We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value delicious meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villager

Villager
Ranked #566 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: The Villager has been recommended several times on the Ediburgh forum it is a great place for food and drinks. I did visit it during my last visit to Edinburgh and really want to add my review.
Torphichen, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We happened on the Villager by chance looking for somewhere for a late lunch/early tea. The bar staff were friendly, the food was good quality and generous portions and we were introduced to Blue Moon - a very nice craft beer served with a slice of orange.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    71
    22
    4
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not too bad as Villagers go.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I first stumbled across The Villager in early August during the festival. I was there with my ex gf(The management of The Villager wish it be known that there is no proven link between their establishment and my break up) and we lost a sunny friday afternoon working our way through their cocktail menu. At approximately £6.50 a cocktail the value is fanrastic, The Siberian Mist could solve all the current problems in Syria if it were to distributed amongst those pesky middle easterners! So enamoured were we by what the Villager had to offer we returned the following day for lunch between a pair of Irish plays at The Traverse. Food was excellent and very good value.

I returned recently on a date but this time the plan was to have a few drinks and a bite to eat and then catch the last train home. Arriving just before 5pm, we started off with the only real choice.Two SB's please barkeep!
Three or four cocktails later we ordered food, again this was exceptional quality, although I have to say the risotto serving my date had was a very skinny portion. Had I of ordered it I would have been gutted! I went for chicken and chorizo salad that was both tasty and substantial. We washed this down with three bottles of Rose and coffees. The bill did not break £140, great value in my opinion.
At night there is cool music and a warm and friendly atmosphere. A perfect place to chill and spend an evening. Only low point my dates insistence to start crying I told her I did not believe in life after death! V strange girl. We eventually left at 2am and a thoroughly enjoyable time was had. No last train was made, however the £40 taxi fare was split with crying girl contributing £30. Result!!:-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CautionAdvised_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pre-festival Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

It was before a performance show during the Edinburgh festival time and we were looking for somewhere near the grassmarket for some drinks and food. I knew about this place before hand and have been in before for the odd drink but with mates. This particular occasion was with the girlfriend and although the customer service was quite good the waitress was a bit stone faced and looked constantly depressed.

That aside the food(cheeseburger with bacon) and pint of peroni was close to the best I have had in Edinburgh. The atmosphere was great that day with the festival on but even without that it is usually busy anyway.

Its quite a dark bar/pub but it definitely suits the place! Price wise- pretty reasonable, and definitely worth it for the quality of the food, drink and the location.

8.5 out of 10

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BriStonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You may be asked to move”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Used to be good for post work drinks, casual dinners and pre dancing cocktails but starting to look a bit shabby and not in a good way. No excuse for bad service though - after having dinner and settling down to a nice glass of wine and good conversation we were asked quite rudely to move to make way for a bigger party (no reservation). It was the most attention the waitress had paid to us all night. You've obviously made your money during the festivals to treat your customers that way, but as locals we won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fine for a quick bite to eat.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We ate here with friends before we went to see a fringe show. The good was average. I did expect a bit more flavour in my seafood pasta as it was quite bland. The burger was dry as the bun was toasted and the panna cotta did not taste of coconut as it should have and I think it had been sitting on a hot plate too long as it was warm when I received it. Don't think I will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neecie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villager also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Villager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing