ranging from Executive Single rooms all the way up to Junior Suites and Executive Apartments. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again and try one of our different room types!

Thank you for choosing 24 Royal Terrace for your stay.

Warm wishes,
Jonathan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

A very well situated small hotel in what has been an old Edinburgh town house in a well appointed street. Room was large and well appointed. An interesting art collection throughout.
One of the best breakfasts ever in a hotel anywhere.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Hello Alan P,

We are very grateful that you discovered our little Boutique Hotel and enjoyed it so much.

I shall pass on your message about breakfast to our amazing chefs!

Many thanks again and we hope to see you again soon. Remember to contact us direct for the best rates!

All the best,
Jonathan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Beautiful quiet and cosy boutique place. The location is amazing, close to city center, easy to walk to. Bus services are just a little walk down the road. The Room was big and extremely comfortable. The staff are friendly and professional, the full Scottish breakfast superb and the rooms are beautifully furnished. Luxury tea and coffee products with delicious short bread cookies. Best: Great contemporary art. Fabulous large paintings in the bar, stairs and hallways.
Loved Edinburgh, Loved 24 Royal Terrace - I hope to be back to explore more!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sandrahuewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear sandrahuewels,

What a lovely review, thank you so much. We are so glad to hear that you had such a great stay and especially enjoyed our diverse art collection. Hopefully if you visit us again we will have some new pieces on display!

Do get in touch if you wish to visit us again, we would love to welcome you back!

All the best,
Jonathan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019

We stayed in room 10 on the second floor, our room was spacious and featured a lovely roll top bath, which we made full use of. The room was well appointed with plenty of storage space and was spotlessly clean. The tea and coffee making facilities offered a good selection of teas and a cafetiere for the coffee. The en-suite bathrooms fixtures and fittings were a mixture of old fashioned style, mixed with modern functionality. Robes and slippers were provided which is always a nice touch, unfortunately the robes were rather brief and ill fitting even for the smallest in our party.

The two large windows offered lovely views over towards the Firth of Forth. Even though Royal Terrace was a very quiet road here was a certain amount of noise created by the cobbled road outside. It was not much of a problem in March as well had the windows closed, but during the summer months it could cause a problem for light sleepers.

Breakfast was served in the room that double as a bar, Along with the usual cereal, fruits and pastries there was a cooked option, everything was cooked to order and well presented and very tasty. We particularly enjoyed the Eggs Benedict and the Full Scottish Breakfast.

We found the staff polite and very helpful and have no hesitation in recommended 24 Royal Terrace

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DavenSueSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear DavenSueSuffolk,

Thank you for a great and honest review, We have taken on board your note on the bath robes and have some very special robes on their way to replace them. If you decide to visit us again I'm sure you will approve!

All the best,
Jonathan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews