We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax and people watch”
Review of Holyrood Park

Holyrood Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.59*
and up
Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle...
Ranked #16 of 399 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Holyrood Park is a unique historic landscape in the heart of the city, whose dramatic crags and hills give Edinburgh its distinctive skyline. Within the park is a wealth of history and archaeology spanning thousands of years. Arthur's Seat is one of four hill forts, dating from around 2,000 years ago. As well as it's rich cultural heritage, the park offers walks, solace, wildlife, volcanic geology and unparalleled vistas of the city from its many vantage points.
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax and people watch”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

After trudging around Ed. all day, it was nice to relax in the warm sun and soak in the atomsphere of Scotlands most beautiful city!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,424
    566
    88
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kirknewton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for a summer day picnicing or a winter playday snowballing.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

So many great things about Holyrood Park; it's free, plenty fresh air; fairly central in Edinburgh, loads of buses run nearby.

In fair weather it has visitors climbing to the top of Arthurs Seat for a 360 view of Edinburgh (and on good days Fife). People with dogs, adults and children and fitness fanatics always giving a smile.

The park is well kept, and often visited by an ice cream van nearby Holyrood House (the Queens home in Edinburgh). The Scottish Parliament is also on hand.

Limited but free parking is available.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina_H_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lifelong friend”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have lived near this wonderful park all my life.
My grandchildren love to visit it.Always something to see or do.
I miss the sheep that grazed in it when I was a child but love the huge number of swans and ducks that live there

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DOTTICAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed the visit! had a great time and am so sorry I missed it the previous visits but will make it again when I go back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud OK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Breathtaking park and gardens”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I enjoyed walking around the gardens outside the castle. It's so beautifully manicured it almost looks like velvet! I was surprised how the flowers were still blooming even into mid-October.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank StroudOKBlondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holyrood Park also viewed

 

Been to Holyrood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing