We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makes you feel like Royalty.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holyrood Park

Holyrood Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.86*
and up
Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle...
Ranked #15 of 391 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Holyrood Park is a unique historic landscape in the heart of the city, whose dramatic crags and hills give Edinburgh its distinctive skyline. Within the park is a wealth of history and archaeology spanning thousands of years. Arthur's Seat is one of four hill forts, dating from around 2,000 years ago. As well as it's rich cultural heritage, the park offers walks, solace, wildlife, volcanic geology and unparalleled vistas of the city from its many vantage points.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Makes you feel like Royalty.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I had seen the Museum last year and that was superb! We couldn't get into the Castle because Prince Charles was there. So this year we went and boy were we happy we did!
The grounds are Beautiful, the Castle is great we loved having the audio guide which had lots of good information about everything! We felt the best part of the tour for us was Mary Stewart's (Mary Queen Of Scots) residence which is the oldest part of the Castle in Holyrood. There is all sorts of interesting items that did belong to her and her family. Its amazing that they still have these items after all these years...give yourself plenty of time to go through lots of stuff you can miss if you rush. My husband and I did the Castle tour and the Garden Tour. The garden tour is spectacular and you can walk through the ruins of the Abbey which is a wonderful experience. There are also spectacular views of Arthur's Seat as well. There is a Tea room there and very clean bathrooms. Worth every cent!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetheuk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,379
    557
    87
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Logrono, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Views of Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

It's a good place to spend some time with your family and take some picture with the background of Edinburgh.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Txecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouyen, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Experience and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

A combined Visit ticket £15.50, the extra £3.75 for a Garden History Tour and a snack in the cafe adds up to an expensive experience, however, the tours were extremely informative and to gain insight into the modern royals as a contrast to the castle at the other end of The Royal Mile makes for a most worthwhile experience. The Leonardo exhibition was also included in that..last time I saw those works they were on tour, cost as much and I had to squeeze for a peek. Make sure you take the free abbey tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTorpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mary Queen of Scots slept here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very intersting royal residence. Lots of info about Mary that we didn't know. Tiny staircase to get to her chambers in the oldest part of the castle.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant for a free day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Holyrood Park is the stunning backdrop to The Palace of Holyrood House and the Scottish Parliament building. It is free to enter and shuts at dusk each day.

Parking is £1 per hour in the car parks just inside the perimeter near to the Palace but it is also an ideal place to visit if you are walking, jogging or cycling. Many people go there to walk their dogs or to climb to the top of 'Arthur's seat'.

The view of Edinburgh from Arthur's seat is absolutely spectacular - you can see for miles around in all directions. I cannot think of any comparable view I have ever seen. It is breath-taking.

There are lochs with many swans and ducks on them.

It is the kind of place where there can be many people visiting yet it is so vast and doesn't appear to be heavily populated.

Nearby is a council estate of apartment blocks and the people there should consider themselves so lucky to have such a spectacular and free place on their doorstep to visit.

If I lived in or near Edinburgh I would spend so much time there walking, climbing and picnicing and just soaking up the beauty of the land.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holyrood Park also viewed

 

Been to Holyrood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing